The Diary Game || A day Spent on Knowledge acquisition, Frying Cassava Flakes and Mentoring Steemians on WhatsApp Social Media

in Steem For Pakistanlast month

PXL_20240407_145220306.PORTRAIT.jpg
picture of me frying cassava flakes

It was a Sunday Dear Diary, a sunny Sunday as the name implies. We've not had light for days know. There's nothing more pressing than this as you'll be looking for where to power your phone. This was what I experienced on that Sunday morning. I find it very uncomfortable to be with a low battery phone and I did a lot of strenuous activities that day but sun contributed greatly to discouraging me in all ramifications. Let me give you the narratives.

Morning Activities

I woke up feeling so insecure but I was enlightened and aware when I considered the scriptures with my family. The scripture we read emphasized on the fact that our creator forgives in a large way. He's ready to take all those who left him along the line due to pressure or anxieties of life. But this doesn't give us the license to offend or leave him and then have this view he'll accept us back and forgive us.

Screenshot_2024-04-11-15-37-27-913_org.jw.jwlibrary.mobile-edit.jpg
screenshot from my mobile bible

It was more striking than ever because many people have this view that they can sin against God anytime, anyday and still earn his forgiveness when they pray. Even David in the bible faced sad consequences even when he was forgiven. After going through these texts, I took to Preparing for the meeting I had to attend by 8Am. I was to leave the house as early as 7Am.

I felt so late because I woke up with the spirit of the burial I attended the other day. Guess what happened for the first time - I forgot my phone at home. This was more like a history in my family because they know very well that my phone has never left my hand except I want to charge it. Even when I'm asleep, the phone being my best friend, will always be by my side.

They brought the phone for me though to the meeting and I was relieved because I wasn't myself. The teachings that day was majorly on the resurrection and being assured of our creator's love for us despite the challenges or trials we face and is yet to face. It was just so educative and informative as bible verses were deliberated on.

After the meeting, I took to heading for home with my friend. The sun was sunning and it got to a point we had to pause and stay off the road because this sun was as worst as heat and fire and is one that can give malaria if care isn't taken. All the crops have died in the farm because of the excruciating heat on the surface of the ground. Our prayers for rainfall were intense.

I was just so discouraged that day that I had to board a vehicle instead of trekking down to my home. All thanks to the sun. On getting home, I felt so tired and exhausted. It was as if a heavy load was placed on my shoulder but what I thanked God for was that, I was out of the sun. That was my greatest joy.

PXL_20240407_133822467.PORTRAIT.jpg

I took to taking in something light which was Garri sipping. I made the garri rich with the condiments available and then gulped it down slowly. It was enough relief. **It was time for us to process the Cassava harvested, peeled, ground pressed and dried.

Afternoon Activities

I started by preparing things for the frying as the cassava was already pressed and dried with flakes inside two bags. The pictures below shows the things I used in frying this Garri and how I fried it.

Cassava flakesFrying of cassava to Garri can't be done without its flakes being peeled, ground and dried. This was done the previous day and was brought this morning. The Cassava contained two bags though, enough to take us for a month. This is the main thingPXL_20240407_131938638.PORTRAIT.jpg
ShifterThis is a local shifter used in separating the shafts from the cassava flakes which would produce finely made Garri. This shifter was to remove all those unwanted particles not ground by the machine and the sticks that accompanies it. It's locally made of palm tree branches. Without this, our Garri would be horriblePXL_20240407_131606530.PORTRAIT.jpg
Frying panYou can't fry cassava flakes without a pan or pot as the case may be. You need a wide pan so as to turn the flakes well, this circulating the flakes round the pan, exposing it to more heat instead of concentrating on one place. This is the pan we usually use to make our Garri. PXL_20240407_131642523.PORTRAIT.jpg
OilThis may not really be essential but we do use it to change the colour of the cassava flakes we're frying so it would be more like the one sold in the markets..It is said that this oil prevents the blurriness caused by Garri in people's eyes. PXL_20240407_145012671.PORTRAIT.jpg
The wooden turnerYou can't use an iron or metal substance to turn the cassava flakes while frying it because metals are good conductors of heat. This wooden turner will prevent burnt from the heat of the fire and will help circulate the flakes round the pot. PXL_20240407_131527279.PORTRAIT.jpg
ContainerA basin or container should be present to contain these cassava flakes that would be fried. PXL_20240407_131654317.PORTRAIT.jpg
Ahses and firewoodThe ashes were removed from the firewood stand and new firewoods were combined with old to bring up fire that round be used in making this frying a success. PXL_20240407_131506279.PORTRAIT.jpg

We started by preparing the cassava flakes, using the shifter to shake off the shafts from the flakes more like a separation technique of separating two solids from the other. This picture shows how we were separating the flakes by pressing it with our palms and then rubbing it to and fro on the shifter.

PXL_20240407_145559789.PORTRAIT.jpg

To proceed with this frying, my mother set up the frying pan in such a way that smoke won't affect her. We were to fry in turns of which she started while I assisted in ensuring the fire was supplying from the firewoods and that it wasn't too much so as not to make the pot heat. This is a picture of the fire supplying.

PXL_20240407_142820782.PORTRAIT.jpg

After a while, I took to assisting her in the fry as you can see in the picture. I'm not a good fryer but I'm learning to be. I started by putting the cassava flakes into the pan, a quantity I'll be able to turn and then boom, I give it a head go till I was tired.

PXL_20240407_145615762.PORTRAIT.jpg

PXL_20240407_144949631.PORTRAIT.jpgPXL_20240407_142835810.PORTRAIT.jpg

The sun didn't affect us that much as there was shade from the shadow of our house. This was the finished product of the cassava flakes I turned into Garri. To purchase a cup of Garri in Nigeria is very exorbitant, that's why those who have cassava in their farms, uproot it regardless of the stress just to make sure they got Garri that would take them throughout a month if possible.

PXL_20240407_145204012.PORTRAIT.jpg

It was all set that day, I took to eating a rich fruit planted in my compound before taking my hot shower and then had a rest, preparing for the nightPXL_20240407_145942233.PORTRAIT.jpg
Evening Activities

My evening activities were bent on mentoring my students every 9pm. I usually start by giving them a preview of what they needed to learn, spell out one or two things and boom, I give them assignments to work on. I do dedicate this time for them despite the fact they I have academic work to face. My intent is just on helping people because I was helped on this platform.

In my next post, I'll show how well these students have learnt and how they are putting it into practice. Some of them are slow learners but I try carrying everyone along come what may. This was how I decided to end my day.

@nd579

Sort:  
 last month 

Upvoted. Thank You for sending some of your rewards to @null. It will make Steem stronger.


💯⚜2️⃣0️⃣2️⃣4️⃣ This is a manual curation from the @tipu Curation Project.
Also your post was promoted on 🧵"X"🧵 by the account josluds

@tipu curate

TEAM BURN

Your post has been successfully curated by @inspiracion at 35%.

Thanks for setting your post to 25% for @null.
We invite you to continue publishing quality content. In this way you could have the option of being selected in the weekly Top of our curation team.

Team Burn (1).png

Burning STEEM by sending it to the @null account helps reduce the supply of STEEM and so increase its price.

Loading...
 last month 

Hello dear, I wish to you to be in peace and living their best moments of life.
You are a very talented person. You can cook food as well. Your future wife will be very lucky because you will give her a lot of comfort😉.
Best of luck , may you achieve wealth , health , success and prosperity in your life Greetings from my side . Have a nice day .

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66266.06
ETH 3031.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67