You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Road into the Mountains

in WORLD OF XPILAR2 years ago

Hmmm the counter point. I'm glad you bring this up because it is definitely the other side of the coin. It's really tough to split the value here. On one hand a teacher or mentor might accelerate your progress in an area but in "their" way. On the other hand you may struggle much more to find solutions to problems but in the end they will be distinctly "your" solutions. Art is after all unique because it is an expression that is very specific to the individual who is making the art. In some ways you might muddy the waters of expression by leaning too hard toward another artists solutions.

I think I would still advocate for mentorship though. Eventually it is not a choice anymore and the things that are made by an artist always end as a direct reflection of that individual's experience and point of view. For better or worse I think we can't help but say what we need to say. That is the power of one's own expression. I believe you when you say there is the danger of imitation but I also believe that one's internal voice will always overpower those limitations... At least I'd like to think so.

I'm glad you've added to the conversation it's something to consider before embarking onto a journey of mastery. The worst case scenario would be that you end up being a cheap copy of a master artist without ever learning how to speak for yourself.

Sort:  
 2 years ago 

I'm glad you understood my point. Yes, mentoring is definitely useful. But here everything is like in medicine))
Any substance can be medicine and poison. It's all about dose and measure.
A conscious approach will help to avoid mistakes. The main thing in my opinion is not to lose your originality.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65248.25
ETH 3471.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51