STEEMIT IRON CHEF 2021 ACT 1 ROUND 12 : Kanchkolar Kofta by @kingporos / 10% Payout to @steemit-ironchef

in Steemit Iron Chef3 years ago (edited)



Iron Chef

10% Payout to @steemit-ironchef


Namaste #IronChefs!,



Hope you all are doing well! I'm Nirmalya. I am from India, the land of spices. By profession, I'm a lawyer. I love food like every other person in the world. For the love of it I often cook. Today I made "Kanchkolar Kofta" or "Raw Banana Kofta".

Kofta is basically a round-shaped balls that contains ground vegetables or meats. It is mainly found in the Indian subcontinent, Middle Eastern, Balkan, and Central Asian cuisines.

Kachkolar Kofta is a vegetarian dish made of raw banana and potatoes mashed with various spices then deep-fried. The reciepe is in two parts. First making of the Kofta then the Gravy. So let's begin!

Ingredients

  • 4 Raw Banana (600gm)


Green Banana

  • 6 Potatoes (200gm)
  • 25gm ginger paste
  • 2 tsp cumin powder
  • 2 tsp turmeric
  • 2 tsp red chili powder
  • 1 tsp cumin
  • 2 tsp plain salt
  • 7gm garam masala
  • 1 tsp ghee (clarified butter)
  • 20gm flour
  • 2 bay leafs
  • 100ml mustard oil
  • 400ml water


Ingredients



Making of Kofta

  • (1) 4 raw bananas and 2 potatoes cut into pieces then washed them properly.


Bananas and potatoes


Washing

  • (2) Then put all of the vegetables in a pressure cooker. After 3 whistles I drained the water, let the bananas and potatoes cool off. After somtime I pealed off the skins.


Boiled Banana and potatoes

  • (3) I put boiled bananas and potatoes in a bowl then added 10gm ginger paste, 1 tsp cumin powder, 1 tsp turmeric, 1 tsp red chili powder, 1 tsp plain salt and mashed them well.


Mashing

  • (4) Added flour to binds everything together.


Flour added

  • (5) Mixture is ready.


Kofta Mixture

  • (6) Made multiple round-shaped balls.


Kofta Balls

  • (7) Put a pan on the induction oven left it in high heat. After 3 minutes added the oil.

  • (8) After 2 minutes I added the Koftas to the hot oil and put down the heat to medium. Fried until they are dark brown in colour .


Kofta Fry

  • (9) Kofta is ready!


Kofta

This brings us to the second part of the recipe.



The Gravy

  • (1) In leftover oil in the pan I added 2 bay leaves, 1 tsp cumin, and the rest 4 pre-cut potatoes then fry them for a bit.


Gravy Base

  • (2) Then added 1 tsp cumin powder, 1 tsp turmeric, 1 tsp red chili powder, 1 tsp plain salt mixed them well. Added water and closed the lid. Simmer on low heat until the gravy thickens. This took about 10 minutes.


Boiling

  • (3) I garnished with ghee and garam masala. Rest it covered for 2 minutes before serving.


Garnishing

Voila! Kanchkolar Kofta is ready!


Kanchkolar Kofta

Bon Appétit

My gratitude to @steemit-ironchef & @progressivechef! I hope you like it! Have a great day

Sort:  
 3 years ago 

Greetings of the day my friend! First of all...welcome to Steemit Iron Chef! It is such a pleasure to have you among us now! Your entry is just awesome and you definitely deserved the booming support that I nominated you for!
I hope to see more from you now on!
Ps. I am such a great fan of Indian Cuisine!
Best Regards!

Namaste @progressivechef I am a newbie at cooking! If I made some culinary mistake please do forgive me!

I hope that I can contribute to this community.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 63788.21
ETH 2472.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67