Mehndi Hands Photography Challenge 31 | by @aminasafdar

in Steem For Pakistan28 days ago (edited)

IMG-20240419-WA0008.jpg

Mehndi Hands of my amigo, recently received it, she is getting married

When I saw this contest I thought to participate in it. However, seeing this by a Pakistani organizer and in the Pakistani community made me think about how to keep it interesting. We have all applied Mehandi since our childhood to weddings and Eids and know about it.

Therefore I did some research on Google about its history and came to know about some interesting things.

The word mehndi has its origin in Sanskrit as Mendhika

IMG-20230504-WA0018-1.jpg

1-My cousin applied this mehandi on my hand after Eid, we missed it on eid hence the delay

We all know mehandi/henna comes from a henna plant, whose leaves are crushed first followed by making its thick paste by adding water, and finally applying it to skin and hair.

Transition of Mehandi:

  • Green-its leaves and stem: for luck and prosperity
  • Brown-In paste form: for hearth
  • Red- After removing it when dried on skin and hair: For Fertility

However, did you ever wonder what gives it orange and red color

It is said that some shepherds had discovered its staining properties. When they were herding their grazing animals, who had maybe eaten henna leaves and their mouth got stained.

Later it went for an inquiry to see what caused the stanning.

The culprit behind it was Lawsone which is present in henna leaves, also called Hennotannic acid, in copper Brown color.

Its color is released slowly while crushing it. And when it binds to a protein (keratin) it fully gives a red or orange shade.

You must be wondering about the protein. As we know our skin and hair are primarily protein making us ideal customers of Lawsone :)

20240419_171351.jpg

2.1-It was applied many years ago on Eid by my cousin, we googled some designs and tried on our hands for the first time. Actually she did on both of her and mine, i don't know this art

IMG-20240417-WA0007.jpg

2.2Her and Me

Some mehandi cones have synthetic dyes added in it, to give dark brown and black color instead of red. It is extremely harmful for skin and often cause allergic reactions.
It's advised to not wear such mehndi for more than 20-30minutes.

IMG-20230628-WA0015-1.jpg

3-Apologies for behind the scene

I remember using sugar and lemon solution on our mehndi to get darker red colour for the whole night. Those mehandi cones were organic and free of chemicals unlike emergency mehandi cones in the market today for instant colour.

Another interesting thing I found is the smoothing and cooling effects of Mehandi.

It's applied ideally when the temperature is hot in the Middle East, South Asia and North Africa. It cures headaches when applied on the head and soles of the feet.

Its staining properties are retained when it is grown in temperate regions, if grown in cold countries lawsone will not be present in henna leaves.

It reduces inflammation also and cures allergies as it has antiseptic characteristics.

Interestingly it is very common to apply mehandi at weddings in Pakistan, India, and Bangladeshi.

Weddings are very stressful and often give headaches to the bride and other people😉 That's why it's applied to soothe their nerves.

IMG-20240418-WA0001.jpg

4-My cousin's wedding mehandi, it is 12years old picture. During those days floral and vine designs were in, unlike these days

It builds a strong community when women sit together and apply it on each other's hands and share stories. It's the most attractive aspect of mehandi.

On chand rat the anticipation of Eid the next day mixed with the joy of applying mehandi late at night are unmatchable.

One last interesting thing about it is the fact that its history is traced back to Egypt.

What is Egypt famous for? What is the first thing that comes to your mind about Egypt? It's Mummies...Right? OR Mummy of Firoun.

Egyptians have been using henna paste to conserve and store bodies for centuries. Lawsone prevents the body from decay.

They stain expired bodies' hair, and skin, and it's wrapping them with henna. Isn't it peculiar?

Ending it here @uzma4882

I would like to invite fellow Pakistani @samina-meenu, @wakeupkitty and @yaladeeds (do you guys also apply mehandi? )

Sort:  

It is never an empty moment with my fellow gang members😁, as I have learnt something new from reading this post. By the way, @ibesso dropped the list of the gang members while @wakeupkitty made corrections so now I have an updated list of the gang members, good gang members though ☺️. You should know who called us that 🤣.
Back to our henna matter, so you mean henna actually have some health benefit? I never knew that, wow. Now I have reasons to start wearing it. It is always beautiful seeing it on ladies, usually during celebrations and others just for the love of Art. I am from where they love to wear henna, that's partially north so it is classified as middle belt here, but I grew up in the west so I have only had it 2 to 3 times in my life. But I love it, well saved the pictures you dropped cos I will recreate it soon and update it here.
Your culture is beautiful.

