More garden cleanup #club100steemCreated with Sketch.

in WORLD OF XPILAR2 years ago

Do you remember my post about this nice garden bed with a currant bush, a rhubarb, a chive, and some nice raspberries?

nice garden bed

Well, as I established in my post about moving these plants and shrubs, they have all been ripped out to make way for a pool. Hopefully, they all re-establish in their new locations. I feel very sad looking at this picture of my lush plants knowing that they are no longer there.

I am sure that I will enjoy the new pool, and I have to admit that this patch of ground was difficult to grow things anyway. The drought is so bad that it it was increasingly hard to keep these plants from being covered by a sand dune.

I have had a lot of trouble even getting natural grasses to establish in that area, as I am sure that you can see. Without sufficient groundcover, the Russian thistle moves in and it is not long before it takes over. For some reason the Russian thistle doesn't need water or nutritious soil to thrive. Sand is good enough. I wouldn't mind the thistle except that it is a skin irritant and the sharp seeds burrow into your skin, even through thick gloves and socks.

thistle.jpg

Just in case you forgot what this terrible stuff looks like.

The big tumbleweeds are easy to catch and throw into the burn barrel, but it is the stubble that is really annoying. My husband spent half of Saturday scraping thistle stubble with a rake and throwing it into the fire. It is so satisfying to watch that stuff turn to smoke and ash.

burn.jpg

Ahhh. So satisfying.

My poodle Jasper also found this task satisfying. Those sharp little seeds like to burrow into his paws and get stuck in his hair.

Jasper3.jpg

There is one bright spot in all of this. I found a little perennial has come back to life. It is the very first one of the season.

perennial.jpg

This is a 100% POWERUP! post for #club100

Sort:  

Jasper seems to have helped you along the journey😅 Cleaning the garden should be relaxing and therapeutic

 2 years ago 

Yes, we had a good time. Although Jasper mostly just watched. :-P

It seems like the weather got warmer and you have good time outside. Looks like Jasper is enjoying being outside :)

You post is nominated for „Wold of xpilar“ Community Support Program, @booming account upvote. Only the posts that are not cross posted, original and posted from community page are eligible. If your post gets approval, then you get upvote within few days. Good luck!

 2 years ago 

Thank you!!
It was a bit warmer on the weekend. The snow has melted and we were able to work outside comfortably. Today, however, we had a cold wind that blew my spectacles right off my face!!

There are lands no matter how much we want them to prosper, they can't or they don't want to, however I hope you enjoy your new projects and that you have a nice space for your plants.

the puppy looks so relaxed, he's beautiful, he must have worked a lot ha ha.

Greetings!

 2 years ago 

Yes, my puppy is so exhausted. HAHA.
My land is tired from being overfarmed. I am trying to restore it. The drought is not helping, but eventually it will end. Thanks!

 2 years ago 

Greetings @brittilicious Congratulations for getting your article featured in the Blogosphere Magazine. Jasper is so cute and very well groomed. The Russian thistle seems a nasty thing. I can't wait to see photos of the pool! Cheers.

 2 years ago 

Thanks!

Nice growing

 2 years ago 

Thanks!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68913.70
ETH 3738.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68