Steemit Engagement Challenge | S7W5 | My Story : Toothache

in Steem For Pakistan2 years ago (edited)

final.jpg

 

Hello my dear Steemians,

 

Today I wanted to share my idea to the Challenge that is organised by Steem For Pakistan Community and invite you to take part too, here is the link to the post:

https://steemit.com/hive-180106/@hive-180106/steemit-engagement-challenge-s7-w5-or-be-creative-write-a-short-story

We were invited to write a story real or fiction. I thought I will write my Odyssey with tooth root inflammation and experience with pain relief.

To accompany my story I decided to do the drawing and used photo from, pixabay, source

 

My short Story: Toothache

 

Today is the second week since we are back from holiday, the last two weeks passed quickly. As I mentioned in previous posts we arrived from holiday and I had to start my work last Monday. The whole last week was a lot of new experience for me and that are different type of experience.

The day we arrived I started to have a toothache of the area where I had the inflammation of my tooth root few years ago. Luckily I had nice peaceful time till now and completely forgot. I remember it was advised to extract that tooth in the past, but because everything settled I just left it alone and actually had nice 5 years no problem until the last week.

You can guess, what the doctors do when they have some problems like me my inflamed tooth? We start treating ourselves, I still had some antibiotics and started to take it.

In some situation antibiotics help in my did not. Of course, in order to be able to work I took Ibuprofen tablets. I did not take any pain relief for very long time because there was no reason for that. I was very curious how long it will take for tablet to work and was surprised to see that 10 minutes later it started to work and in 20 minute I did not feel pain. That was like a magic.

But because the source of infection was still there, exactly after 5 hours the effect of the analgesia was gone and pain came back. So that I had to take it again. In order to give more time between Ibuprofen I took paracetamol and that also helped as quickly as Ibuprofen but the duration was also so short.

Nevertheless, I managed couple of day but then got an appointment by dentist, who was not really helpful and said that I need to go to oral surgeons and was going to refer me.

In meantime, I was working during the day, luckily I did have majority of time admin work so nothing that I needed to concentrate. Nights were hard because pulsating pain was returning now on short time interval. I had to take pain tablets on every 4 hours and even then it felt like it stopped working and I developed swollen jaw. It seems antibiotics did not work.

One of the last night I was able to sleep only with applying the wet clothes for two hours, I never thought it will work. In the morning I thought that is enough and something needs to be done.

When I think about us, people who work in hospitals, we have such benefit of having the colleagues around and knowing many of us. One of my colleague is oral surgeon so I just approached her with my problem and received an appointment in the afternoon and my tooth was removed. That is my first extracted tooth, the local anaesthetic was great so that I did not feel anything.

I was very surprised that after extraction the whole pain gone completely and I even did not need any pain relief at all.

That week was my first experience with analgesia and I must say that it really works and as it is mentioned on information leaflet the beginning of effect and the duration.

But on other hand once the real cause of pain is sorted then everything is back to normal.

 

Trenner groß.png

 
 

The process step of the drawing:

 

*When doing my drawing I used the tutorial of @jorgevandeperre, who explains how to draw the facial features, if you also love drawing, please visit his blog and our tag #woxartschool

https://steemit.com/hive-185836/@jorgevandeperre/drawing-the-human-head-exercise-the-nose-iv-dibujando-la-cabeza-humana-ejercicio-la-nariz-iv-club100

 
DSC0f5156.JPG
 

DSC051y57.JPG
 

DSC05162.JPG

 

Trenner groß.png

 

Maybe @nadiaturrina , @lanegra2804, @pandora2010 will find this challenge interesting too.

