"One Picture And One Story Week #49".

in Steem For Pakistan6 days ago

Hello Steemians, I am so delighted to participate in this beautiful contest in the Pakistan Community by @suboohi, thank you so much ma for this amazing contest it is my pleasure to drop my entry and I do hope that you all enjoy my post.

It's another week with the contest one picture and one story and I would am so anxious to talk about this particular story.

IMG_20240818_074336_752.jpg

Yes, yesterday that was Monday, 19th August, 2024. I travel to Lafia, the Capital city of Nasarawa state which happens to be my state of origin.

Why I and my elder brother travel together

For the past five months back, my elder brother applied teaching job with the Nasarawa State Universal Basic Education Board, Lafia, Nasarawa state.

Last week Friday, he got a congratulatory text message from his phone that he was expected to be in Lafia yesterday for documentation and to receive his appointment letter.

He told me about the good news, I was so happy for him. When he told me about being in Lafia, I told him that I too would travel to Lafia because I wanted to go to the NIN office to rectify a particular problem that I have with my NIN number.

So, yesterday was Monday, we both left home early in the morning to the pack, when we got to the pack, we got a car and entered but unfortunately for us, the car was not yet full of people so we spent almost an hour at the pack before the car got filled up with people.

So, the car started the journey and we reached Lafia, we dropped off the car and we both decided that I should go to the NIN office while my elder brother should go to the Education Board office to receive his appointment letter.

I left for the NIN office, luckily for me enough, when I reached the NIN office, there was no crowd, so the staff of the NIN office attended to me and after 30 minutes I was done with what took me to Lafia.

After I came out of the NIN office, I called my brother to find out if he had received the appointment letter and he said to me that I should come and meet him at the Education Board office.

I moved to the Education Board office, and on my arrival, I saw my elder brother's face, he was not happy at all, I asked him why his face was looking that way and he told me what didn't expect to hear.

They refused to give him the appointment letter that he should pay four hundred thousand before they would give him the letter, though he was not the only one, five other people were also told to bring the same amount of money before they would give them their appointment letter too.

The whole thing looked very funny to me, I was saying to myself, this is a government appointment letter, they shortlisted the successful candidate and why are they asking them to pay four hundred thousand naira before they will be given the appointment letter, this is not fair at all.

While standing at the Education Board with the hope that they may decide to give out the appointment letters to the owners, I was in shock when I saw almost four people who came with four hundred thousand naira each and gave it to the Education Board office, they collected the money from the people, they confirm the money in our presence and after the confirm the money and it was completed, the instantly gave them their appointment letter and at that point, I confirmed to myself that these people are serious and they mean business with people's appointments letter.

After seeing the worst that happened, I and my brother decided to come back home without the appointment letter to come and source for money.

Today, my family members were able to raise the said amount of money, and this evening, around 5:00 my brother left home for Lafia, he will spend the night in our elder sister's house so that in the morning, he will proceed to the Education Board office tomorrow and receive his appointment letter.

How I felt after they denied my elder brother his appointment letter because of money

I was so sad to know the level of corruption going on in our country, this is very sad and unfair, this is the recruitment of teachers from our state government and when a person goes for the appointment letter, money should not be involved in terms of receiving the appointment letter.

It is very wrong and unfair, yesterday, when I and my brother reached home, I immediately went into my room and began to reason a lot of things in my mind.

Our generation is in trouble, we can no longer get a job if we don't have money.

What I witnessed yesterday made me know why education is suffering in our country today, we don't longer have qualified teachers because of corruption, those who are qualified to be teachers today are not the ones in the class because they don't have money to buy appointment letters. May almighty God have mercy on us.

Thank you all for your usual support, love, and time that you have dedicated to reading my post. I love you all❤

I want to invite @josepha @dave-hanny and @simonnwigwe

Sort:  
 5 days ago 

Corruption has no bounds! Your brother's experience is a sad reflection of the state of our society. May his appointment letter be a stepping stone to a brighter future, despite the unfair circumstances. Keep sharing your stories, they need to be told.✨

 5 days ago 

Thank you sir

Loading...
 4 days ago 

Thanks for your participation. Best of luck for the contest.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.17
JST 0.032
BTC 63639.69
ETH 2734.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61