Reference to Imaginative Landscape paintingssteemCreated with Sketch.

in WORLD OF XPILAR2 years ago

zamecki-day-2-market-street.jpg

I very much enjoyed doing the reference to imagination study from a few days ago and I think I'm going to see this technique through for a while. It's giving me an opportunity to take what I learn from doing studies and then immediately turn those lessons around to apply them to a slightly adjusted idea.

zamecki-day-2.jpg

First step is to do a study of an image. I liked the way the alleyway went downward and felt intimate. The stucco walls and the shadows made me want to try this one out.

zamecki-day-2.1.jpg

After going through the painting once, the next step is to do it all over again but with the idea that you are going to make it your own in some way. I'm working out the world of a character I am currently developing a story for. So these studies are going to be super valuable as I flesh out the world that my character lives in. In this image I wanted to have a kind of spooky shop in the alley. It was very difficult to turn this to a night scene but that was also part of the fun!

Are you a google earth traveler? How do you scope out your references?

Sort:  

Hi Erik, it is nice to see how you developing your painting. The buildings and architecture is one of the most interesting subject in Art. Google earth gives an opportunity of getting references, you are right. I also saw many interesting photos from users who I on and off ask and use. Having so many photographers i n our community there are some of their works that they are do not mind to let using.

You post is nominated for „@art-venture“ Support Program, @booming account upvote. Only the posts that are not cross posted, original and posted from Xpilar community page and using tag #art-venturehave priority. If your post gets approval, then you get upvote within few days. Good luck!

 2 years ago 

Ooo I hadn't thought of that. Next time I'm looking for reference I'll have to see if something sparks my eye here on the community and ask them if I can use their photo. Great idea!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 68828.89
ETH 3759.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.43