My Parents - My Hero by @victorlives

in Hindwhale Community24 days ago (edited)

This really an amazing contest and a time to reflect on how our parents have impacted our lives and made us the best versions of ourselves. I personally owe all my achievements so far in life to my parents because they single handedly raised me and I'm so proud of who I'm becoming today.

IMG_20240825_220942.jpg

Can you tell us how your parents have contributed to your life?

My parents have contributed so much in my life and I can't for sure list all, but I'll least a few.
Unconditional love,support and care
My mom gave birth to me and watch my infant head,took care of me till the age I was able to take care of myself, while my dad provided my immediate needs and make sure I lack nothing as a baby and a growing child.

Guidance and mentorship
My parents train me so well in the way of the Lord and as The holy book of wisdom says TRAIN UP A CHILD IN A WAY HE SHOULD GO AND WHEN HE IS OLD HE WILL NOT DEPART FROM IT
My mom taught me how to read and write and most times she will make my siblings and I to play a game and that game is about names of places,animals,states,countries, things etc alphabetically at the end she will score us.
My parents did a good job in raising me..
When we(my siblings and I) are back from school (primary school) my mom would make sure we read and if you don't read she will flog us.
Not to talk of carrying last in class get ready for the beatings of your life.
That made us to sit up in class and I must confess it really helped me alot because I was always so attentive in class and studious, I always among first three in my class from my primary one to primary five. My parents contributed immensely to my academic growth as I was never found wanting.
Again, there are friends I had that when my mom sees them she will tell me to stay away from them, she selects my friends for me who to mingle with and who not to,One day I was fed up,went to my dad to report my mom and my dad told me "Your mom doesn't mean any bad for you,she loves you and wants the best for you as far as you are under her roof and you've not reach the legal age you need to obey and respect her".*
Wasn't happy with my dad's response but I have come to understand what my mom was trying to do and how it has helped my life.
Is it bringing friends that are of the opposite gender to the house? That was a taboo and an offense punishable by my mom.
My mom will shout and tell us that we should never try such in her house that when we were of her age till when my dad married her she never brought a man to her father's house, that it's respectful to her and my dad.
I must confess till today I've never brought a man to my father's house and I can't even do that.
My parents are my mentors honestly, they showed and directed me on how to do my assignment and everything.

  • nurturing and stability*
    As they made sure we(my siblings and I)have high intelligent Quotient (IQ), they didn't leave Emotional Quotient (EQ) behind
    This actually didn't happen to me but my brother, each time my parents buy something consumable my last born must make sure he takes his share, one fateful day, it wasn't the way it usually was, immediately my brother sighted my mom with chicken he ran to meet my mom to take his share at that instant my mom shouted at him and told him to get out, he put up an attitude that wasn't nice my mom slapped him immediately and sent him away, she divided the chicken and gave us and warned us not to give it to my last born that anyone that gives will have her to contend with.
    The next day, my mom called my brother told him that he shouldn't act that way,he should wait till he is called upon to receive it.
    I learnt something from that it wasn't as if my mom didn't feel sorry for the way she acted towards my brother but she put her emotions aside so he can teach my brother a lesson.
    I learnt that if we put emotions into things we might not achieve some certain things and I also learnt self control from it.
    And again, my dad sent the four of us to different secondary schools all boarding, one day I asked my dad why he sent us to different secondary schools
    He said he wants us to be independent and not rely on each other for survival, sincerely speaking that has helped my life so muchhhh.

