Contest | World of Xpilar | Digital image | By @awesononsosteemCreated with Sketch.

in WORLD OF XPILAR4 years ago (edited)

Home base E24, can you hear me? Come in... Help! Anybody. Please...

Day 51 since we drifted off from our home base. We barely escaped with our lives. It’s a good thing dad was a politician back on E32. Only rich people can afford these space pods. How could me and Jon have escaped when the invasion happened?

Tap Tap Tap

It’s Jon, my baby brother. He’s tapping on the walls again. The square walls are slowly driving him insane. You won’t blame him. It isn’t easy growing up in the 25th century, with all the wars, without a planet, in the void of space.
58F0D976-6129-4CBF-A563-85EBB0EA3AA7.jpeg Nothingness
" Source

We had a planet a long time ago. We called her Earth. We didn’t put a lot of worth on her. It’s normal though, humans are neglectful. You never really know what you have, am I right? We take things for granted. We never cared to take care of our home. She let us stay in her but we poisoned her. Bad engines, oil leaks in the seas, plastic bottles on the plains, monster chimneys from factories, overpopulation. Parasites. That’s what we were, and the earth was sick. The animals began to die and the fishes were poisoned. Global warming took over bringing floods to the land and Ultraviolet rays to our skin. The earth had a fever and we the parasites had to escape. And so, after so many years, after half the human population was wiped out, we finally did.
55614A5F-46A9-4E72-9289-3E7F77E57DC3.jpeg
Home base
" Source

The UN worked with technological giants to create Home Bases. We boarded the home bases and escaped the harsh planet, one base thousands of light years away from the other. We made water and grew crops in labs. We bred our livestock very closely. The UN became the Intergalactic Base Control (IBC) and there was peace for hundreds of years. But then the human race started to grow again and the struggle for land began. The IBC could not fund an expansion and the problem was going to have dire consequences.

One day, it appeared in our space territory. The image of my nightmares. A warship with the A-base emblem.
EA387B33-B753-4966-B286-313C8BADD8A4.jpeg
" Source

Who sends a warship to people with no intention for war?
Well, we didn’t have time to get the answer. The chaos was surreal. The screams still echo when I close my eyes. I saw my people get vaporized by their lazer beams.
Kira, my fiancée. She took a beam for me. It still feels like a bad dream. I feel like I’m going to wake up and she’ll be right there beside me with her beautiful coily hair and sleepy dull eyes. But I won’t...

Dad asked Jon and I to escape on his pod but I wanted to stay. I tried to gather Kira’s dust as they disappeared with the wind. I was about to get hit by another beam when dad dragged me and convinced me that I couldn’t let Kira’s sacrifice go to waste. He put me and Jon on his pod and set it to find the E-Home base command.

Now, it’s just me and Jon. I can’t stop thinking about Kira. I can still hear her voice in my head but I can’t fall into a depression now. I know Jon needs me but at this rate I don’t know if...

“This is E24. Is anyone out there? Hello! Come in...”
0752620B-21AA-4422-B97A-3A86CC607E85.jpeg
" Source

I hurriedly rushed for the radio and almost tripped.
Yes! Yes! Were here...
E1E76C04-63C3-47FA-A836-01212BFBC49C.jpeg
" Source

“Vessel, Identify yourself”

This is space pod Q6-E32. It’s Nonso speaking.

“Oh you made it. Thank the stars. We’ll send a rescue ship to get your pod. Welcome to home base command, Nonso”.

I run back to Jon to let him know.

Jon! They’ve come for us. We’re safe now. Jon, we’re safe
Tears slowly forming in my eyes as I embrace him. I can see how emotionless Jon is. He shouldn’t have to go through all this. He’s just 7. I feel like I’ve failed him.

Jon can you hear me? We did it. You’re ok.



Cc: @xpilar
Cc: @caleb090



D4DCE50B-6DD6-41D7-80AA-97D1F7237D45.jpeg

Thanks for stopping by

D4DCE50B-6DD6-41D7-80AA-97D1F7237D45.jpeg

Sort:  

Wow this feels like am reading the script for a sequel to will Smith's "After Earth".

That’s how we do it at TSG✌🏽
Thank you!

🙃👏👏👏

✌🏽

 4 years ago 

Excellent story @awesononso

Thanks for reading

Your post is manually rewarded by the
World of Xpilar Community Curation Trail

join the World of Xpilar Curation Trail, info can be found here

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 59456.51
ETH 2300.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48