Scout Nature. Steemit participation challenge, week 3 by @ebuahsang1


IMG_20220620_115533_442.jpg

Hello steemains good morning or whatever time you are reading this post. We are in the 3rd week of the Steemit Engagement challenge season 2 and today this amazing community in it's effort to promote nature and protect the environment has launched yet an amazing contest. Luckily for me the contest falls with a day I had a plan to plant some bitter leaf around the farm beside my house. So in this post I will take you through the various steps of it.

PLANTING BITTER LEAF

Bitter leaf is a very common plant in Africa. We use it to prepare one of our most beautiful African delicacies like Ndole, Bitter leaf soup, Nang tare(cocoyam) etc. It has a very bitter taste as the name says but it can be washed to reduced it's bitterness. It also has numerous benefits like protect against prostate cancer, increases fertility, relieve insomnia, stomach ache and fever. So you see, it does not only increase nature, it is good for us.

PLANTING PROCESS

In the next steps I will illustrate how I planted this bitter leaf in a farm just beside my house.

  • Step 1.

The first thing to do is to get a seed to plant. Luckily, the bitter leaf plant is not so complicated to get a seed. You can look around for any bitter leaf and cut the stems. Which is exactly what I did to have the seeds I have in the picture below.


IMG_20220620_103546_337.jpg

  • Step 2.

The next I had to look for a place to put my plant. So decided to plant beside the road at the edge of the farm. So I dug a hole. The hole is not supposed to be very deep, just enough to hold the plant.


IMG_20220620_111928_172.jpg

  • Step 3.

After digging I had to place the plant inside and covered the hole with the soil that was removed during digging. As you can see, the soil is holding the plant.


IMG_20220620_111932_579.jpg


IMG_20220620_111949_646.jpg


IMG_20220620_103849_457.jpg

  • Step 4.

The lady step required me to write my username on a piece of paper and snap by the plant and I did that as you can see.

IMG_20220620_115418_334.jpg

IMG_20220620_115533_442.jpg

The beautiful thing about the bitter leaf is that you can use it for as long as 5 years. You cut just the leafs and use to prepare what ever food you want and it keeps growing. Below are pictures of the bitter leaf when it is grown and ready to be used. Bitter leaf doesn't really need any other work for it to flourish, it's a good plant and grows very well in Africa.


d34fa0407b6ed2f77804ba8f72a79480.jpg

Source"

Below are images of the various food that can be cooked from bitter leaf and if you are from Cameroon or Nigeria you know what I mean especially us the Anglophones.


Cameroonian-Ndole-recipe.jpg

Source"


maxresdefault.jpg

Source"

CONCLUSION

As you can see from the explanation and image above and in my effort to conserve and protect the planet Earth, I decided to plant a bitter leaf. One of best thing about it is that it doesn't require much care for it to grow.

I do thank the Moderators of this community for such a beautiful contest. I have gotten to do this activity and I will definitely be enjoying from it on future.

Thank you for reading and I hope I didn't bore you that much.

I invite my friends @dholy1, @chiabertrand and @majerius to participate in this contest.

Sort:  
Loading...

Planting of tree help in protecting and preserving our environment, you've done a good job planting bitter leaf, it is a great leaf with many health benefit. Thank you for sharing.

Yes, bitter leaf is very medicinal and me too I love Ndole.
Thank you for reading through my post

Woow this is great brother, you have given us step by step process in how we can carry out bitterleaf planting and agree with you because I use to go to my grandma's farm in the village and plant so many food crops including bitterleaf.

Bitterly is also one of my most favorite vegetable meals that I like mostly because of how it can be transformed and cooked in different ways. I also learned it's highly medicinal to man

That Ndole and ripe plantains just causes trouble in my stomach right now. It's so so delicious 😋

Nice write up dear. I have learnt some few tips from your post, the ndole looks delicious and I would want to plant my own bitterleaf just to cook such delicious ndole and plantain.
Thanks for this write up.

 2 years ago 

This is the 2nd post I’m reading about bitterleaf 😊
I’m learning with each one.
I read up earlier today that you can make juice of the leaves. Very interesting 🧐
Thank you for sharing!

Yes. I just noticed Samuel wrote about bitter leaf. It's a beautiful plant. Thank you for reading and I hope you enjoyed it.

 2 years ago 

Indeed I did! (•ิ‿•ิ)

I use to be curious as to what and how a bitter leaf is to be planted, wow, you just loose my boils, very informative on how the planting is to be done, and the bitter leaf is a very useful leaf, in most cases i often squeeze it with scent leaf, i drink the extract and it frees me from back ache

Yeah it is quite simple and easy to following I'm happy I contributed to your learning process of how it is planted.
Thank you for reading and commenting.

You are welcome, thanks for sharing your knowledge

Bitter leaf are awesome trees, because they are used for cooking bitter leaf soup. Almost every Igbo household make sure the plants this tree in their house because it makes the preparation of butter leaf soup cheaper and safer for the family

Thanks for sharing such awesome work

Wishing you success

Hoja amarga, primera vez que escucho está planta, es increíble la cantidad de beneficios que nos brinda y muy útil en la cocina.
Gracias a la planta que acabas de sembrar le estás dando un poco más de oxígeno al planeta. Éxitos

Thank you for reading and taking the time to comment.

Good to bump into your post @ebuahsang1 planting trees and other plants is an eco-friendly activity which should be practiced by all and sundry.I appreciate your effort to help protect and preserve the environment.

All the Best!!!

Thank you for the kind comments. And for reading through my post. Yeah it is important that we plant alot of trees.

I appreciate your response.It is good to know that you understands the importance of planting and you are also practicing it.I hope many more people will embrace planting.

 2 years ago (edited)

Hello friend, I would like to have the opportunity to cook sometime with this plant, it is a plant that takes care of itself practically and lasts quite a long time that seems great to me, nature is very wise.

I am glad that you share this process with us through this contest, I wish you the best of success and that this plant continues to be so fruitful and kind in your lands.

Remember to comment on the rest of the participations.

Purple Blue Creative Indie Music Festival Canvas Banner (4).gif

Yes, bitter leaf is quite easy to grow. I hope you the get the opportunity to enjoy this one day.
Thank you for your comment and I will do just that

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60231.53
ETH 2321.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51