"Steemit Engagement Challenge | S7W4 | Your Favorite Place To Visit".steemCreated with Sketch.

in Steem For Pakistan2 years ago

Greetings from motherland Cameroon (Africa in miniature), meaning everything that one can find in other African countries can be found in Cameroon 🇨🇲. Welcome to my blog where I will be sharing one of my favourite places I visited most often.

3930D335-BF2E-42BA-BB01-8121F877F012.jpeg
Image designed on Canva.

Today, I will be talking about Limbe a city in the South West region of Cameroon. This city is blessed with numerous tourist attractions, ranging from the botanical garden, wildlife centre, beaches, the former slave centre, etc.

I will talk more about the wildlife centre and the beach. These are the two favourites I have been able to pay a visit to.

Why do you like it? The main feature that makes it more attractive to you??

I like visiting Limbe because of the numerous touristic attractions found in the city.

One of the attractions that most often attract me to visit the town is the wildlife centre. Here, you can see live animals which we most often watched in documentaries. You can book a tour around the centre with a conservator who gives lectures about the biography of each animal at the centre.

2A97072C-4D20-43BE-925D-97FF40517D2E.jpeg

The animals are friendly just like the staff. However, remember the saying that “a hungry man is an angry man 🙁🙁, play careful with the animals especially the adult chimpanzees when they are hungry, they are aggressive.

ED3D99CF-412B-4EE8-8D48-875F07FB4790.jpegA display of some of the animals at the center.

825D363F-C163-4F2E-A655-D3878E1310F5.jpeg

B7ABCF02-49C1-431E-A55E-556863CE3B4A.jpeg

D2A63E6D-7BFA-4EB8-A8FF-D2329A986495.jpeg
64423036-FF8C-4FDD-988C-36F229708461.jpeg

The scenery at the beaches is pretty cool. On a special note, during the dry season, the heatwaves in the city are not friendly at all especially as I’m from a cold region. Most often, I love being around the seashore or the beach to chill out with my kids. Being around the seashore during the dry season is awesome 😎 as you feel the breeze from the sea.

Growing up, we read books and also studied in school about the slave trade era. Visiting Limbe is an opportunity for one to visit the slave trade centre where slaves were assembled and shipped to the western world. Though sad about the remnants of what our forefathers went through during that era one can see what happened during the era at the centre.

Have you visited that place before? or want to visit.? Whwn did /will you visit that place??

I have been opportune to visit some of the beaches like the down beach, sème beach, and the ALCEF amusement park. I visited ALCEF park with my husband when we were still young couples. I visited the wildlife centre twice during the summer holidays with my kids and also visited the down beach during December vacation with my daughter.

CB05EF66-CDA7-4409-8E9C-9E02C4EB8C1E.jpeg
BD10ACEB-DB1D-42A6-8645-F46AF67BD3C1.jpeg
Relaxation time at the down beach with my daughter and friends.

For sème beach, I have been there several times during my university days. Most often we organised parties at the beach.

The only place I haven’t visited is the slave trade centre. I wish to visit the place but most often I am told stories that touch the heart and my emotions will not let me visit the place. However, one day I’m gonna take my kids on vacation to the centre, especially my daughter because she is an adventurer.

What are the special features of that place?

Let me begin with the beaches. The down beach is good due to the presence of fishing boats. Here, you can buy fresh aquatic foodstuff and also enjoy the fresh breeze from the sea. Seafood is very common here. The other beaches are artificial but also the scenery around them is good.

For the wildlife centre as I earlier mentioned, there exist different types of wild animals we often watched in documentaries. At the centre, you will be able to see different animals ranging from chimpanzees, gorillas, pythons, crocodiles, etc.

You can take a tour around the centre with the conservator moving around to give lectures about the animals and clarify all your unanswered questions.

B78D05B0-EE35-41E9-A130-7528B7465CA3.jpeg
Having a walk around the wildlife center with the conservator answering our questions and also lecturing about the different animals and how they come about at the center.

Share the local cuisine of that place.

In the South West region of Cameroon and Limbe in particular, there are several local cuisines ranging from fufu and eru, kwacoco and ncanda sauce, ekwang, plantains and Okongobong soup, etc. The city inhabits people from all over Cameroon.

Therefore, it is common to also see other local cuisines from different parts of Cameroon and intercontinental dishes.

Notwithstanding, one of the most common dishes prepared in this city is eru and fufu. This is a delicacy in the city and I cannot visit Limbe and do not eat eru.

6678FCB4-DD3A-425E-A707-5094308B36E5.jpeg

B355D5B9-D631-4512-B54C-4BE8085CB4ED.jpegeru one of the delicacy highly consumed in the city.It can be consumed with either garri or fufu made from cassava.


Another common cuisine is roasted fish with either fried ripe plantains or miondo.

C55D258B-C6B3-43AB-870A-21977002209F.jpeg
Roasted Fish with miondo garnished with onions.

You can share the expenses of that visit.

On a general note, Limbe is one of the most expensive places in Cameroon in terms of the cost of living. Everything in Limbe is expensive except fuel. But taxi fares are expensive.

