My California - Exploring the Santa Ana River Part 3

in SoCal Steemit3 years ago (edited)

SA River part3 cover.png

For this weeks Show Us Your California contest by @socalsteemit I head back up into the San Bernardino mountains to do some more exploring along the...

Santa Ana River!!

SoCal divider.jpg

Here it is... the long overdue part 3! If you haven't already be sure to check out part 1 andPart 2. On those trips I started at the lower end of the river just above the Seven Oaks Dam and explored upriver. On this trip I drove all the way around, up through Angeles Oaks and then back down the long dirt road to where Bear creek meets the Santa Ana river. I parked, got my gear together, tossed on my pack and started hiking down river. At the Bear creek/Santa Ana confluence there is a really cool old dam and also the beginning of the long flume that used to direct water down to the Edison power plant that I hiked passed in part 2. Below that the canyon got narrow. It was rough, but really beautiful. With big rugged cliffs and crystal clear pools. I pulled out my fishing pole and started trying some casts in the many pools as I hiked down river. There are lots of trout in the river, but they are smart! So you gotta be sneaky and get them to bite quick before they realize you're even there. Luckily I'm not too shabby of a fisherman and I was able to catch a bunch of really beautiful fish!


GOPR1760.png

Overlooking the Santa Ana river canyon from near Angeles Oaks


GOPR1769.png
The dam at the confluence


GOPR1772.png
Starting to hike down river


GOPR1774.png
Flume cave


GOPR1775.png
The Edison flume


GOPR1776.png
Hiking down river


GOPR1779.png
Hiking down river


GOPR1782.png
Passing Breakneck creek


GOPR1784.png
Hiking down river


GOPR1785.png
Hiking down river


GOPR1787.png
Where the canyon started to open up


GOPR1790.png
Looking at the flume up on the mountanside


GOPR1795.png
A beautiful trout

As I got down lower the canyon opened up and I could look up and see the flume up high on the mountainside. Then I got to a spot with a really cool waterfall pouring down the cliffs into the river. I decided to stop there and hangout for a bit. It was overcast and gloomy, but didn't rain, making it actually quite pleasant. After my break at the waterfall I continued on my way downriver. Eventually I arrived at the spot where I camped in Part 2 and I decided to setup camp there again. But this time I got there from above instead of from below. I got my camp all setup and it was still fairly early so I decided to take a short exploratory hike up a small side canyon near my camp. It was overgrown and rugged making it hard to hike up, so I didn't go far, but it was truly quite beautiful. Very quiet and serene. After that I headed back down to the river and did a little bit more fishing before settling into camp for the night.


GOPR1802.png
The waterfall


GOPR1803.png
Wildflowers


GOPR1804.png
Hiking down river


GOPR1805.png
Hiking down river


GOPR1811.png
Camp


GOPR1817.png
Exploring the side canyon


GOPR1821.png
The river by my camp

The next day I woke up to a beautiful morning. I packed up camp and started heading back up the river. I stopped by the waterfall again and of course caught a bunch more trout along the way! I ran into another Rattlesnake, which was really cool, and luckily it was on the far side of the river so I was totally safe. As I was hiking the sun was shining bright and it was starting to get really hot, but I was able to get back to where I parked at Bear creek before I got too badly toasted. I really enjoyed this trip and I definitely gotta go back sometime. Next time I want to climb up the dam at Bear creek and try to continue to explore up the river from there!


GOPR1841.png
Catching trout


GOPR1846.png
Catching trout


GOPR1851.png
Another beautiful trout


GOPR1852.png
Hiking upriver


GOPR1854.png
Hiking upriver


GOPR1855.png
A small waterfall between two massive boulders


GOPR1859.png
Selfie just below the confluence with Bear creek

And until then...

I hope you have enjoyed this glimpse into

My California!!


SA river part3 thanks.png

SoCal divider.jpg

all photos by @derekrichardson

cma new banner yellow.png

https://www.californiamountainadventure.com

mountaindivider.jpg

#SoCalSteemit is building and supporting the Steemit community of Southern California. If you are from SoCal and are into creating quality content here on Steemit, we'd love for you to follow us @SoCalSteemit and join our group on Discord

SoCal divider.jpg


Walkwithmebaner.png

Dividerbar.jpg

canna-curate-banner1a.jpg

Dividerbar.jpg

SBI Promo Banner PNG.png

Dividerbar.jpg

Sort:  

Awesome trout from that river… surprised by the size! 😎 any gold in that area??

Yep, the trout were real nice up there! But no, I don't think there is much gold up there.

Thank you for participating in this weeks Show us Your California contest!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63237.60
ETH 2647.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81