Traditional Andhra Style Pulusu Uppindi(Upma) Recipe : Step By Step Process Through Video

Namaste 🙏 🙏 to all of you. My name is Lavanya, and I am a housewife from India.

Today I come to you with another traditional recipe. This dish is not that popular, but in some areas in Andhra and Tamil Nadu, we prepare this dish.


20221009_170843_0000.png

Prepare Using Canva

This dish is made with tamarind, green and red chillies, and onions with rice. The preparation of this dish is quite simple but takes some time to prepare, but the taste is unbeatable.

It looks similar to puliyogara, but the taste is very unique. I can't put it into words; you just have to try it and enjoy it. to enjoy its taste.


Now I'll give details about the needed ingredients.


Ingredients

  • Rice: 200 grammes

  • Tamarind: 60 grammes

  • Onion: 4

  • Green Chillies: 4

  • Red chillies: 2

  • Curry leaves: 5

  • Turmeric powder: 1/2 teaspoon

  • oil: 1/2 cup

  • Mustard seeds: 1/2 teaspoon

  • Urad dal: 1/2 teaspoon

  • Chenna dal: 1/2 teaspoon

  • Jaggery: 1 teaspoon

  • Salt: As required

No need for many ingredients for preparation; just regular is enough.

A small Video Presentation Using Images I prepare.Hope All Of You Enjoyed It

Now I Share it's preparation process through step by step photos.


Preparation Process

  • For this first soak of tamarind at least 15 minutes before we start our recipe. Because here we need to extract its pulp by using water. We can easily extract from soaking.


20221009_083524.jpg

  • Now chop onions and green chillies, similar to the image below.


20221009_083450.jpg

  • Now heat a pan and dry roast the rice on a medium flame for up to 5 to 7 minutes.
    After that, transfer it to a plate.


20221009_083440.jpg

Now take one bowl or pan that has a thin bottom. Heat it by adding the required oil.

The taste of this dish depends on the quantity of oil we use. So, for this dish, prepare it with 6 to 7 spoons of oil.

  • After getting heated, add mustard seeds, Channa dal, Urad dal, and 2 broken red chillies too. Fry all those until they turn a golden colour.


20221009_083559.jpg

  • Now add chopped onions, green chillies and curry leaves. Mix well and fry for up to 6 minutes by adding turmeric powder.


20221009_083658.jpg

  • Now we need to add tamarind pulp water to it. Here I am giving a measurement. You must follow it to get an excellent structure with aromatics.

Here we need to use 3 and a half cups of pulp water for 1 cup of rice. This means 3 1/2 to 1 cup of rice.


20221009_083931.jpg

Based on my needs here, I am adding pulp water to this bowel.

  • Now add the required salt and jaggery to it. I'm using crystal salt here, which I add with my hands based on my needs. Then I measured correctly. It's my way of cooking.


iMarkup_20221009_171303.jpg

  • Now by closing the lid, just leave it until it gets bubbles.


20221009_084822.jpg

  • After getting bubbles now, add our dry fried rice here. Mix well. If there's any need, just add it.


20221009_085005.jpg

Now keep the flame low and by closing the lid, just cook until all the water has evaporated.

  • Now here you see water extracted completely, now mix gently.


20221009_090958.jpg

  • keep for another 5 more minutes.


20221009_091031.jpg

  • Now our tasty and delicious Pulusu Uppindi(Upma) is ready to serve.


20221009_093138.jpg

In general, we serve it hot, but the taste of this dish is enhanced after a complete cool down only.

If you're getting bored with regular upmas, it's the best choice for you. All of you must try and enjoy it.

Thank you very much for spending your valuable time on my publication.

Sort:  

My Twitter share link

Screenshot_20221009-171852_Twitter.jpg

 2 years ago 
Greetings @lavanyalakshman!! It is an honor to have you here, with this incredible traditional recipe, your photographs look very attractive and the exquisite recipe we can imagine its powerful flavor, rice with tamarind and that touch of chili and curry, simply sensational.

Steemit Iron Chef 🍜 ✔️
VerificationStatus
#Steemexclusive✔️
Status Club#club75
Plagiarism Free✔️
Bot Free✔️

We invite you to continue making quality publications and support the publications of your colleagues!

Greetings

TEAM 5 CURATORS

This post has been upvoted through steemcurator08. We support quality posts anywhere and any tags.
Curated by : @frafiomatale

Thanks for support

 2 years ago 

Hola amiga excelente post la felicito hasta con videos grandioso, sinceramente no había visto una receta con tamarindo solo en bebida pero se ve estupendo me encantó tu paso a paso bien detallado y las fotografías realmente bellas, cada día aprendemos algo y este sin duda es una gran experiencia con el tamarindo y arroz muy saludable y nutritivo.

Te deseo mucha suerte y bendiciones

Thank you very much for stopping my post,Your words really giving good energy and encouraging to me.

Thanks dear.

I love pulusu so much my mom also cook it for me as my uncle lives in Andhra so, every year I and my family goes there. So, I love the South Indian dishes and also cook it in our home too.

I travelled Simhachlam, Prahalad Puram Gopala Patanam and Vishakhapatnam too.

Thats great. Still i am also not visit those places my friend. You are lucky.

Thanks for stopping my post.

 2 years ago 

Thank you for sharing this traditional recipe from your country, I have never tried this food, but your step by step shows us in a very complete way its preparation, the tamarind must give it a very special flavor. Blessings.

Yes dear😊,Its very delicious recipe. I know very few members sharing Suth Indian recipes here. I try my to share here.

 2 years ago 

Una gran receta y presentación de este menú, el video es complementario, gracias por compartir.

Thank you my friend.

WoW it was really teasty recipe,thanks for sharing..

Thank you my friend.

 2 years ago (edited)

Hello @lavanyalakshman!

We invite you to participate in the new Community Dynamics.

Greetings

 2 years ago 

Dear chef , your post has been added to the 11th Series of Unique and Amazing Recipes Collection

Keep sharing amazing recipes with us❤️

Thank you very much my friend.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57687.08
ETH 2333.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36