I did not spend a lot since we have a family compound there. I did not spend money on renting a guest house or paying for hotel bills.

For the visit to the down beach, I had to spend and bought roasted fish and drinks for everyone who went along with me. A bottle of drink there cost 1500 in our local currency approximately 14 Steem. A plate of roasted fish costs 2000frs approximately 28 Steem.

At the wildlife centre, entry fees were minimized because my father-in-law was the former director. We got the opportunity to visit the centre for free. But moving along with a conservator, we had to give in some money as motivation though was not compulsory. We gave him 5000frs as motivation, appropriately 67 Steem.

Our transportation from my region of origin to Limbe city cost us 24,000frs local currency approximately 213 Steem. We paid for 4 seats too and for that is a total of 48,000frs approximately 426 Steem.

Visiting Limbe, you need to bear in mind that everything is expensive.

Tell us all the information that you have about your experience. You can guide us on our next trip to that place.

As I earlier said, bear in mind that life in Limbe is expensive. Visiting Limbe one needs to be fully prepared to spend money. So save well before visiting Limbe.

Secondly, I will advise everyone to visit during the periods from July, August, and September when the climatic conditions are favourable. In June there is lots of flooding in the city and even in early July. During the dry season, the climate is extremely hot 🥵.

Do not border about food as there are varieties from local dishes to intercontinental dishes.

In case you want to avoid the exorbitant prices of transportation around the city, moving in with your car is preferable as fuel prices are moderate.

Conclusion

In sum, Limbe is one of the most favourable places in Cameroon to visit. It has numerous touristic attractions and the people are friendly. Moving around the city is secure as there exist different police stations and checkpoints to ensure safety.

Note: All images are my property. 100% power up.

Sort:  
 2 years ago 

Hello dear @chant
The you likes visiting Limbe due to its tourist attractions, especially the wildlife center where they can see live animals. They find the staff and animals friendly but caution others to be careful with the adult chimpanzees when they are hungry. The you also enjoys the scenery at the beaches, especially during the dry season. They find visiting the slave trade center to be a unique opportunity to learn about the history of the slave trade era, even though it is a sad reminder of the past.

It sounds like you have had a lot of memorable experiences visiting various tourist attractions in the area. You have visited the beach, an amusement park, and a wildlife center with your family, and have fond memories of visiting the beach during your university days. While you have not yet visited the slave trade center, you hope to do so in the future with your children, especially your adventurous daughter.

This sounds like a great experience for those who enjoy both beaches and wildlife. The beach with fishing boats provides a unique opportunity to buy fresh seafood and enjoy the sea breeze, while the artificial beaches offer scenic views. The wildlife center offers a chance to see a variety of animals and learn about them from a knowledgeable conservator.

The you highlights the diverse local and international cuisine available in Limbe, Cameroon, particularly the popular dish of eru and fufu. They also mention that life in Limbe can be expensive and advise visitors to save and plan their trip during the favorable months of July, August, and September. The you suggests that those visiting should have a mode of transportation as it is more economical and convenient. Thank you for participating in contest.

 2 years ago 

Ooh yeah I have memorable experiences in Limbe and I wish everyone should have those moments. Thank you for the support dear friend.

Loading...

Thank you, friend!
I'm @steem.history, who is steem witness.
Thank you for witnessvoting for me.
image.png
please click it!
image.png
(Go to https://steemit.com/~witnesses and type fbslo at the bottom of the page)

The weight is reduced because of the lack of Voting Power. If you vote for me as a witness, you can get my little vote.

 2 years ago 

Wow, what an amazing post! I love learning about new places and it sounds like Limbe, Cameroon has a lot to offer. From the wildlife center with its variety of animals to the beautiful beaches, there's something for everyone. I especially appreciated the mention of the former slave trade center. It's so important to remember and learn from our history, even if it is a difficult and emotional topic.

I also appreciate the personal touch of sharing your own experiences visiting some of the places in Limbe. It helps bring the post to life and makes me feel like I'm experiencing it with you. Your photos are fantastic and truly showcase the beauty of the city.

I would love to hear more about the local cuisine in Limbe. Can you share a little bit about the types of foods that are popular and what they are made of? It's always interesting to learn about the food culture in different places.

Thanks for sharing your experiences and knowledge about Limbe. I can't wait to plan a trip there someday!

 2 years ago 

Thank you for engaging on my post. As for the local cuisine, I did share eru and roasted fish. If you read through my blog, you will find articles I wrote about Cameroon cuisine and did a step by step process of preparing the meal.

I’m waiting for you on that special day you decided to visit Limbe.

 2 years ago 

¡Congratulations! This post has been upvoted through -steemcurator06.
We support quality posts, and good comments anywhere, with any tags.

PicsArt_01-31-10.21.11.png
Curated by :<@graceleon>

 2 years ago 

Thank you @graceleon for the support.

 2 years ago 

You chose very beautiful place hope so you spend very good time with your family 👪 best of luck🤞

 2 years ago 

Ooh yes, we had a good time there. Thank you for wishing me well.

TEAM 5 CURATORS

This post has been upvoted through steemcurator08. We support quality posts anywhere and with any tags.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 58493.60
ETH 2468.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41