Am I in the middle class?

in Banking and Finance4 years ago (edited)

image.png

Income vs Net Worth?

Curiosity was killing my cat, so I decided to google this yesterday. I clicked on the first link and the bold caption I see:

“Are you in the American middle class? Find out with our income calculator”

The article is about determining your middle class status by measuring income in relation to the cost of living in your area. And I thought, is income the best measure of your middle class status? What about net worth? Because net worth determines how you weather emergencies. And in retirement, it’s your net worth you’re going to be using, not so much your employment income.

In the US, the focus is mostly on income to measure your socioeconomic status, but net worth is rarely brought up.

  1. United States tax policy is mostly focused on income.
  2. How banks determine individual debt issuance is mostly based on income, especially in the early years of someone's life.
  3. The Obama and Trump Administrations have defined middle class wealth with income, not net worth. source.
  4. And everyday family kitchen talk is mostly about income/spending.

Encouraging society to measure their wealth in income rather than net worth, leads people to focus more on spending/debt/income in the present and less on savings/investment/net worth in the future. Whether it's an individual not having a proper nest egg or a nation not investing in its long term infrastructure, the society is not focused on long-term capital growth.

Focusing on net worth can change people's attitudes about the future.

  1. People will focus more on long term savings/investment and not short term spending/debt.
  2. Society will build wealth faster than using it.
  3. People will be more inclined to limit debt to long term growth projects rather than short term impulses.
  4. Wealth inequality would be less severe.
  5. And, people will use that extra money to buy STEEM and write fun posts on steemit because they're happier :)

Stay frosty people. Thanks for reading.

Sort:  

Hello, @fijimermaid.

I loved this post.

Certainly, the net worth should be considered in a greater proportion within the calculation basis.

And what about crypto net worth? If we become holders, we would also be improving our class status, then it should be considered.

And, people will use that extra money to buy STEEM and write fun posts on steemit because they're happier :)

OMG, you are a genius!

"And what about crypto net worth?"


Absolutely crypto net worth as well. It's the new money (and asset)!

Thank you so much @juanmolina.

It's my real pleasure.

To the question in your title, my Magic 8-Ball says:

Do not count on it

Hi! I'm a bot, and this answer was posted automatically. Check this post out for more information.

你好鸭,fijimermaid!

@eii给您叫了一份外卖!

夏日必备冰淇淋

吃饱了吗?跟我猜拳吧! 石头,剪刀,布~

如果您对我的服务满意,请不要吝啬您的点赞~

Dear @fijimermaid

I just bumped accidentally at your publication. Solid read. Topics related to technology and economy are my favourite ones.

And I thought, is income the best measure of your middle class status? What about net worth?

Perhaps income compared to the cost of living in your area make sense. It seem to me, that we shall focus on buying power.

But yeah, I understand why do you believe that net worth should be a primary statistic we shall take into consideration.

Interesting read. Upvoted already. Cheers :)
Yours, Piotr

I think you nailed it, buying power, I love that! Buying...as in short-term consumption, as opposed to long-term investment. I will use that phrase in the future, great observation. And thank you @crypto.piotr.

I really like to see how responsive you are @fijimermaid

I've also noticed that you already posted within PH community (project.hope) on HIVE chain.

Consider also posting on Steemit. This is our community link: https://steemit.com/trending/hive-175254

Take care of yourself,
Yours, Piotr

When I started actively posting on steemit 3 months ago, I neglected to post the same posts on hive. So now I'm playing catch-up, posting the same steemit posts on hive. I posted Debt Monetization and the Age of Eeeeasy Money on steemit's Project HOPE last month, the same one I posted on hive yesterday.

Thank you @crypto.piotr.

Very entertaining article. I think we should focus much more on net worth instead of income/spending. Investing, especially on the long run is very important.

And, it will make is easier to afford a hover chair in the future :-)

Thank you @maxwellmarcusart.

Haha, that's true!

!shop
$trdo

Hi @fijimermaid

Good for you, I made a comparison of the economy of your country with respect to my country.
And I deduced that I am very, very below the middle class,
But I don't lose hope of being in the middle class one day.

Greetings from Venezuela.

Hi @lanzjoseg,

I think crypto is going to be a fantastic wealth generator over the next few decades. I am optimistic that it will project both you, I and every other HODL'er into the middle class and beyond!

Hello friend @fijimermaid

Excellent publication, the truth is that we should all think more about the future as far as the economy is concerned. Net worth is certainly more important. Thank you for sharing and I want you to know that you are welcome to our community @project.hope.

Hola me encanto tu publicación me encantaría aprender mas de las finanzas

This is a solid idea. I think this shift in focus is important.
Good read.

Thank you @shortsegments.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 60244.17
ETH 2333.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47