*SEC-S17W2- "Homeless people in my country "

in Scouts y sus Amigos5 months ago (edited)

20240418_205535.jpg picture captured by me, edited on pixellap

When I was in my state, when I heard of Lagos city, I use to believe that it's a place to make money, to boost business, a lot of people have relocated from their home to Lagos and they returned with wealth. I was opportune to move to Lagos in search of greener pasture.

I have been in Lagos almost 4 years, I remember on my way coming, we stopped at a certain fly-over and it's was around 11pm. I didn't expect to see crowds at that time but case what? I saw a lot of people both men and women, even the children sleeping under the bridges, I ask one of the passenger, he Said some of them have been there for 5 years, oh my God, good 5 years, imagine!

IMG_20240418_081455_781.jpg me at the railway

Another life experience, there's a railways close our house, sometimes me and my friends will go there to have some fun, snapped picture and enjoy the views. Guess what, Almost thousand of people sleep in this railway at night. why? don't worry I will share the full story, ensure to follow up to the end.

My little introduction: my name is @mhizta from Nigeria, I welcome you all to my blog and i will use this opportunity to invite @kidi40, @bossj23, @missyleo to participate in this engagement challenge.

From my intro you'll realize that the 2 example I gave was about homeless people, people who doesn't have a shelter, am going to share today homeless people in my country, what makes people to be on the street homeless and without family, how the government in my country reacts to this situation and what i can do to help the homeless people.

Meaning of homeless

Being homeless is a condition whereby you lack a stable, permanent, and adequate place to live. People who slept on the streets and in cars is considered as homeless. Let me surprised you, even someone who sleeps in the hotel is still homeless as far as it's not your stable and permanent place to live.

Are there homeless people in your country?

IMG_20240418_080744_413.jpg

Here in Nigeria, you may not likely to see homeless people in the village, from my introduction, i mention what i use to think Lagos are but after arriving what i see is different from what i used to believe. sometimes their family back in the village will be thinking the person is living a wealthy life, making money meanwhile they person doesn't have a place to rest his head.

For example, I went the this particular railway when I saw the contest about homeless people, I went to railway to show you how people are living in this place.
IMG_20240418_081054_354.jpg

IMG_20240418_081020_649.jpg

They cook here, sleep, some of them sell used items in order to earn a living here, I was so emotional seeing what they pass through being homeless.

IMG_20240418_081625_032.jpg

IMG_20240418_081621_866.jpg

Imagine how they use to cope in the rainy season 😞 This is what we called street life.

What do you think is the cause that leads these people to be on the street, homeless and without a family?
  • ♦️For survival, in my story, most of them had to leave the village in other to find survival here, I also came for the same reason. When things happen the way it's not supposed to be, it's can make someone to make a quick decision, looking for survival either to feed family or relatives or earn a living.

  • ♦️Some people came to with no Hope, they lives under bridge, some are lucky to be employed, early in the morning, they bath and left for work, during evening, they come back to the bridge. Gradually, they started saving Money, after sometimes, they have much to rent a bedroom or shared it with other, that's why it's possible to see 5 different men from different state living in the same room.

  • ♦️Some times loss of job: when they are not unable to pay the house rent, and they can't go back to the village because it will be a disgrace to them, they decided to live on the streets for survival. I heard a story of one woman who was telling my neighbor that no matter what happened she can never go to her village in bad condition because it's will be a disgrace to her and her family.😞

  • ♦️Here in Lagos, most of the people who got employed is through connection, which means, those who doesn't have a connection will find it difficult to get a work or job especially a guarantor. Sometimes it's can even get worser to the extent that they may like to back to their home and family but they can't avoid the transportation fare.

This are some of the reasons I know why people are living on the street here in Lagos.

Action taken by government toward homeless people

One thing is that though the government will not fold their hand and watch as they citizens are suffering, they will try as much as possible to help them, but the question is how many people benefit from the program? Sometimes we Claim government for everything meanwhile there's people people behind it.

What I know is that the government support the private sector with finance or fund. I know about 2 shelter in Nigeria that offer a home for homeless people. They are The Divine Cares Homeless Shelter in Lagos and The Father's House Shelters in Abuja.

The Devine cares homeless shelter offer temporary housing and meals to homeless people in Lagos, Nigeria, they do well in giving food, clothing, and medical care to the homeless people. through this shelter they have been able to help homeless people get back on their feet as well as giving the resources needed to secure a jobs and permanent housing.

The father's House shelter too also okay the same role,it located at abuja was founded by Pastor name Racheal Opurum to provide support homeless people. They do well in providing housing, meals, and vocational training to homeless people to help them develop skills and find jobs. But the question is question is how many people benefited from this shelter?