 


CURATION TRAIL @worldofxpilar


 

YaFx5Xh8dcRE2tjviA.jpg

 

Trenner groß.png

 

2023-02-09_123151.jpg

Sort:  

Nice post. I like your shading. He looks perfect. Toothache is very annoying. We are made unable to focus. Good luck for the contest. I will also participate in this contest soon.
🥰🥰🥰

 2 years ago 

Glad you like my drawing, wanted to show how painful it is. I think everyone had it once in their live and felt how it is. I wish you too good luck with contest :)

Thank you, friend!
I'm @steem.history, who is steem witness.
Thank you for witnessvoting for me.
image.png
please click it!
image.png
(Go to https://steemit.com/~witnesses and type fbslo at the bottom of the page)

The weight is reduced because of the lack of Voting Power. If you vote for me as a witness, you can get my little vote.

Que sufrimiento un dolor de diente es horrible solo veo el dibujo y no me imagino pasar por ahí nuevamente el año pasado visite al odontólogo por no tener un cepillado correcto , que tal creo que no préstamos atención 😬 que bueno que resolvió.

Gracias por la invitación .

Saludos

 2 years ago 

Yes, you are right, I believe everyone has such situation and once in their live such pain, that nobody forgets. I remember every time I have toothache, I tell myself that from now on no sweets and twice a day teeth brushing. With sweets often fails :)

Great portrait! An excellent story too. Thanks for mentioning my post!

 2 years ago 

Thank you Jorge, when I did this one I did first on my way, starting with eyes, nose and then mouth. The result was nose a bit longer and mouth not wide enough. The second attempt was with your proportion and it made it easy to plan the distances, size and position of face features. The tutorials are great!

Thank you @stef1, I'm glad to know that my tips are useful to you. That is the goal of these lessons. I am not saying that these tips are the last word, I believe that they are useful indications based on studies, observations and research done by artists, scientists and mathematicians that help us to make the task of drawing easier. I love that conjunction!

 2 years ago 

I agree the tutorials helpful tools that, you are right a lot based on the observation and I am glad that nowadays it is so easy for us to access everything using videos, online tutorials and books.

 2 years ago 

Hello dear @stef1
The you had a toothache due to an inflamed tooth root from 5 years ago. They self-treated with antibiotics and pain relief medication like ibuprofen and paracetamol. The medication provided short term relief but the pain returned after a few hours.

The you eventually visited a dentist and oral surgeon who extracted the tooth, which provided complete relief. The you concludes that pain medication works but it's important to address the root cause of the pain. Thank you for participating in the contest.

 2 years ago 

Thank you for reading my post, hope that is the last bad inflammation. Toothache something nobody wants to experience again :)

Loading...

My most sincere congratulations and admiration, because by really seeing the drawing I could imagine that the story was about the denture, seeing one inflamed cheek and the other normal made me feel the story, but I thank God that I still haven't felt that kind of pain.

I'm glad you found the cure and I hope you don't go through something like this again.

Kind regards.
Many Blessings..🙏🏻

 2 years ago 

I know, sometimes it is better to show what the story is about, so that it is easy to understand. I enjoyed that drawing and luckily it came out nicely expressing pain :) Thank you for visiting and your lovely comment :)

 2 years ago 

A toothache is difficult. I think it's worse than renal colic, the closest thing to labor pains. It's really been many, many years since I've had to go through that, but it's something unforgettable despite the time.

When there is that unbearable pain, the best thing to do is to extract it, in the end you ended up doing it.

Painkillers are wonderful but they do not cure and in the long run our kidneys suffer.
Your drawing reflects that discomfort very well, you have a great talent to express it.

Greetings and success in your participation, it was very nice to read you.

 2 years ago 

Thank you for reading my story, it is indeed that everyone had it once and all of us try to avoid when possible. In my case it was indeed removal of tooth only way forward, of course, when possible better to keep it.

@ stef1! Вы прекрасно рисуете! Я, наверное, не смогла бы, даже с помощью объяснений!))) А что такое - болит зуб, мне очень хорошо известно!))) в 19 лет мне корень зуба выбивали долотом!))) И всё равно я никогда не боялась идти к зубному врачу!)))

Your story is good as it appears real. Medical personnel always have that grace of having a colleague in time of pains who can attend to them just the way your colleague had attended to you. In all, your story is good. Thanks for sharing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56278.39
ETH 2377.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29