SEC-S14 /W6 : The Diary Game / A farewell to 2023 & Welcome to 2024"

in Steem For Pakistan4 months ago (edited)

Hello Everyone!
I hope you are doing well...

After a long road trip, I returned to my parents' home in Colombo on the 30th. We had a family gathering planned for the 31st night. Mom and I had so many things planned for the day. We wanted to welcome this year warmly as it is going to be a very special year for us.

WhatsApp Image 2024-01-02 at 12.25.16_90538d8a.jpg

US! welcoming the new year with a big smile

As usual, my mom woke up very early, and even though I felt I needed a little more sleep, I decided to help mom with the work we had planned for the day. We started gathering all the ingredients needed for today's menu. My mom never misses preparing Sri Lankan sweets on special occasions. The day before, she had prepared the filling for 'Mung Kavum' (a sweet made from roasted green gram flour), and I had to make a batter and deep-fry those sweets. Also, she made some "Kokis" batter for me to fry. (This is also a crispy cracker-type traditional sweet made of rice flour.)

WhatsApp Image 2024-01-02 at 12.23.56_354b91bc.jpg

Busy frying Kokis

Our little one loves to have "Kokis," so we served him first. It was great to experience the joy of welcoming the new year with the family. It was my parents' idea to gather everyone for New Year's Eve and enjoy these little moments. It was heartwarming to see how much effort they took to have these beautiful family moments.

After putting my baby down for his morning nap, we went to do some last-minute grocery shopping. We bought all the stuff needed and returned home to continue with our work.

I made a jelly custard pudding and some cutlets in the evening. Since I'm at home, I can manage all the work smoothly as my baby has his grandparents to play with. While taking care of the baby, Mom and I were able to complete all the food preparation for the dinner gathering. Finally, we made the mixed fried rice and the deviled chicken and deep-fried the fish cutlets.

When everyone in the family gathered, we served all appetizers and sweet items on the table. We enjoyed our food with the warmth of family moments. It was really a fun evening with the family after a while.

WhatsApp Image 2024-01-02 at 12.24.36_d2dd5d8d.jpg

Our table of treats.

Then we started watching the TV shows that were broadcast for the entertainment of people on the 31st night. While enjoying the TV shows, we relished our homemade feast of food. My tiredness slowly drifted when I happily celebrated the 31st night with my family. It was a great idea to come home to celebrate New Year's Eve. I'm sure more than anyone, our little Vihan enjoyed the time with the family eating his favorite sweets as he desired.

Untitled design (7).png

This is the dinner we had and for dessert, we had Jelly custard pudding.

Despite my tiredness after a long trip, I feel very grateful for the chance to welcome this special new year, sharing love and joy with my beautiful family. Therefore this is how we bid farewell to 2023 and welcome 2024. I wish all my friends on Steemit a very happy New Year, one that brings peace of mind, good health, prosperity, and love.


I invite @tharutharaka @senehasa and @roshani96 to take part in this contest.

Get to know about me moreAchievement - 1
Pictures captured fromIphone 8
Pictures edited byhttps://www.canva.com

Sort:  
 4 months ago 

What an epic celebration! I felt like I was part of the culinary adventure, frying up those sweets and making a delicious spread. Your little one enjoying those "Kokis" is adorable—got to start the new year with a treat, right?

And that table of treats? Oh boy, my mouth's watering! It's like a feast fit for royalty, especially that Jelly custard pudding—I'm still dreaming about it!

Watching TV shows with your family while devouring homemade goodness? That's the ideal way to wrap up the year! You truly made the best out of the 31st night. And hey, tiredness can't stand a chance against a night filled with family love and laughter.

Here's to more incredible family moments and epic food adventures in 2024! Wishing you a year loaded with joy, health, success, and more of those fantastic homemade delicacies. Happy New Year to you and your wonderful family! 🎉🍽️😄

Ohh I'm glad you enjoyed going through my post. Thank you so much for visiting and for your kind words!

 4 months ago 

TEAM 1

Congratulations! This comment has been upvoted through steemcurator04. We support quality posts , good comments anywhere and any tags.
Curated by : @shiftitamanna



 4 months ago 

Hello sir, you comment is totally nice and cool, it really deserve an upvote from steemcurator04. The woman really had alot of time with her family and am really proud of her for that. Her iphone 8 camera is very clear and nice.

 4 months ago 

TEAM 1

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted through steemcurator04. We support quality posts , good comments anywhere and any tags.
Curated by : @shiftitamanna



Thank you so much for the support dear @shiftitamanna 🌸

I can see you really have fun moment with your family. That's nice

Thank you so much for visiting 🌸

 4 months ago 

Hello friend greetings to you, hope you are doing well and good there.

You woke up early in the morning, you want to help your mom in house chores. That sound good. It's nice of you.You favourite entertainment show is 31st night. I really love the Kapil Sharma show, I am really dying if laughing whenever I watch that show.

I wish you very best of luck in this contest.

Hi Friend thank you so much for visiting and sharing your opinion on my post. Yes, it’s really fun to watch entertainment shows. 😊

Waw.. Makanan anda sangat menggugah selera. Yang saya suka puding strawberry yang anda buat, rasanya pasti segar, manis dan menyehatkan.Anda menghabiskan malam tahun baru dengan keluarga tercinta dengan penuh cinta dan mesra. Selamat tahun baru untuk anda semoga tahun ini anda dan keluarga selalu dilindungi dan selalu diberkahi.

Hi @rumaisha

Thank you so much for your kind words… I’m glad that you liked my strawberry 🍓 jelly custard pudding. It really tasted good than I thought.

Thank you so much for visiting 🌸

 4 months ago 

Salam dear ! I like your wonderful New Year celebration with family. Your efforts in preparing traditional sweets and dishes made the day special.I really like cooking for family in such special occasions .The family gathering and special dinner add more warmth to the occasion. Wishing you a happy new year

Yes indeed, it feels great to enjoy homemade delicacies with the family in the New Year’s Eve.
Thank you so much for taking time to visit my post 🌸

Loading...

Hum, you spent your 31st night very grand way with your family, especially your father and mother. Even though they married, their desire as parents is to spend time with their children. You had made that day very special by preparing our traditional sweets and cutlets with fried rice and other curries.
PS. Thank you very much for inviting me. I also wish you and your family a Happy New Year! May your home continue to be blessed with success and happiness!

Hi @senehasa

Thank you so much for visiting and leaving a beautiful comment on my post.

Many blessings to you and your family!

You are welcome dear.

 4 months ago 

Hello friend, happy new year to you, how are you doing? She really spent her last days in 2023 in a grand style and I really admire it. Yes parents always want to spend time with their children most especially when they are already married.

Thank you for responding my comment, have a nice day.

 4 months ago 

Yes ma, am glad you appreciate my reply on your comment. I also wish you a nice day as well.

I hope This year favours everyone very much.

 4 months ago 

@vishwara
2023 everyone said good bye and welcome to 24th if speaking you have enjoyed this trip very well road trip if enjoyed with family is really great view located here All the family enjoyed the strip very well the food especially the meat biryani which was awesome other activities are excellent and I hope you will definitely win the competition here my prayers are with you.

Hi @shabbir86

Thank you so much for visiting my post...

 4 months ago 

Hello brother Shabbir, is very nice to also see your comment in this wonderful woman's post. Am happy alot of us managed to enter 2024. She really enjoyed her last days in 2023 with her family in a grand style.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 66924.37
ETH 3085.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71