SEC-S10W6 | Teach me to do something with my hands .steemCreated with Sketch.

in Scouts y sus Amigoslast year (edited)

Hello fellow scouts and friends. It is the last week of the season 10 engagement challenge. Today, I am opportune to share with you all my entries to the challenge titled “Teach me how to do something with hands”.

IMG_9488.jpeg
My image designed on Canva.

We all have different unique skills in life and we used them in different ways. One of those skills I know I'm good at is cooking. I learned this from my mom and I can say today, I can cook almost all traditional delicacies in Cameroon. Permit me to share a tutorial on one of our traditional desserts.

This traditional dessert is mostly consumed in the villages and also in towns but in the village it tastes so well after eating a sumptuous meal. It is called pounded Irish with beans (Has different traditional names which I cannot give a correct spelling). I hope you will find pleasure to follow the tutorial.

Ingredients Required.


1   Irish potato.
2   Beans
3   Palm oil
4   Country Onion (rondelle)
5   Salt 
6   Seasoning cubes 
7   Onion (optional)
8   Hot chilli (optional).

With regards to the quantity of ingredients to use, it depends on the number of persons you intended to serve with the traditional dessert. For me, I am preparing for 5 people. This will cost about 3000frs ( approximately 27 steem at the current market rates).

Cooking Process and Estimated Time.


IMG_9480.jpegSelected beans ready to boil

Step 1: You have to select your beans to ensure that bad beans and dirt are not inside when you want to prepare them. After selecting, you washed the beans and boiled them. The cooking time depends on the fire you are using. In the village, it takes a longer time of about 2 hours to boil the beans as they used the local fireside. With a pressure pot, it takes about 45 minutes. On the gas cooker, it takes about 1:30 minutes for the beans to get ready.

IMG_9482.jpegPeeled and washed organic potatoes.

Step 2: Peeled your Irish potatoes (organic because it has little water). Washed the peeled potatoes with clean water.

IMG_9483.jpegAll ingredients put together to boil except palm oil that will be added later.

Step 3: Put the washed potatoes, and boiled beans, add salt, the seasoning cube to taste, and hot chilli if you like, add 1/2 cub of water as the salt will also extract water from the potatoes, and I also like adding sliced unions. Boiled for about 30 minutes until the water is about to get dried off.

IMG_9484.jpegPalm oil

Add palm oil and rondelle, and allow the pot at low heat until the water dries off.

IMG_9487.jpegPounding process with pestle

Step 4: Removed the pot from the cooker and placed it on the floor. Use the local pestle to pound until have a smooth texture.

Step 5:The traditional dessert is ready and can be served with some chilled natural juice.

IMG_9485.jpeg
Served with chilled natural pineapple juice.

As I earlier said, this dessert is mostly prepared in our village after eating a traditional delicacy like “achu and yellow soup”, you are served with this dessert.

It's the weekend and a good time to prepare such desserts. I am inviting @saxopedia, @majerius, @josepha, @paholags and @m-fdo to share their entries to this challenge if they have not yet participated.

Sort:  

Wow, melihat sajian anda, membuat saya lapar tiba-tiba. Memasak atau menguasai setiap masakan sangat sulit. Menguasai resep makanan tertentu dengan racikan khas orisinil tentu lebih sulit. Seperti halnya di tempat saya, walaupun makanan dikota sama dengan di desa, namun saat mencicipi keduanya kita akan mengetahui kelebihan dan kekurangannya. Bagi saya, racikan makanan di daerah atau desa jauh lebih semourna. Terutama dalam tekstur bahan dan bumbunya yang masih orisinil dan alamiah. Sajian anda cukup membuat saya tak tahan lagi untuk segera sarapan 😀😀😀 terimakasih kawan, senang membaca artikel anda. Semoga sukses dalam kontesnya. Salam

I wish you were here to have a taste of the traditional desert. I can eat this daily without complaining. Thank you for the support dear friend.✌️✌️

With great emotion we notify you that this comment has been curated by @radjasalman, member of team #2. Your content is amazing, keep working hard to opt for the weekly top.

Voting date: 20/07/2023

image.png

 last year 

Hola,me encanta conocer sobre otras culturas,interesante el platillo a base de frijoles,lleva picante así que debe ser delicioso 😋

Me gustan los frijoles,siempre los preparo en la semana con verduras y carne de pollo o cochino,son platos nutritivos y que dejan satisfechos a los comensales,que vivan los frijoles😃👍

 last year 

Thank you so much for inviting me. My entry will be posted shortly. Traditional desserts are what I want to learn how to prepare, which I have learned just from your post. Best of luck to you.

😆😆😆Traditional desserts are mouth-watering. Thank you for accepting the challenge invite.✌️

Loading...

Dear friend:

The dessert you have made looks very good to me and most importantly we can use it with juice etc. So I love your recipe and I will be making this dessert myself very soon.

Success in the contest

Thank you, friend!
I'm @steem.history, who is steem witness.
Thank you for witnessvoting for me.
image.png
please click it!
image.png
(Go to https://steemit.com/~witnesses and type fbslo at the bottom of the page)

The weight is reduced because of the lack of Voting Power. If you vote for me as a witness, you can get my little vote.

Makanan penutup ini terlihat sangat enak. Saya selalu suka untuk setiap makanan yang terbuat dari kentang.. Anda telah berbagi resep yang sangat menarik
Terimakasih dan semoga sukses dalam kontes ini sobat 😊

Wow .. it's interesting to know that pounded Irish with beans tastes good. I've never seen this type of beans before or could It be Cameroonian beans? A great cook tries new things and brings out the good In that thing. Your ingredients and steps are just on point and your dessert was best served with a juice. I'll try this with our own beans using this method. Thanks for sharing. I also participated
https://steemit.com/hive-181136/@bossj23/teach-me-how-to-do-something-with-my-hands

 last year 

Saludos amiga.

Es muy grato poder conocer un poco de la costumbre de su país y su gastronomía, es muy interesante el postre que nos presenta hoy
Por su explicación es algo que requiere de un poco de paciencia y fuerza a la hora de usar el mortero local para machacar hasta obtenerlo un textura suave para su postre.

La combinación con jugo natural debe ser deliciosa.
Gracias por compartir, éxitos y buena suerte en el concurso.

This dessert looks yummy. It is similar to a particular delicious delicacy in Nigeria called Onunu but the difference is that Onunu is prepared using ripped plantain instead of potatoes and it is usually served with native stew made with fresh fish and tomatoes.

Thank you for teaching us how to make your traditional dessert.
Success!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62639.70
ETH 2439.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64