My proposal to homeless people

In a way, I can contribute in helping homeless people in different ways, the easiest one is by funding the homeless shelters. If everyone including the government could provide more financial support to shelters like Divine Cares and Father's House, it will help them to expand their services and provide more long-term support to residents.

Provision of easy access to mental health services so that they can get the support they need to recover and rebuild their lives. It's will also be if we can help in developing affordable housing, houses with cheap house rent so that they can be able afford it.

Another proposal is that most this homeless people lack the skills and experience to find stable employment so we need to organize job training and placement programs to help them find work and become self-sufficient.

Encouraging local communities to get involved in the fight against homelessness could help provide more support to homeless.

Apart from the government, we should also involve the community people to create awareness about homelessness and this can be done by organizing volunteers event and donating to policies that support homeless people.

Most importantly, we need to address those things that causes homelessness like poverty, mental illness, drug addiction, and domestic violence so that they fall victims into this.

Inclusion, with the help of government, our me and you support, we can be able to help homeless people.

Cc:@hive-181136

All the pictures was captured on my phone

25% to null

Best regards;@mhizta

Sort:  
Loading...

Upvoted. Thank You for sending some of your rewards to @null. It will make Steem stronger.

Nice post bro, you have highly improved in post creation and am very impressed about this bro. I enjoyed reading your post mainly because of the true life pictures you uploaded.

Homeless people really suffer and I hope everything gets better for them soon. I wish you good luck in this engagement challenge.

awwwn, thank you bro, am happy you find it interesting. I was just writting base on what I have seen.

Indeed you have given Well detailed explanation about this amazing topic and sincerely speaking I really learn a lot.

One thing is that though the government will not fold their hand and watch as they citizens are suffering, they will try as much as possible to help them

Looking at this aspect you emphasis on Government can never watch the homeless die of hunger rather the stand to provide food and other necessary basic need. I really love you post, well organized, good elaboration in this each of the sub heading topic and we'll detailed explanation. Wishing you all the best friend ✍🏼

Am just smiling reading yiyr comment, ao this is how the feeling when someone create something special? the contest was based on homeless and i tried to put it in real life scenario. Thanks fir the compliment bro.

Posted using SteemPro Mobile

Muchas veces no se toma en cuenta que una persona que vive en la calle no lo hace por placer. Me impresiona como hay una gran cantidad de personas que viven en las vías del tren.

Muchas veces hacemos caso las historias que nos cuentas de otros lugares, Que la vida en mas fácil y placentera, que se logra surgir económicamente fácil y rápido, entre otrs cosas.

Las personas hacen el sacrificio en pro de conseguir una mejora para sus vidas y los suyos y resulta que las historias no estaban basadas en hechos reales.

Alli la primera sorpresa y el coque psicológico que enfrentan quienes hacen esta aventura.

El orgullo juega un papel muy importante. Es increíble que nadie quiera dar su brazo a torcer y prefieran estar viviendo en la calle que regresar a su lugar natal y sentir vergüenza por no haber triunfado y hacer que sus familias sienta lo mismo.

Cuanta razón tiene es plasmar que la solución no gira solo en proporcionar alimentos o lugar de vivienda. Hay que capacitar a quienes pasan por esta situación para que logren surgir de manera individual y con ello conseguir un mejor modo de vida.

Espero que la aventura que experimentas en una ciudad lejos de tu hogar natal tenga un buen desarrollo y tenga un final feliz.

Te deseo lo mejor.

Hasta la próxima...

Am so much grateful for this valuable comment, some people have the personal reasons of being in a street, but with whatever reason, human were not meant to be in a street but to have a dwelling place called home.
I really appreciate your comment
thanks.

This post has been promoted on X👇
https://x.com/Mhiztachosen/status/1781067098577424641

Greetings @mhizta you have really done justice to this topic. You have explained in detail what homeless people are and how to stop it. I love reading your quality post keep it up

thank you @hayleydemi, I was so emotional seeing how people are suffering in that kind of people, I can't even imagine how they do it rainy season.

You wrote so well about the happenings in the society especially that of Lagos, though I've never been to Lagos before, but I've heard countless stories about people leaving the comfort of their homes from different state to Lagos and be sleeping under the bridge, just for the purpose of looking for a greener pasture. Life is not easy with a lot out there, it's also funny to know that even some people that are in the hotel are also homeless at some point. I wish you success in your post.

it's seem my writing on Lagos society and struggles resonates with you, thank you for reading.

Thants good, you're free now😂

TEAM 1

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted through steemcurator04. We support quality posts, good comments anywhere, and any tags.
Curated by : @sohanurrahman



Greeting my friend,

I am glad to see your participation your post highlights the challenges and complexities of homelessness and reasons why people become homeless, keep supporting and helping them. Good luck.

Regards,
Sitaraindaryas

thank you @sitaraindaryas for valuable comment on my post.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56278.39
ETH 2377.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29