You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Who benefits from Community Curators Accounts SC04-08?

in WORLD OF XPILAR2 years ago

Hi @stef1,

I just came across your post and believe that you highlighted an important issue.

  • I think one reason behind the success of the user in question is, he's active in multiple communities. By just looking at the screenshot you shared, we can see four different communities in seven day period.

    People usually do that to get a chance for more booming upvotes as they can't get more than two booming upvotes through one community in a week.

    It's okay.. I think.. as the author is also putting an effort to create a lot of content which is quite a task so his rewards are justifiable(if the content is quality and if he's not voting himself ofcourse).

  • One issue here is of tag irrelevancy. The user in question has used irrelevant tags which is a quite annoying thing for me as a curator. I'm not blaming here anyone, I don't know if users do it out of ignorance or what but it gets hard for curators.

    Imagine following a tag with hundreds of post, 80% of which have automatic upvotes, plagiarized content or the authors don't power up at all. The remaining 20% reasonable content which you are finally excited to curate has irrelevant content!

    Personally, I do not curate such posts which don't fall into the theme I have been assigned to curate. One example is the last post you shared. I came across this post on my curation day as it's got the lifestyle tag. I was about to curate it but to me the post looked more suitable for the My Life team and #thediarygame tag. So I simply skipped it. But if I had been short of quality content that day, I might have upovted it because it was the closest content related to #lifestyle.

    I would request authors to use the relevant tags only. Sometimes I see very irrelevant use of tags. For instance, an author used #travel in a food post with only home-cooked meals and no sign of stepping out of home. That's tag abuse.

    I also request other curators to not vote completely irrelevant content. Multiple times, I wanted to upvote a post in my theme and it already got an upvote from another team just because the author used their tags. In this case, I do not upvote that post.

    There are also some special situations ofcourse in which we have to improvise the curation strategy a bit. Like my team members also try to stick to the relevant content but, there are some categories like #sports and #garden in which there's not enough quality content so instead of wasting the VP, I think it's wise to vote other good content sometimes. But in any case, there shouldn't be multiple votes from sc04-sc08 on one post.

  • About booming upvotes...
    We made a rule within our team that we won't curate same author more than twice a week to spread votes to the wider audience. We also skip posts that already got booming upvote and sc01-voted posts are always out of question.

    I asked the SC team if booming votes can be given to the posts already voted with sc04-sc08. They said, "no" and initially booming was skipping such posts as well. But now booming votes all posts, I don't know why.

    It's the duty of community admins/mods to not send such posts to booming. But again, sometimes a post deserves more rewards or there are not enough quality posts to be sent to booming which results into multiple votes on one post.

Therefore, we can't judge the intention of anyone unless there's some serious and obvious abuse of power. All we can do is to keep trying to do the curation job honestly and efficiently to support as many users as we can. As for authors, they shouldn't abuse the tags merely to bag votes from multiple curators.

Sort:  
 2 years ago 

I support the "honestly and efficiently" 100%. I vowed to give my best at all times!
After all, it is my name which will be compromised if I don't.

Thank you @event-horizon for taking time and going through the issues that were highlighted.

Again and again I am hearing that there are not enough quality posts, it is a shame but many good quality creators I see more and more on Hive and they leave Steemit completely, because of more and better rewards for Quality.

Like @the-gorilla mentioned he is trying to find new users who create good content but not discovered by curators and this is the point, there are might be some new ones but because it is easy and faster to choose the one who is known to be fair, not posting plagiarism and original content, some of the curators simply choose such users like in this example. I hardly can imagine that on few occasions there were not enough good posts and the user got two SC Upvotes.

Just such situation will make more people to leave this platform. The tags yes, people just use it without thinking they want to be seen in many areas and this is very human nature like.

I am grateful for your feedback and your time.

it is easy and faster to choose the one who is known to be fair, not posting plagiarism and original content, some of the curators simply choose such users like in this example.

Again, it's the responsibility of the curators to find more authors. It requires more work and more time so some people just choose the known-ones, like you said.

I observed that many good authors don't follow clubs because there are less rewards going into the pocket for their hard work. Since clubs, so many authors have switched to voting services or have simply moved to HIVE.

image.png

That is the fact what you are saying and it is a reality that we are facing

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59022.17
ETH 2569.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53