My California - Exploring the Santa Ana River Pt. 1 - The Old Flume

in SoCal Steemit3 years ago


SA River pt 1 cover.png

For this weeks Show Us Your California contest by @socalsteemit my buddy and I head up into the San Bernardino mountains to explore the...

Santa Ana River!!

SoCal divider.jpg

One of my good buddies was moving out of California and wanted to go out and hike in the mountains with me one more time before he left. At the time he was living in Mentone, CA so I met him there. From his place we could clearly see the Seven Oaks Dam and my buddy was asking me about it. So we decided to drive over to the backside of the dam and check it out! I had wanted to checkout the area for years and just hadn't got there yet, but today was the day.

From Mentone we drove up highway 38 into Mill creek canyon and up to fire road 1N12 which leads up to the Morton peak fire lookout. We drove up, passing the junction to the lookout and taking the next junction down Warm Springs canyon. The dirt road was long and a bit rough, but nothing my 4Runner couldn't handle.


GOPR1633.png
Driving up 1N12


GOPR1634.png
Overlooking Warm Springs Canyon

Eventually we made our way down to the bottom where the Santa Ana River flows into the reservoir on the backside of the dam. We started driving up canyon and one of the first things we noticed was an old abandoned flume up on the hillside above the river. We were curious to check it out so we stopped and made the climb up the hill. We investigated the flume and realized it actually went quite deep into the mountain, which being that we did't have a flash light we were unprepared to go too far in. But we contued driving up the canyon and were able to find another section of the flume. This section was much lower on the hill making it easier to get to, and it was only a few hundred feet long. So my buddy decided to climb in and hike through to the other side. It was a little difficult to crawl up into so I opted to just hike around and meet him on the other side.


GOPR1636.png
Looking at the back side of the dam from up on the hill


GOPR1637.png
Walking along the outside of the old flume


GOPR1639.png
The first flume entrance, this one went deep


GOPR1643.png
The second flume entrance


GOPR1647.png
Looking out the second flume entrance


GOPR1648.png
The backside of the second flume where my buddy crawled out

After having fun exploring the old flume we headed over to the river. We hiked along the river a bit and then found a spot to just hang out and relax and enjoy the beautiful day. Along our hike I was able to spot some really nice looking trout in the river and I was wishing that I had my fishing pole on me. Then while we were relaxing a couple of fishermen came by and I told them where I had just seen the fish. A few minutes later they were over there pulling out that very fish that I had just saw! A nice 14" rainbow trout. Needless to say I was a little jealous. But that's why this is a part one. Because after that I was determined that I was coming back for some trout fishing! My buddy and I enjoyed the rest of the day out there and then eventually headed back out the dirt road. And after this he moved across the country to Kentucky. But be sure stay tuned for part two where I come back for a much more thorough exploration of this section of the Santa Ana river!


GOPR1641.png
Hiking along the river


GOPR1642.png
Hiking along the river

Until next time...

I hope you have enjoyed this glimpse into

My California!!


SA River pt 1 thanks.png

SoCal divider.jpg

all photos by @derekrichardson

cma new banner yellow.png

https://www.californiamountainadventure.com

mountaindivider.jpg

#SoCalSteemit is building and supporting the Steemit community of Southern California. If you are from SoCal and are into creating quality content here on Steemit, we'd love for you to follow us @SoCalSteemit and join our group on Discord

SoCal divider.jpg


Walkwithmebaner.png

Dividerbar.jpg

canna-curate-banner1a.jpg

Dividerbar.jpg

SBI Promo Banner PNG.png

Dividerbar.jpg

Sort:  

Thank s for sharing this. I've never seen this end of the river. Just the end at the ocean.

Looks like a nice hike and you definately need to bring the pole next time!

Yep... and you know that I did. Twice!

Thank you for participating in this weeks Show us Your California contest!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67873.49
ETH 3528.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80