Parade of colours in our meals //White week // Milk rice

in Steemit Iron Cheflast year (edited)

Hello,@mvchacin, I am @senehasa from Sri Lanka. This is my first post in the community of the Steem Iron Chef. This week, you chose the color white, which is frequently associated with thoughts of simplicity, purity, and cleanliness. As we can chose any kind of food, drink, dessert, fruit, vegetable or anything, I decided to choose Milk Rice.


Designed by canva

image.png

Milk Rice, our traditional dish, known as Kiribath in Sinhala, is prepared for significant occasions like weddings, birthdays, anniversaries, and opening ceremonies. For the celebration of the new year on January 1, milk rice is a necessary dish. In addition, Milk Rice, which is served at our Sinhala & Tamil New Year event on April 14th, takes center stage.

This Kiribath dish was a favorite of mine both as a child and an adult. We consume milk rice with banana and katta sambal. My family and many other families in Sri Lanka have a custom of making milk rice for special occasions. I can recall, for each of our birthdays and their wedding anniversaries, my mother used to make this milk rice. A custom that my mother practiced for years and that I now follow in my home.

Making Kiribath (Milk Rice) at home is really simple. We need only two ingredients, that is rice and coconut milk. Always use rice that absorbs moisture and becomes mushy. "Kakulu Rice" is what we traditionally use to make milk rice. However, Kakulu Rice can be substituted with basmati or any other rice which goes mushy when cooked.

Rice is cooked until it is mushy, then coconut milk is added and thoroughly combined. Take a banana leaf and place the hot kiribath on it after a short while. As soon as we place it on the banana leaf, immediately cut it into squares or other desired shapes, and then let it cool. As it cools, it will get hard.

image.png

Hello everyone, this is my entry for the contest that is white in color. Please leave a remark if you feel it and cast your vote. I would like to invite @hasina78, @dove11, and @abril2204 to take part in this contest.

Thank you for reading my post.

Sort:  

Thank you, friend!
I'm @steem.history, who is steem witness.
Thank you for witnessvoting for me.
image.png
please click it!
image.png
(Go to https://steemit.com/~witnesses and type fbslo at the bottom of the page)

The weight is reduced because of the lack of Voting Power. If you vote for me as a witness, you can get my little vote.

 last year 

Thank you for inviting me. All the best.

 last year (edited)

This is such a nice recipe that probably is not easy to make but easy to digest so I would love to eat it as soon as someone knows how to cool it. I am a useless cook besides my wife is so fussy who never lets me enter HER kitchen 😑She thinks that I will mismanage the things so keeps me away. I have just started a contest of my own!

Jokes apart, this recipe sounds cool while eating it hot, my best wishes.

Your wife is right; when they enter the kitchen, they spend more time talking than working, which causes our work to be delayed.
Milk rice will break into bits when eaten while still hot, but after a short while, it will harden. It is advised that you wait a little while before utilizing it because of this.
"!uvf_info"

UVF Info.
Sponsor Balance:0
Sponsored Balance:10.000000
UVF Total:10.000000
Next upvote Balance:0.011988

 last year 

O o o, I thought it would taste like KHEER which I eat hot and cold both without cutting in any shapes. I hope you know what is KHEER which we definitely make every week or so. Is it something like Upma?

No, I have no idea about KHEER, I will go through the internet and see what type of food is Kheer.
"!uvf_info"

UVF Info.
Sponsor Balance:0
Sponsored Balance:10.000000
UVF Total:10.000000
Next upvote Balance:0.013045

Loading...
 last year 

Regards Chef @senehasa!!

Thank you for being part of the community, we hope to continue enjoying your delicacies and eventualities in your meals.

We invite you to follow the social networks for Steem and Steemit:

@steemesp |@steemeng|@steem.ind

Greetings.

Thank you for your support.
"!uvf_info"

UVF Info.
Sponsor Balance:0
Sponsored Balance:10.000000
UVF Total:10.000000
Next upvote Balance:0.013045

 last year 

Que bueno que celebran el primer día del año con arroz con leche es una buena opción. Éxitos

Thank you so much for stopping by the post and for your lovely comment.
"!uvf_info"

UVF Info.
Sponsor Balance:0
Sponsored Balance:10.000000
UVF Total:10.000000
Next upvote Balance:0.013045

 last year 

Bendiciones muy buena elección el arroz con leche es un dulce demasiado esquisito y práctico.
Saludos

Thanks for visiting my blog.
"!uvf_info"

UVF Info.
Sponsor Balance:0
Sponsored Balance:10.000000
UVF Total:10.000000
Next upvote Balance:0.015834

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68401.35
ETH 3900.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63