Steemit Engagement Challenge S11/W6 - “Most Popular Game of My Country - cricket

in Hindwhale Communitylast year

Good day, my dear friends. I started my SEC S11/W6 with the Hind Whale Community contest hosted by @hindwhale. Even though my country, Sri Lanka, is a small dot on the world map, it has become very popular among every hook and corner of the world because of cricket. Sri Lanka is well-known not only for men's cricket but also for women's cricket. I was a cricket fan from 1972 to 2007, but I dropped out due to my involvement with family life as a mother and responsible employer. Now, I'm not a big fan of cricket, but let's get back to the topic and hear what I have to say.


Designed by Canva

263134BE-FEBD-42D6-AF58-B115E8BBEE82.png

👉 Describe what sports/game is popular most in your country.

There is no doubt that cricket is the most popular sport in my country. When I mentioned my country's name, Sri Lanka, I'm sure everyone who read this article recognized it because of cricket. When there is a cricket match everyone in the country gathers around televisions. Everywhere in the country, even a small child plays cricket. Sri Lanka cricket has become one of the most recognizable brand names in the world thanks to the tireless efforts of the Sri Lanka Cricket Board and our cricket players. Even though people in the country were divided by race, religion, and political views, cricket brought Sri Lankans together. The British introduced cricket to Sri Lanka, and the country is now well-known for both men's and women's cricket.

👉 Is that game played in international competitions like the Olympics or other world championships?

Yes, when it comes to international competitions, Sri Lanka's most famous victory was the ICC Cricket World Cup in 1975, led by Arjuna Ranathunga. In those days, Arjuna, Sanath, Mahanama, Aravinda, and Kaluvitharana were our heroes. After getting test mandate as the world's eighth country, Sri Lanka won its first cricket match against India.

In addition, Sri Lanka has won the Asian Championship five or six times. Sri Lanka became runner-up in several ICC World Cup tournaments. When it comes to the T20 World Cup, Sri Lanka has won the championship and runner-up position several times.

Sri Lanka women's cricket team also had several achievements participating in international level games. According to my knowledge, their highest achievement was reaching the quarter-final of the 1997 Women’s World Cup.

👉 Do you consider that your players are world-class? If yes, name a few of them.

image.png

Yes, our players are world-class cricketers, which is why they demand such high prices in IPPL tournaments. As Sri Lanka is a full member of ICC they are eligible to play in three formats of cricket, Test, ODI, and T20.

I am sure you are all familiar with the names of Arjuna Ranathunga, Romesh Kaluvitharana, Kumar Sangakkar, Mahela Jayawardana, Sanath Jayasuriya, Lasisth Malinga, Muththaiya Murllidaran, Thilkaratne Dilshan, Mawan Athapatththu, Chaminda Vas, and Vanidu Hasaranga when I mentioned their names.

👉 Is your country's favorite game and your country's national game the same or different?

No, our national sport is not the same as cricket. Volleyball is our national game, but today cricket has became the most favorite game in Sri Lanka.

263134BE-FEBD-42D6-AF58-B115E8BBEE82.png

Here is my submission to the contest. I would like to invite @drhira, @waqarahmadshah, @pea07, and @mile16 to take part in this contest. Contest announcement.

10% to @hindwhale

Thank you for reading my post.

Sort:  
 last year 

I know most of your cricketers and appreciate them all. Most of them play in IPL so we get to see them every year as players as well as coaches of different teams. So, this is new to me that volleyball is your national game but we have no national game as such.

 last year 

Thank you for taking the time to read and comment on my post.

Loading...
 last year 

It was an interesting read. I didn’t know that volleyball is the national sport of Sri Lanka until I read your post. My best wishes for the contest! 😊

 last year 

Thank you for stopping by my post and your kind feedback.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 55747.11
ETH 2323.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34