The Evening Sun : An Xpillar Entry.

in WORLD OF XPILAR3 years ago

Solnedgang siv og sand 1 A.jpg
Digital art made by @xpilar

.

For mum not to have seen this is sending a cold chill down my spine. We've stayed here decades ago with Dad and grandpa watching as the sun goes down. I remembered then asking them why is the sun blue in the morning and cool, white in the afternoon and hot, mild in the evening and yellow. Grandpa was the most patient to hear my story, answer my questions and provide the most loving way to explain. For my Dad, all he use to do then was chuckle at my funny questions. Mama always hush me not to bother my granny too much, for me, I see him as an epitome of knowledge, someone who has been on earth before time began for all I care. He didn't disappoint me either, all questions got answered. I love him the more. Unlike my father.

The war took him very early away from me, the news didn't go well with grandfather too. The old man left sooner to be with his son. Leaving me with my mama at a very tender age. My Mom has to do so many job for me to become who I am today. Seeing me through high school and college was all thanks to her effort to see me at the top.

I knew I owe it to her to bring her here again, maybe she will remember this same place I stood decades ago asking my loving grandfather questions while she tells me to hush. But my mama has gone way older to understand time, her grey hair has gone before her to the point of memory loss. I sat her down gently and asked if she remembers this place. This same place overseeing the beach by which the going down of the sun makes the golden yellow sunset color. But my Grandma couldn't discern any longer. The eyes were dim, extra skin covering the face. She gave me a gesture though, that "yes" she still remember and gave me a warm smile.

I stared deep into the evening sun while my Mom slips away into the cold hand of death.

This is my entry into @xpilar challenge here 🔻

Digital image for the day is made according to my own imagination and thoughts (your writing story competition(103)

Sort:  

What a great view~

 3 years ago 

Beautiful story about grandmother

Thank you @botefarm

Your post is manually rewarded by the
World of Xpilar Community Curation Trail

join the World of Xpilar Curation Trail, info can be found here

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66765.98
ETH 3234.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.23