Better Life: A Sudden Change of Direction

in WORLD OF XPILAR4 months ago

I'm told there are lots of people who go through life with a very strong sense of "direction," always knowing pretty much what they want to do... and how they are going to get there.

x001-GrapeMahonia.jpg

I'm not one of those people.

I don't think I ever was one of those people.

My first major change of direction came when I was about 30 years of age. Up until that point, I had pretty much walked "the straight and narrow" path that had mostly been laid out for me by family expectations, rather than by myself.

I found myself "suddenly being somewhere" where I was working in the IT industry, doing something I wasn't sure why I was doing, in a marriage I was not sure why I was in, with a house and a mortgage and debt I wasn't sure why I even had.

I remember quite distinctly the moment in which I was suddenly thinking to myself "is this REALLY all there is to life?"

X0326-Thistle.JPG

Of course, I had been too well "conditioned" to just freak out and do something random and irresponsible. Even so, my ex at the time was very angry when I declared that I wanted to see a therapist.

I just wanted to talk to someone who wasn't going to be invested in pushing their agenda onto me.

Nothing dramatic actually happened... except for the fact that I learned how to think more for myself, rather than eternally being focused on how to "not rock the boat" of everyone around me.

Of course, those around me were not happy that I suddenly seemed to have developed opinions of my own, and wasn't as willing to be manipulated and pushed around.

x631-FallLeaf3.JPG

Groups of people operate by an interesting set of dynamics. One of those is the strange tendency of a group to try to keep itself coherent, even if doing so doesn't do any good for anyone in the group.

My ex and I were part of a group of couples that regularly hung out and we all considered ourselves good friends.

Although I am — by no figment of anyone's imagination — any kind of "thought leader," I was the first one in the group to not only quit my high stress job, but also to separate in my marriage. And that's where the whole group dynamic came to the forefront... within 12 months, all but one of six couples were divorced, and five of the twelve people total had done a complete 180-degree turn on their work lives.

x300-Purple.jpg

This was the time at which I first chose independence.

It was independence, in the sense of starting to work for myself, and it was independence from familial and societal pressures to "comply" with a certain way of being.

I have subsequently changed direction multiple times since then... in part because I learned that you do not die when you suddenly go off in a direction that fits you but doesn't fit into other people's sense of reality.

I hasten to add that this is not about being someone who doesn't care about others. But it does mean choosing to be authentically yourself over enabling someone else's sense of reality.

x393-YellowRose.JPG

My most recent "major change of direction" came when I uprooted my well established life in Austin, Texas and traveled 2,200 miles across the country to a place where I felt I would be happier... with no particular plan in mind.

18 years later, I have no regrets! But at the time I moved, virtually everyone around me thought it was a terrible idea, and that I would hate my life once I got here. Of course, those insinuations were based on the fact that my choice of where to move to wouldn't fit their sense of a good place, and had nothing to do with my sense of where I would be happy.

Funny how often your friends actually don't what what's best for you; they want what's best for them!

x188-WhiteLilac.JPG

So, have I changed, as a result of the changes I have made?

I expect primarily in the sense that I am a lot less fearful about doing what feels right for me in life. And I think that's a good thing, on the whole. And it ends up informing many other aspects of my world... including the sorts of friendships I keep...

Don't be afraid of change that might make you happier in life!

Thanks for stopping by, and have a great remainder of your week!

How about you? Have you ever major major changes of "direction" in your life? How did it work out for you? Would you do t again? Leave a comment if you feel so inclined — share your experiences — be part of the conversation!

(All text and images by the author, unless otherwise credited. This is ORIGINAL CONTENT, created expressly for this platform — Not posted elsewhere!)

Created at 2024.03.13 00:58 PDT
x722/1957

Sort:  

It is so true what you say about people and their feedback to what decisions you make. They always have a thousand and one reasons why your should not do what you say you are going to do because they themselves don't want it / are fearful of it / or maybe it changes a level of how "convenient" you are for them in their life.

Having come from a family of men, being the youngest and the only girl... I know that scenario all too well... big brothers are awfully good at imposing their opinions and view points on to you.

Personally, I think we should be ever evolving because if we aren't then we are stagnant - and that in essence would mean that even if we DID have a vision for ourselves or a clear direction we intended on - it can and often does change as we go along. All the little decisions we make along the way, ultimately shape the big picture outcome. Kind of like one of those "choose your own adventure" books that we used to have as kids.

I find this topic quite fascinating really - when you start to study or dissect the details of the roads you have chosen and how much they may differ had different decisions been made along the way.

Me... I don't cast anything in stone - sure I have a pretty settled life right now, but I am at peace with the fact that this could change at any second for a multitude of reasons. I too, have also become far more confident and comfortable with standing my ground regarding what is best for MY life now, rather than being swayed by the opinions of others for whatever reason.

 4 months ago 

This is definitely one of the areas of the human experience I poke around in, a lot.

I always run into this "uncomfortable reality" of just how many people on this planet walk around and see others as little more than "game pieces" in their personal maps of life. And I find myself alternately disturbed/depressed that a healthier non-usary alternative seems to be the exception, rather than the rule.

So often, people seem to be threatened by someone's decision to voluntarily choose less of something, rather than more.

Perhaps the root of my/our discomfort lies in the fact that there's an unhealthy conditionality there. Particularly in love. Instead of simply "I love you, because the world is more beautiful because you're in it!" love "nuggets" are dispensed like dog treats when we do certain things that suit other people's realities, but the treats are withheld when we are not pleasing to them. It's all so transactional, and definitely not unconditional.

And yes, I am an idealist and romantic, in many ways... even if it's not always the most functional way to be, in life!

And a big YES to being ever-evolving!

others as little more than "game pieces" in their personal maps of life. And I find myself alternately disturbed/depressed that a healthier non-usary alternative seems to be the exception, rather than the rule.

Sad and yes, very true.

It's all so transactional, and definitely not unconditional.

Absolutely and I witness this in my own family often!!! In so many ways I find human behaviour so fickle.

And yes, I am an idealist and romantic, in many ways... even if it's not always the most functional way to be, in life!

Functional schmunctional. Don't change!

 4 months ago 

Functional schmunctional. Don't change!

Not gonna!

What you see is what you get. People who need me to be something else for their convenience can go fly a kite.

Or something else...

lol! I second that :)

Thank you, friend!
I'm @steem.history, who is steem witness.
Thank you for witnessvoting for me.
image.png
please click it!
image.png
(Go to https://steemit.com/~witnesses and type fbslo at the bottom of the page)

The weight is reduced because of the lack of Voting Power. If you vote for me as a witness, you can get my little vote.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64403.69
ETH 3463.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50