Contest | Trapped in my dream | All or nothingsteemCreated with Sketch.

in WORLD OF XPILAR4 years ago (edited)

680D7CA4-AEBD-4AD1-A670-2FFAAF8639E4.png

Pow Pow Pow

All I can hear is the repeating sound of the basketball as I try to take a shot. I know the crowd is wild but I can barely hear them. I have 3 seconds to make this shot. I can’t afford to miss now. I’ve always wanted to feel this type of rush. I have my leg. I can run. It feels like a dream. Well, that’s because it is...

I’ve always loved the game of basketball. I’ve been playing since I was little and dreamt of going big, big time. I was well on my way too. I trained day and night and participated in a lot of competitions. I became the best U-17 small forward in the state at 15. My dreams were coming true until the 16th of February, 2017, when I was in an accident while driving home from a victory party. I woke up in the hospital grateful to be alive but I was incomplete. I had lost my left leg.

The depression was recurrent. After secondary school, all my friends got scholarships to good colleges. But colleges don’t accept people like me - a “cripple”. It is too late to learn wheelchair basketball. At least, no one encourages me. All I can do now is dream about what could have been. My head is my escape and it’s been really fire up there.

We’ve been playing this league for months now and tonight is the finals. I’m always anxious to go to bed at night because In my dreams, in my mind, I have my leg. Now I don’t just have it but I’m a star too. The whole world knows my name now. Well, at least the world I made. I’m the captain of my dream league team, literally. It’s all I ever imagined it would be. You can say that I’m “living the dream” and to the fullest too. I have to make this shot right here, right now but I can’t do it alone. Coach always said that a good player is a team player. I’m going to be a good player now. I fake a shot and pass the ball to my number two and he takes the shot with 0.5 seconds left. It feels like eternity. The crowd paused their chants and then “swoosh”. The buzzer went off and the crowd fills the court. The scoreline reads 115-113. I can’t believe it. I won. We won. The cheers felt very real until I reached for the alarm clock. I can still feel the euphoria of victory. I look outside the window of my room and see Joe jogging.

Hey Joe, I call him.
“Oh hey”, he replies.
I’m a basketball star now, I shout with my head up.
“Yeah right. In your dreams”, Joe teases.

You have no idea, Joe.


CC:
@adeljose
@xpilar
@steemcurator01
@steemcurator02

8D416681-B574-4E7A-BA8D-88340166759C.jpeg

Thanks for stopping by

8D416681-B574-4E7A-BA8D-88340166759C.jpeg

Sort:  

thx for sharing this....I lost a front tooth to smashmouth basketball.. and I'd do it all again if I could..🍺....so I guess I feel I know some o thing if only a lil..about the love of the game. Best wishes to ye sir-.. and plz keep at it for each other.

Sorry about your tooth. That’s just how the game is sometimes.
Thanks for reading.

 4 years ago 

Greetings friend @awesononso

Through dreams, we can live our desired world, our mind recreates moments of extreme freedom while we rest, making possible things that in reality we may never be able to do.

Thank you for your entry to the contest.

Participant #34

#affable

Thank you for reading through

Dreamer😂🤲

I’ll still blow 🤲🏽😌

Your post is manually rewarded by the
World of Xpilar Community Curation Trail

join the World of Xpilar Curation Trail, info can be found here

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.17
JST 0.032
BTC 63626.54
ETH 2727.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56