SEC - Season 5, Week 3: My favourite celebration of the yearsteemCreated with Sketch.

in Scouts y sus Amigos2 years ago (edited)

20221025_134450.jpg
Designed using Pixelab App.

Greetings everyone,

The Steemit Engagement Challenge Season 5 weeek 3 is here and this is my entry for the theme of this week's topic from this community.


INTRODUCTION

The world at large celebrates a lot of festivities, I celebrate some of them as well if not all, but for this contest, I will be writing about a social celebration of two families, it is none other than Marriage as that has been my favourite celebration this year. I drew considerable joy when the marriage ceremony of my college friend was held in July this year. Thus, it stands out as my favourite celebration this year.


TELL US, WHAT DOES IT CONSIST OF?

IMG-20220719-WA0009.jpg
Happy couple (My friend and her husband)

A marriage celebration in one activity that brings joy to all the Members of a family, friends, loved ones and well-wishers. Marriage is a gorgeous social celebration in our society. It is a medium for establishing new unions between two individuals and their families. Marriage consists of a lot of activities such as food, drinks, dressing up, and wonderful ornaments lined with colourful lights, belts, and other decorative items. Lots of gifts and not forgetting the bundles of joy that come with it.


WHAT IS THE MEANING OF THIS CELEBRATION FOR YOU?

By definition, marriage is “the legal union of a man and a woman as husband and wife” Slideplayer.

When I think of marriage, the main aspect that comes to sense is having a continual relationship. Marriage is an allegiance of two people to come together and unite each other's family, bonded in holy matrimony. With the sole aim of raising a family together, and dedicating their life to each other to continue the circle of life. Our instinct to live and produce children and have those children demonstrate good morals is what I understand by the meaning of marriage.

Marriage is likened to a huge portrait where you brush your moments in colours and create your personal love story.


HOW LONG HAVE YOU BEEN CELEBRATING IT?

Marriage is celebrated in a few minutes, but usually takes a lot of planning which could last weeks, months or even years, but the celebration itself is a thing of one day. For some traditions, it could take weeks.

So, far marriages are being celebrated every year in all parts of the world according to their traditions and beliefs. It is indeed a joy giver as it's celebrated by everyone, every culture and every religion.


HOW DO YOU CELEBRATE?

Marriage celebrations are different for each culture, but here is how my favourite celebration this year was celebrated.

IMG-20220719-WA0006.jpg
The Wedding ceremony

First, the two families meet behind closed doors to determine and pay the dowry of the lady (my college mate and friend). It came with its celebration known as the knocking on the door, but that's between just the two families as it's done rather quietly. It is on this day, the date for the marriage celebrations was set.

There was extraordinary joy among us who saw the preparations for the wedding celebration, Decorations were made, and a memorial was prepared for the celebration decorated with flowers. The canopies were made of coloured cloth.

IMG_20220716_143441.jpg Beautiful Decorations
IMG_20220716_141938.jpg Beautiful Decorations

On the day of celebration, the families of the bride and groom, friends and well-wishers all gathered at the church for the wedding ceremony, thereafter proceeding to the family compound for the traditional rites.

After all the traditional rites, came the marriage feast. I must say the feast was very delicious as chefs were employed to prepare the dinner for the guests. Cold- drinks were ready and lots of fresh fruits were also served to the guests.

Then came the gift presentation, many guests had brought different gifts for my new family, We were not left out. After the presentation of gifts came the closure of the ceremony.


WITH WHOM DO YOU SHARE THE JOYS OF THIS CELEBRATION?

20221025_141350.gif
Myself and few other friends presenting our gifts

As I said earlier, it is a celebration among families and loved ones. I celebrated a friend of mine and I celebrated her with friends and her family members.


CONCLUSION

Marriage celebrations are indeed a well of great joy, as it brings everyone far and wide together to celebrate a new family in the making. So far this year, this ceremony has stood out as my favourite celebration.


All Images were shared from my Gallery

I like to invite @preye2, @ruthjoe and @starrchris, and any other persons who would like to participate too to CLICK HERE for more instructions.


thank-you-2490552_640.png

PHOTO DETAILS
Photographer@Sahmie
Camera DeviceRedmi note 11
CameraRear
Pixels50MP
CategoryLifestyle, Marriage
LocationOdi, Bayelsa. Nigeria

Thank you all for always making out time to go through my work, and I only hope you enjoyed it😉😁. I can never say thank you enough. You are my real MVPs.



ABOUT ME


NOTE: Always have a smile on your face, as you are never fully dressed without one.

20211015_222626.png

Sort:  

Thank you, friend!
I'm @steem.history, who is steem witness.
Thank you for witnessvoting for me.
image.png
please click it!
image.png
(Go to https://steemit.com/~witnesses and type fbslo at the bottom of the page)

The weight is reduced because of the lack of Voting Power. If you vote for me as a witness, you can get my little vote.

Hola @shmie los matrimonio son muy bonitos y las ceremonia uno la disfruta mucho. Que bueno que te sientes tan alegre por el matrimonio de tu amigo y compartir esa alegría a través de esta publicación para esta desafío.

Loading...

Marriage is a celebration which we al love. We love even if it is our wedding or someone else's wedding. There is blessing of everyone to the newly wedded couple. We can wish them for beautiful years ahead.

Very true.. I still live this marriage blessings as if it was mine. Thank you for your time.

Wow, marriages can be fun you know.

Good wishes to her new marital life.

Na so you sabi dance?
Awwn, you have tried

I am very surprised myself too as before this day, I have never been seen dancing in public, but since I was filled with joy, the need to express it took over me. Thank you for your kind words, do have a wonderful day.

The union in marriage is a reason to celebrate with great joy, because from there their lives will be united forever and then the children will come to bring joy to the family union.

Greetings and good luck in the contest.

Yes my friend. Your are very correct. The unity in marriage is not just about the two people on the podium, but their extended families as well.

Children always comes with bundles of joy. I tell you this as a fact cause I have my little newphew and niece around me as well.

Thank you for your kind words.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.028
BTC 60580.16
ETH 2342.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47