Encouragement and empowerment
My mom told us a story of how she needed to register for jamb and when she told my grandfather about it the man brought out Yam and gave it to her
The second time she did ask him for money for the Jamb registration, he gave her an envelope and the envelope was big, she was so happy and when she reached the registration place she brought out the content of the envelope
Low and behold, my grandfather cut pieces of paper and put in the envelope to my mom.
My mom said if she had someone to put her through school that by now she would have achieved a lot.
That we are lucky to have a father that have passionate love for academic that we should grab the opportunity with full chest and make good use of it.
My dad told us that he does trek up to 4 miles to get to school as there was none in his hometown, that he wasn't from a rich home that even the least thing as bicycle his dad didn't have, his school uniform were nothing to write home about but he never looked at that he told us to be Focus that we will achieve what we want.
He also said that's why he doesn't want us to suffer or go through the same thing he went through back then.
My parents don't make decision for us when it comes to choosing course of study ,he will always say whatever you have passion for go for it ,for as long as he breathes he will always encourage and support us.

Sacrifices for our(children) wellbeing
Honestly, my parents have sacrifice alot for us,I won't go into this because it's self sacrificing but I will say My parents are my source of inspiration.
Many times I want to give up because of life challenges and circumstances, I will remember I have parents to make proud.
Each time I want to live a wayward life, I will ask myself Why will I allow my parent's investment to be a waste now?
Frankly, my parents were countless times selfless just so that we will be comfortable and happy.

IMG-20240410-WA0036(1).jpg
[I and my dad]

IMG-20231231-WA0014.jpg
[I, my mom and sister]

IMG-20231231-WA0017.jpg
[My sister and brother]

How can we repay the favor of our parents?

Personally, I do show them gratitude and appreciation.
I will just sit down take a piece of paper write an appreciation letter and slot it into their room when they aren't around.
And when it's father's day/mother's day I will send them a long message of how lucky I am to have them as my parents,I will make them feel special.
Secondly, I spend quality time with them, I ask them how they are doing and just throw in gist,we will gist and laugh, tell them hilarious things that happened in my class/school.
I also offer help and support when needed.
I so much respect their wisdom and experience because most times if not everytime my parents uses their experience to explain things to us and that helps alot and we will learn a lesson from it.
And I will make them proud by living a fulfilling life.

If you are or will become a parent in the future, how will you treat your children?

When I become a parent I'll just emulate all my parents'training methods and use them in my children because that's what worked for me.

  • I would provide a conducive environment for growth.
  • Proper communication between me and my kids
  • I'll set boundaries early and punish whoever oversteps.
  • Encourage independence and self expression
  • show unconditional and undying love and affection to enhance connectivity
  • And I will not forget to beat them seriously or scold them when the do what is not right because that's what my parents did to me, SPARE THE ROD AND SPOIL THE CHILD

IMG_20240317_084813.jpg

Much love to my parents😍😘.
I invite @adachukwu, @suboohi and @goodybest to participate in this contest.

Sort:  

"Wow, this is such a heartwarming post! 🌟 I love how you're expressing gratitude towards your parents for their sacrifices and support. It's truly inspiring to see the positive impact they've had on your life.

Your appreciation letter, spending quality time with them, offering help and support when needed, and making them proud by living a fulfilling life are all great ways to show your love and respect! 🤗

As you mentioned becoming a parent in the future, I'm sure you'll make an amazing one! 💕 Your approach of providing a conducive environment for growth, proper communication, setting boundaries, encouraging independence, showing unconditional love, and disciplining when necessary will surely help shape responsible and kind individuals.

I invite @adachukwu, @suboohi, and @goodybest to join in on the fun! Let's keep the positivity flowing!

Don't forget to vote for our witness 'xpilar.witness' by going to https://steemitwallet.com/~witnesses. Your support will help us continue contributing to the growth and success of the Steem community.

What do you think is the most important lesson or value that your parents have taught you? Let's discuss in the comments below! 🤗"

Loading...
 21 days ago 

Greetings, you have been supported by @hindwhale account for your post. To know more about our community, you can visit our introduction post here. To contact us directly, please visit our discord channel.

Moderator/Curator : @jyoti-thelight


Hind Whale Comment GIF.gif

Subscribe & Join Our Community
Telegram ----- Discord

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60445.30
ETH 2331.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52