10 Images from Old Cemetery. Visual Story about Dereliction, Vandalism, and Beauty (PowerUp 100%)

in WORLD OF XPILAR3 years ago (edited)

A yesterday walk with a Nikkor 24mm f/2.8D on a Nikon DSLR (D750). The destination is Smolenskoye Lutheran Cemetery, St. Petersburg, Russia.

DSC_3898-3.JPG

The cemetery hosts graves of Germans and other Westerners who died mostly in the XIX century. These people arrived in Russian Empire to make a career in its capital, St. Petersburg, a young city that grew fast and needed skilled scientists, military, artists, and artisans. The cemetery was young at that time too. Much changed since then. Let's take a look.

DSC_4071.JPG

An artwork created by a sculptor, vandals, and forces of nature together. I like the colours and the way (sorry to say) the statue was sadly broken.

A woman in grief lost herself in the forest of Purgatory (Чистилище):

DSC_3922.JPG

I suppose someone was shooting at this statue with a pneumatic gun. It is covered with shallow notches (выемки) but the face damaged the most because it probably served as the bull's eye (яблочко).

DSC_3919-2.JPG

Could it be that they shot at not only statues here once in the 1990s?

It could be.

DSC_3932-2.JPG

A shoe. A deadman's shoe?

DSC_4087-4.JPG

I like how the glass and the leaves merge into a single whole, thanks to being under snow for three months.

DSC_4020.JPG

A bottle for smoking.

Let's see what is inside of a grave:

DSC_4009-2.JPG

The grave plate has been broken and lays bare emptiness filled with old garbage and remnants of winter snow.

One more damaged construction:

DSC_3967.JPG

This is a metal box that, I guess, served as a gravestone for a passed baby. Or was it a sarcophagus?

John Baird, died in 1832, at the age of 2 years and 2 months.

His father is there too. They were Scottish...

There is a person behind some of these pieces of art:

DSC_4079-2.JPG

This is Vincenzo Moderni who belonged to the Italian dynasty of sculptors specialized in tombstones.

Right from his remains, a large tree grows:

DSC_4086.JPG

One more wooden vandal, a silent servant of Time, a poplar, devours a metal fence:

DSC_3990-3.JPG

I discovered this cemetery in 1999 and, since then, I regularly visit it. So this is not the last reportage from this place.

Thank you for reading! Comments below will be appreciated :)

#steemexclusive

This is my 8th day of "14 days of DIVING" by @bambuka. I post this story as a "50/50" but I commit myself to transfer SBD to SP. According to the rules mentioned here.

Sort:  

Thanks for sharing your experience with us!
TIBLogo

You have been curated by @frostyamber on behalf of Inner Blocks: a community encouraging first hand content, and each individual living their best life. Come join the Inner Blocks Community , and check out @innerblocks! #lifehappening

 3 years ago 

Thank you!

I have joined Inner Blocks. :)

I havent been here for ages. Is it a good place to walk, does it have a lot of intresting stuff preserved from the older days?..

 3 years ago 

I can't say this is the most spectacular place worth crossing miles ... But it is a great point for a route in Vasilyevsky Island. There is another cemetery near, Orthodox Christian one, so two of them can be a good destination for those who like calmness and are interested in details. Are there many details on both cemeteries? Yes, there are.

There are other old cemeteries in St. Petersburg worth visiting. I know Smolenskoye Lutheran and Orthodox ones just because they are 20-30-minute walk from my home.

Oh! seems we live on the opposite sides of the city. (Maybe you'll make me a company one day and guide me at Smolenskoye Lutheran one?)

I also visited Gromovskoe (staroverskoe) at Mitrofanjevskoe shosse (not far away from me) and my fave one is Novodevichii nekropol at Moskovsky ave, 100 - I strongly recommend you to check this one.

 3 years ago 

Maybe you'll make me a company - Would be great.)

Novodevichii nekropol - Thank you, very interesting. Probably, I should. A 30-minute ride by marshrutka.

 3 years ago 

These are excellent pictures. I hope to be able to visit St Petersburg one day.

 3 years ago 

Thank you :)

 3 years ago 

Спасибо! :) Приятного вечера!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 63957.85
ETH 2753.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66