 27 days ago 

good gang members though ☺️

Hahahahahah feels like as if we are about to robe or start violence in the streets😂

Oh you are from west, west africa

Every culture is beautiful, but brown people take any festival, occasion, and wedding very seriously. We live for such things. You'll never see any occasion where NO one hadn't applied henna on their hands.

I have applied it several times on my hair too

I'm waiting for your mehandi designs. Will do apply it yourself?

Yes I am from west Africa, Nigeria to be precise and over here the people from the north share almost similar cultures with the Arabs and Indians and have more Muslims. I am from close to the north hence why they call us those from the Middle belt, we share many of the northern cultures too. My cousin's are always on Henna during celebrations and even normal days😁. But my family grew up in the west so I am not so used to it but I love it. Do it myself? You want me to draw what will chase kids away?🤣🤣🤣🤣
I will have to pay someone to help me with it before I draw funny looking nameless stuff🤣

 26 days ago 

I would love to know more about your culture, it's always fascinating to know different things, right?

I will have to pay someone to help me.

Actually, i never paid someone to apply henna. My cousins know it and do it for free. The day they refused to do it anymore without any compensation from my side, it's over for me, or i will have to hire someone 😃

Thank you, friend!
I'm @steem.history, who is steem witness.
Thank you for witnessvoting for me.
image.png
please click it!
image.png
(Go to https://steemit.com/~witnesses and type fbslo at the bottom of the page)

The weight is reduced because of the lack of Voting Power. If you vote for me as a witness, you can get my little vote.

Loading...

Greeting my friend,

You all the design od hands Mehndi are very beautiful and i think you love to draw these on your hands and others. I wish you good luck for the contest.

Regards,
Sitaraindaryas

 27 days ago 

Thank you mahnoor😊

However, my counsin know the art of applying mehandi, i don't know how to do it, except Gol tikki😀

 27 days ago 

You have applied very beautiful design of mehendi. I was very happy to see it, because I also like applying mehendi. What to say about both full hands and such a beautiful design. May you get success in this competition and may you not face the evil eye of anyone. With such blessings. stay happy friend

 27 days ago 

Thank you Vandana for this lovely comment😇

Indians and Pakistani share the same culture, hence, we can relate equally to mehandi and other wedding functions unlike other people from other countries:)

Wishing you a good day🍀

 27 days ago 

Yes, Indians and Pakistani share the same culture.

Thank you 😊

The art of Mehndi is fascinating and reminds me of the elegance of Italian lace art, which developed from the 15th century primarily among noble families and in convents. @aminasafdar your culture captivates and captures my soul, displaying such beauty and dedication in the sinuous forms of Mehndi. It's interesting how the transition of Mehndi from its green beginnings, symbolizing luck and prosperity, to the brown of the paste, associated with domestic life, and finally to the red of fertility after drying on skin and hair, reveals a deep connection with nature and the cycles of life. The fact that the word Mehndi derives from the Sanskrit "Mendhika" is a cultural reference that further enriches this practice.

In this restless period, I am considering the idea of a large Mehndi design on my back, hoping it might bring me some serenity.🙌

 26 days ago 

Yeah yeah go for it.
It'll be fun and its coolness will soothe your nerves.

 27 days ago 

Hello dear, I wish to you to be in peace and living their best moments of life.
Mehndi designs are very beautiful, green, brown and green colors are used in it. I really enjoyed reading your post. I am looking at each design very carefully and thinking which design to apply on the upcoming festival.

Best of luck , may you achieve wealth , health , success and prosperity in your life Greetings from my side . Have a nice day .

 26 days ago 

Oh sure, pick any design you like and show us after applying if possible, would be interesting.

Thank you for stopping by and dropping lovely prays, i wish the same for you too❤

 26 days ago 

You shared many different Mehndi designs here and explained mehndi transitions well. Good luck with the contest.

 26 days ago 

Thank you dear.

 26 days ago 

@ aminasafdar (64)you shared beautiful mehndi designs. Every design in your post is more than beautiful. May Allah make you successful and happy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 65955.88
ETH 3055.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69