HWC CONTEST #6 - What are the best & worst TV advertisements you have ever seen?

in Hindwhale Communitylast year (edited)



Man oh man, do I love this contest or what?

All my life I’ve been intrigued by adverts.

When dad gave us the newspaper to read when we were tiny tots I always first paged through it to look at all the adverts. I am sure you will agree with me that newspaper adverts are pretty boring. Nerveless, I still looked at them.

In later years the newspaper was replaced by mom’s favorite magazine, “Huisgenoot” and all of a sudden the advertisements were no longer boring.

To crown it my brother started his own advertising agency. He had huge clients on his books. Clients like, Adidas South Africa, Vodacom (network supplier in Africa), and Telkom a Telecommunication Company in South Africa.
It gave me such pleasure to open a magazine and see, or to hear one of his adverts playing on the radio.

As a businesswoman, I am a strong believer in advertising. You cannot grow your business if you don’t advertise PLUS advertising doesn’t have to cost you an arm and a leg.

And that brings me to what is needed from this contest.

  • Which advertisement do you like the best, and why?
  • Which advertisement do you dislike the most, and why?

In my eyes, there is no such thing as a bad advertisement. I often see that advertisements that people dislike are the ones that keep them talking and is that not after all what you want to accomplish with an advert?

The advertisement I like best

My favorite and best advertisement cannot be any other than one of my own advertisements.

We were launching our property portal and with two giants in the market, we knew we had only one chance to make it work. Together with our advertising agency, Halo, we decided to use South Africa’s most loved and hated character, South Africa’s own goblin, the Tokoloshe.

All South Africans know about the Tokoloshe which makes the life of so many miserable. If you think Tokoloshe you think of paranormal activities. Those “stories” that make you wonder, is it real or not?
We just had to capitalize on stories published in newspapers or told on the radio. We decided to take our story one step further, to television.

We created an unbranded advert that looked like a clip taken with a mobile phone by someone watching the news and seeing a coverage about the Tokoloshe. When then paid bloggers and influences to “spread” the news on their social media platforms.

It was a hit! Within minutes we were contacted by television stations, radio stations, and journalists. The debate among South Africans started all over again. Is the tokoloshe real or not?

After two days we again paid the same channels to place a follow-up advert. This time it was a branded one.

We succeeded! We got South Africans talking and the media spreading the word. I even donated the Tokoloshe we used in the advert to one of the radio stations after an interview where it is still sitting safely behind glass doors in their foyer… or not?

The advertisement I dislike the most

“Fresh”, Cape Town Fish Market is the advert I dislike the most by far. Not only do I find it tasteless but also not “fresh”.

In this advert, the advertising agency, Lowe and Lowe, claims that the fish of their client Cape Town Fish Market is indeed fresh and not frozen like the fish served by their competitors. They do this in a strange but funny way. I could see the “fresh” side of the advert but what I disliked was them pushing the racist boundaries when racism is such a touchy subject in South Africa.

It shows a white man with a black face acting as a politician painting the picture that powerful black men are corrupt especially when he refers to “put that in the 'expense account'"

The Advertising Standards Authority told the agency to remove the advert and the agency subsequently apologized for offending South Africans.

The words of Leo Burnett are always with me when I review an advert;


“Any fool can write a bad ad, but it takes a real genius to keep his hands off a good one.”

I just love advertisements!

━─━────༺༻────━─━

To end:

A big thank you to @rey01v who invited me to participate in this contest.

I invite:
@saintkelvin17
@senehasa
@starrchris

Club100
Transfer to vesting: 1,785.820 STEEM
Normal transfer: 24.000 STEEM (Contest prizes
You can check the contest by Clicking here


━─━────༺༻────━─━

Don't miss out on 80 DAYS, 80 CHANCES TO WIN, and 80,000 SP IN PRIZES presented by @pennsif.witness for growth across the platform through robust communication at all levels and targeted high yield developments with the resources available. Click to read more Vote here
Sort:  
 last year 

@patjewell
"Great insight into the advertising world! Your passion for advertising is inspiring and your personal experience with the launch of your property portal shows the power of creative and impactful advertising. Your opinion on the Cape Town Fish Market advert highlights the importance of being mindful of cultural sensitivities in advertising. Love your quote by Leo Burnett, it truly captures the essence of good advertising. Keep the love for advertisements alive!"

 last year 

I appreciate being given the chance to take part in this contest. But I have to admit, I detest watching TV. Therefore, I am unable to determine whether an advertisement is excellent or bad. I got the impression from reading your blog that you have a lot of expertise in the advertising industry. Have luck in the competition.

Hello!
I saw afterwards that you wrote that you don't know how to enter this contest and that you will wait for the next one.(•ิ‿•ิ)
I do appreciate your response.
See you in the next contest!

 last year 

Thankyou @patjewell for accepting my invitation and sharing your thoughts

The thank you belongs to me. ☕

 last year 

😀 ☕

Loading...
Congratulations!
This post has been upvoted through steemcurator07.
We support quality posts anywhere and any tags.
Curated by : @petface

TEAM 4 CURATORS

@petface
Thank you! Your vote is appreciated!

It is for me to say thank you for visiting and engaging with my post.
Advertisements... you either love them or you hate them. (•ิ‿•ิ)

 last year 

Greetings, you have been supported by @hindwhale account for your post. To know more about our community, you can visit our introduction post here. To contact us directly, please visit our discord channel.


Moderator : @pathanapsana

Support Our Witness

@hindwhale

Hind Whale Comment GIF.gif

Subscribe & Join Our Community
Telegram ----- Discord

@pathanapsana
Thank you! It is appreciated!

 last year 

In my eyes, there is no such thing as a bad advertisement

A great point from you. It shows your professionalism to the field. Now a days many ads are taking with controversial topics so that the people talk about it and it spread like a news.
Great submission for your side. Good luck.

controversial topics

It's true, these topics draw the crowds.
Thank you for the visit and the engagement.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67284.54
ETH 3306.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71