Contest: The lie

Hello friends

Sometimes the things we go through can put us in such a position where we have to either chose between lying or telling the truth

Have you ever had to lie, or have they lied to you and you knew it?
directory-1187122_1280.webpsource

Personally I do not like the habit of telling lies. I have always had the culture of been truthful at all times.

Guess what? I have been lied to many times and I have also seen myself lie, even when I didn't plan for it to happen.

A particular incident happened once where I was faced with a terrible situation that would lead to someone been punished for something he knows nothing about but because he was in that location where an item was lost, he was seen as a suspect.

He came crying to me about the accusations laid on him, I knew he was innocent. He has told them the truth several times but he wasn't believed.

I had to lie on his behalf just to save him from such scandal and arrest. I brought in for questioning and after telling the truth, I had to tell a lie to cover up more for him. Guess what? I was believed because I wasn't seen as a liar. He was freed!

Is it true that there are professions or trades in which it is necessary to lie and others in which it should never be done?
profession-6331441_1280.webpsource

For me I believe a lie is a lie, wether it was done for a good course or not, it's still a lie. But there is a general notion that there are professions that strive in lies. Examples of the ones I know includes; law and political systems.

Most people say it is necessary to lie sometimes in the professions I have listed above in other to gain more ground and win your opponents. Also we also notice over here in my country that those into hand work skills like carpenter, electrician, plumber, tailor are majorly seen as liars. They don't deliver their job when they are meant to and they take people for granted.

On the other hand, there are professions that I think lie should not be seen such as in the sector of medicine. Those who are medically inclined like Doctors, nurses, biochemist and so on should be truthful because thisa has to do with life.

Do you prefer to hear a lie instead of a truth that hurts you?
truth-2069837_1280.webpsource

I think I prefer to hear a truth that hurts me than a lie. Like I said before a lie is always a lie no matter why it was said.

Anytime any day I prefer to hear the truth, I may feel pain at that moment but the pain won't be forever. There is a difference between the pain one get when been lied to and the pain one get when told the truth. After you have been told a lie and you finally discovered that it was all a lie, the feeling is devastating.

Do you agree with those who say that the world would be a boring place if lies did not exist?

Absolutely not! I do not agree with those who make such sayings. Infact I think the world will be much better if everyone stick to telling the truth.

The culture of telling the truth should be encouraged in our society today. A better society is a society free from lies. Lies breeds so many things like fraud, wickedness, stealing and the rest.

I would like to say thank you @cruzamilcar63 for hosting this contest.

I would like to invite some friends to this contest @chilaw @jovita @hisgeneral

Sort:  
Loading...

Telling the truth is not exclusive to any particular profession and as a matter of fact, telling the truth or not both are equiprobable and depends on individuals. However, it is imperial to always tell the truth and keep dignity.
That was a lovely piece and thanks for the mention, best of luck!

Congratulations!

Your post has been upvoted by @steemladies.
The community where the Steemian ladies can be free to express themselves, be creative, learn from each other, and give support to their fellow lady Steemians.

Manually curated by patjewell for Steem For Ladies

Steem For Ladies

 last month 

Cuando tuvo que mentir lo hizo para resguardar la inocencia de alguien que no merecía el cuestionamiento en que se encontraba. Le creyeron porque usted tiene una reputación de honestidad. Esto creo que explica muy bien por qué la mentira no debe ser lo habitual entre nosotros. Confiaron en lo que usted dijo porque su costumbre es decir la verdad y sabe que eso no va a cambiar, simplemente tuvo que echar mano de una mentira porque lo creyó necesario, para hacer justicia, pero jamás se le ocurrirá convertir eso en un hábito. Muchas gracias por acudir a este concurso con sus excelentes opiniones. Saludos.

You are absolutely right!
Thank you so much for the support

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66794.56
ETH 3501.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71