You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Winged Horses ✨ #club100

in WORLD OF XPILAR2 years ago

It would certainly be wonderful to get to know them, to hear their memories of their wonderful experiences.
One of my grandmothers is alive and I can say that she is a good friend. When they were my age, I can imagine that they had a very busy and tiring but also active life with their children. I think that their dreams or expectations from life were more basic things. Maybe I should have a more detailed chat with her.

I felt sorry for the Nigeria experiment. As you said, qualified people are needed to implement such projects, and it is getting difficult with few people.

Sort:  

I only knew one great-grandparent. As you might know, hockey is a passion for most Canadians. My great-grandmother would hide in the kitchen and peak around the doorway when her favourite team fell behind. She had led a difficult life. When she was between 13-and 15, she had to work as a maid in a hotel. She married a man 20 years older than her a few years later. Do you feel a little outraged at the difference? Most modern women would comment on robbing the cradle. My grandmother was born in the mid-1890s and lived to be 99.

image.png
Source
As you can see, the average life expectancy was 45 years at the time. Unfortunately, I don't have a breakdown by sex, but I assume that women's life expectancy was much lower. I wish I could ask my great-grandmother how much of her relationship was "love" vs economic necessity. Perhaps that is a question that your grandmother could answer!

image.png
Source
Perhaps her marriage was complicated by the semi-arranged marriage practice from that time and part of the world.

As far as Nigeria, I have no expectations.

image.png
Source

Our parents, grandparents, and great-grandparents lay the foundations of our lives. How much wisdom could they impart when they died when they were little more than children.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67200.37
ETH 3331.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77