The Diary Game: August 25, 2020: I've Been Trying To Enjoy Movies Again But It Is Not The Same When I Am Younger

in WORLD OF XPILAR4 years ago

Arnold sunglasses.jpg

Today I did download a movie which I watched, I tried to enjoy it but now it is really something that I am not enjoying anymore. The magic had been lost, it just means that I am now old for movies or maybe it is just me.

I remember when I was younger when movie are in cassette tapes and are rented. The rent was quite hefty for a boy that could not afford it in the first place and had no video cassette player to play it into as well.

tv5017870_640.jpg

Image by Виктория Бородинова from Pixabay

When I was younger my father had brought home what we call the "Betamax" and from that I can recall watching Rambo, Tom and Jerry, and a few other movies for a while because my father sold it before he went to abroad again to work.

So after that we never had any video player until 1998 when my father brought home a VHS player. At that time there were still video rental shops and fortunately my brother had a job at that time so he was the one renting those heavy VHS cassette tapes for us to watch with my siblings, I can't even recall my parents watching movies with us. It is either me and my brothers or with my sister and never really with us all watching the movies that my brother rented.

vhs1140496_640.jpg

Image by InspiredImages from Pixabay

Then came the transition to video CDs and by the time that DVDs are available the popularity of rental shops had dwindled until I saw them closing shop because no one is renting anymore because of the Internet. The people can just download movies in top of the line quality.

But lately I've not been able to watch movies, not that I do not have access to it but because I have gone bored watching movies now unlike when I was younger that a sight of a movie cassette just excites me. Now that the excitement is gone because I feel that I had grown old already.

stress2883638_640.jpg

Image by Gerd Altmann from Pixabay

So it just sucked being like this, I just want to be younger again. I wanted to re-experience the bliss of believing that the thing in the movie had really happened or at least somebody's blood had really gushed out or a feet or head had been blown off.

But now when you watch a movie you will already know that it was "just a movie" and that it never really happened, or it is just a computer-generated graphics. So you will just try to finish on watching it so that you can go about to attend your other activities. That is what I am experiencing right now and it is no fun at all already, and yes if only could turn back time I would have done it. But I know at least in heaven there is a different joy that we could experience there and not like this where it just fades away and will never come back.

Sort:  
 4 years ago 

Hi @cryptopie. After reading your post, I realised why I think you no longer feel that sense of happiness or satisfaction from watching films like you did when you were younger.
Maybe in the past, you received gratification or happiness from entertainment and watching films/movies, that's what made you happy. But now your priorities are different, you realise that spending time doing things that change your life, that improve or develop it, are important. Following our dreams and reaching our goals is the true way of receiving and achieving happiness and satisfaction in life, that's what I feel anyway! 😎

Yes you are right which is why I am always working on my goals and in that way it would make me happy. I guess that it is just part of growing up when you had experienced a lot of things already and almost nothing is new for you anymore.

 4 years ago 

Your post is manually rewarded by the
World of Xpilar Community Curation Trail

join the World of Xpilar Curation Trail, info can be found here

Watching movies is one of my favourite things and yes during childhood even i prolonged to watch some movies but unfortunately cannot afford to buy the CDs of that movies as they were too expensive . It looks like you really enjoyed your day
Have a great day ahead !
#onepercent
#india

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 63077.53
ETH 2471.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66