UNFORGETTABLE ITALY contest: Week 6 || VeneziasteemCreated with Sketch.

in Italy3 years ago (edited)

Having seen some of the incredible entries to this contest and me not being a photographer, I don't fancy my chances but I'll accept any invitation to talk about my travels so here I am 😀

DSC01834.JPG
Taken with my Sony Cyber-shot DSC-W120 (I warned you that I'm not a photographer)

I'm sure you've had, and will have plenty of photos of Venice shared. This was my visit in March 2017 with my wife, 1 year before life changed irreversibly with the birth of our son (3 today!)

We had a wonderful time, walking the streets, up and down thousands of steps over a 5 day period and no trip to Venice would be complete without a trip on a Gondola with the fine, booming, Italian singing to accompany it. In this photo, I particularly like the way the sun is highlighting the activity of the gondolas and the shadows cast on the buildings.

We visited many museums, restaurants and travelled by boat all around including trips to the beach at Lido, a hot chocolate in Murano and the colourful houses of Burano. Being a football lover, I even ventured to the local football ground with its narrow pathway and intimidating graffiti (I'll enter next week with one of those photos!)

In many restaurants, we would eat early (my wife prefers to eat early) which gave us the opportunity to talk to the local restauranteurs who, after being asked what they recommend, would take the menu away and make me a "special dish". I never really knew what I was eating - normally pasta - but it didn't matter. It was Italian food made by real Italians!

Every trip to Italy is an unforgettable one and I could share countless photos which tell their own stories. I decided to ramble with this one!

Sort:  

Ehi, really good!
So you’re not only a gorilla who hunts plagiarists... 😄

Beautiful entry, thanks for participating ✌️

Ha ha! 😂 No, I also read, comment and author content. I much prefer writing and commenting to hunting. I look forward to participating and contributing more often now that I've realised Italy isn't just for Italians.

Unfortunately, I have to chase a few people all around steemit until they stop. A post in this community titled "non mollare" is one such abuser who has resorted to posting in Italian and Chinese to mask his activities!!! 🙄

These people are absolutely unbearable, but at least in this case it served to introduce you to this community.

Every cloud has a silver lining 🙂

I've even had one article plagiarise my own work which I was somewhat taken aback by.

As an aside - I'm administering a Fantasy F1 competition - do you mind if I share some details here? (I'm as much anti-spamming as I am anti-plagiarism so I don't mind if you'd rather I didn't!) Given Ferrari's performance last season, you might want it kept quiet

https://steemit.com/hive-100604/@the-gorilla/win-20-steem-or-or-fantasy-f1-preview-part-1

Given Ferrari's performance last season, you might want it kept quiet

Yep... 🙄

But you can share all the info, no problem ✌️

Great, thanks. I'll post something later today 👍

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57378.99
ETH 3121.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.24