My Scout Story. Steemit Participation Challenge, Week 1 by @goodybest

in Scouts y sus Amigos2 years ago (edited)


Polish_20220609_225620803.png
picture created with Canva app



Each time I think about scout what normally comes into my mind is a group of young boys being grouped together with the purpose of instilling good morales on them, teaching them how to become good and responsible citizens, ones who render services to humanity.

I could remember when I was young how I used to run out to watch this group of young boys when they were out, I can still recalled how they used to be well coordinated, singing and marching, these young boys were trained on creativity and skills, hand crafts and self-care. They used to be very neat.



They were trained to develop individuality, to become explorers, daring and initiative. Scout really stimulate the boys to unveiled their Natural talents and gifts thus helping them to become all round handy men. Guess what? I always wish I was a boy then so I could join this noble club.



MY EXPERIENCE WITH SCOUTING:


Screenshot_20220609-070632.png
credit @fjjrg

After I graduated from higher institution, I had the opportunity to experience what scouting is about there is a law in my country Nigeria that all graduates must save our country for one year. The program is referred to as National Youth Service Corps(NYSC). The purpose of this program is to Foster national unity and cohesion the program was created since 22 May 1973 with a view to encourage youths of Nigeria to develop common ties.

On January 2017 I received a call-up letter to save my country I was posted to serve here in my state Akwa Ibom, this was possible because my husband is staying here apart from this Corp members are normally posted to a state different from their state of origin and the one they were schooling at, The reason is they're Expected to widen out.



There's an orientation period which is 3 weeks, we spent this three weeks in a military controlled camp. 21 days away from family and friends.


IMG_20220609_100311_561.jpg
Akwa Ibom State NYSC orientation Camp

On 24 January 2017 I packed my travelling bag, white shorts and polos, white socks and white Boots, flipflops too, toleteries, beverages and snacks, mosquito net, waist pouch and torch 🔦I jumped inside the car and hubby drove me down to the camp. There was vast majority of security officials in the camp, At the gate I was thoroughly searched, my bag was ransacked, they wanted to be sure that nobody comes in with any harmful objects or drugs. I met with other thousands of youth, we were 3,000 in number.

After documentation, I was given gears and hostel, I was terrified when I saw my hostel with over 20bonks in one room and 40bedspaces, I was like Goodnews how are you going to survive here Haha 😂 I changed to my kits.

IMG_20220609_095908_271.jpg
Akwa Ibom State NYSC orientation Camp



ACTIVITIES IN CAMP:

I would have loved to write about this in detailed but I'll get too wordy. So let me just hint you.

We used to wake up as early as 3:15am in the morning so as to prepare in advance for 4:30am parade. Every morning normally stared with clarion call from soldiers. A trumpet 🎺 like instrument used to indicate a call for routine activities. After that we moved to parade ground where a particular platoon will lead morning devotion then the camp director will remind us of the dos and don't of camp.

Next was the Man o war drills, one of my favorites, we used to jogged around camp premises and singing some vulgar and ridiculous songs like "if corper marry corper Dem go born mumu, if corper marry soldier them go born fine pikin" haha 😂 this song means that if a corper get married to follow a corper the will put birth to a nonentity but if a corper marry soldier they'll put birth to beautiful handsome baby.



IMG_20220609_095803_12.jpg
Akwa Ibom State NYSC orientation Camp


Others are:
"Jeje jeje we dey go oooo…. Jeje we dey go ooo jeje"

"Carry one leg up, carry one leg down, if you want to suffer woman carry one leg up"

"Morale! High! Morale! High!"

"Eee eee, eee eee, yawa go dey… eee eee eee eee yawa go dey, if alawee no dey yawa go dey, if alawee no dey yawa go dey!!!"
This has really spiced up camp experience and life.

After man o war drills, was sanitation, we either did it generally or platoon by platoon, then breakfast time, after breakfast we rested for an hour then lectures will begin from 9 am to 2pm, during this time we were trained on different skills we like. I learnt how to make beads., This lectures used to be interesting and can change ones life for good. Though it can be boring sometimes and people used to sleep.



Parade:

IMG_20220609_095816_400.jpg
Akwa Ibom State NYSC orientation Camp


Used to be one of the fun time in the camp you will see those who doesn't know their right from left, everything will be off Haha 😂 people who doesn't synchronized with others, and those who will March even after the parade.

SOCIAL ACTIVITIES:

Some interesting social activities in the camp includes:

  1. Mr Macho, Miss NYSC

  2. Mr and Miss Ankara

  3. Carnival Day

  4. Drama Night

LIGHTS OUT:
At the end of all events by 10:00pm light literally went off, there be camp fire 🔥 where corpers can gather round before we all retired for the day, sleeping for the next day.



CONCLUSIONS:

My NYSC camp life is one of the experience that will remain evergreen! It was so fun and educative, we formed new friendships during this period, we learned hand crafts and selfreliance during this period, and most importantly we learnt service to humanity! Thanks for this contest, I would like my friends @ubongudofot, @simonnwigwe and @ngoenyi to share their camp experience with us here.

ABOUT ME

Polish_20211019_085851521.png

Sort:  
Loading...
 2 years ago 

I am so glad that in the end you got to experience some sort of Scouting.
It is so enriching and rewarding! Humanity! That is the great word you have used.

Thank you for sharing this part of your life with us!

As always thanks for your great comment, you know I can't heart you less 💕!

I can see that you had a great moments with your NYSC campfire .
This are momorable moment in life that we need to paticipate so as to live and feel those moments .
It was nice reading through your entry

You're absolutely right dear! Don't worry you will definitely get to experience it. Thanks for visiting my blog, I appreciate your wonderful commendations!

You are highly welcome dear and I am waiting to Experience those Wonderful moment

Hello @goodybest.
Reading through your story, I got to know you are even a married woman. Me that gave been writing proposal letter on behalf of my brother for you 😂.

Youth service can be compared to scouting. It is a very different experience from what life use to be. I enjoyed it during my time too. The state you hail from is one of the best state to serve and I am sure you enjoyed camping and serving as a whole.

Me that gave been writing proposal letter on behalf of my brother for you 😂

You really got my nerves wracking 😂😂😂

The state you hail from is one of the best state to serve and I am sure you enjoyed camping and serving as a whole.

Yes I enjoyed every bit of camping and serving as a whole.

thank you so much for visiting my blog! I really appreciate your wonderful commendations thanks 🙏

Very long orientation.

You must have wanted to go home at first. But at the end of the day, if you can, don't come home again.

Exactly my friend! At first I was thinking I couldn't cope, but at the end we missed every bit of it. Thanks for reading my post and engaging, I appreciate 💕

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 65845.60
ETH 3304.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69