"Steemit Engagement Challenge S6/W1 - List Your Childhood Outdoor Games, Which are Not Famous Globally."

in Hindwhale Community2 years ago (edited)

The Thrashing Games

  

Let me assure you that you will read about some of the strangest games you must have played as a child, games full of thrills and thrashing that help boys become stronger and better prepared to face life's challenges. So now I am absolutely capable of standing up to the demands of life, and nothing makes me feel afraid after having played these games. If you're still interested in learning about my games, please read on.

Screenshot (664).png

I participated in the most unsophisticated games deemed unacceptable by high society.


Screenshot (543)1.png

During my childhood, I lived in a colony especially designed for top agricultural officials, it was part of a manufacturing unit of agricultural instruments and farm houses for experiments on plants and crops. Our colony had only nine houses surrounded by a large number of fruit trees, most of which were used for research and development by agriculturists, but we, the children of that colony, were free to climb on them (while our fathers were not around).


pygmy-sloth-62869_960_720.jpg

Image

So during my younger days, my favorite outdoor activity was to climb on those trees during our regular game of hide and seek. That was a lot of fun because climbing and hiding on different high trees during this game gave me immense pleasure. The higher the goal, the better. However, after falling from a guava tree and nearly breaking my knee, I was forced to discontinue this activity.


Screenshot (543)22.png

My second favorite game was kabaddi. Kabaddi is a game that needs nothing but a space, and in our case, it's a green lawn in front of our houses. So we divided our lawn with a rope, and the playing area was ready. It was easy, and the best thing was if we had to exit in an emergency, especially when we heard the watchman say "Coming, Sir," before opening the lock on the gate of the colony to let our fathers enter after work.

We knew the basic rules and formed two teams of as many boys and girls present at that time and whatever lawn was available. That means our mothers were not present in that house. The only rule was to raid the other half of the arena, touch someone while chanting Kabaddi-Kabaddi in one breath, and "kill" the opposite member to score points. And the opposite party would try to get a hold of the raider and break his breath before they could return their own half.

As I told you, there were only nine houses in our colony and about 30 children in all. Yes, in my childhood, having 3-4 children per household was a normal practice, unlike now, when there are 1-2 children per household. But then the children were divided into age groups, and the age group I belonged to had more girls in our colony.

However, no one cared about gender when I was eight or nine, so we played Kabaddi every evening until 5.30 because that was the time when our respective fathers returned from work, and Kabaddi wasn't supposed to be a gentleman's game back then, and if caught, a heavy punishment was a foregone conclusion.

However, I invited this by making a serious mistake. Actually, 9 of us were playing kabaddi, and there were 5 girls on one side and 4 boys on the other. So in my second raid, I was captured by the girls' gag and thrown to the ground. As a rule, if a player stops saying "Kabaddi, Kabaddi," which the raider has to say in one breath, he either comes back to his own half or is considered out of the game unless someone from the other side is out.


pexels-photo-10347115.jpeg

kabaddi

What I did was, when the girls did not get up from me even though I was out and kept riding on me as if I were a pony, I abused them in a rush of blood, and as luck would have it, our fathers entered the gate almost at the same time. The girl in charge of the other group, who happened to be the daughter of the big boss, ran to my father and said, "Uncle, Dev, has called us names."

It did not happen immediately, but it happened 15 minutes later because it took us almost 15 minutes to walk back to our house. My father had my hand in his with a firm grip, and it started as soon as we entered the house and onto the large open area called the courtyard. No, there was no concept of "Naughty Corner" in those days, but it used to be the cane that took care of such a serious offense. Even decades later, I recall how my bum and back felt for weeks.

My third most favorite game used to be driving the cranes and tractors, which were available just as we crossed the barbed wire in the manufacturing unit and onto the yard where agricultural instruments were kept behind the residential area before transportation to various distribution centers.

During the day when operators were on duty, they would let me operate the cranes and tractors as much as an 8- to 9-year-old should, but once they were off duty, I would cross the barbed wire again and pretend as if I were operating those heavy instruments. You see, those instruments needed keys to start them, but I had no access to those keys, but I enjoyed the game of driving cranes and tractors as much as I enjoyed Kabaddi or climbing the trees.


crane-3109757_960_720.jpg

Image


Screenshot (543)333.png

I used to play marbles, flying kites, and Gulli Danda too, which were considered tabu in our society, so I never mastered them because they needed a few assets, and if I was to get caught with them, that was asking for another thrashing. One of the simplest, albeit dangerous, but most popular, particularly in rural India. Gilli Danda is a game that needs a small wooden stick and another small piece of wood. Making a hole in the ground, we toss and hit the small piece, and the rules are similar to cricket. I would love to mention that me and my brother used to swim in a local river and perfected the art of swimming.

Later, I enjoyed playing cricket and badminton once I was in sixth grade, but these games are in the popular games category, so I will not mention them. And I believe we are here to discuss unusual games, so what could be more unusual than games with a sound thrashing? I was in the 50-50 club. That means I got away half the time from being thrashed by my father. I knew that my father was against games because he believed that only studies can make a man perfect and games ruin his future, and he wanted me to become an engineer like himself.

I hope you enjoyed the games I played in my childhood, and I am sure you certainly disliked how I got thrashed by my father while playing these unusual games. However, my mother was kind, so she never went beyond giving me a slap or two but never caned me.

I Invite-
@sumon247
@doriscermeno27
@livingmoney

beneficiary hindwhale @15%

Headre Created in Ms Paint, funky and self drawn image using following images
Header Image Source
Header
Header

Sort:  

I'm familiar with most of this games especially the hid and seek and climbing of trees, oh my you just reminded me of my childhood days, we used to play hid and seek even in the night and our parent kicked against it, reason so that we don't get hurt 🤕 then climbing of trees we used to drive on trees as cars haha 😂 each person used to have his or her favorite spot on the tree, all those games were simply harmlessly fun 😊! How sad children of nowadays don't know most of this fun and Educative games because cartoon has taken over. Thanks for sharing with us!

 2 years ago 

Thanks, but you missed the main part of the game, the thrashing part. My dad often played it with me - The thrashing game, where I was at the receiving end and my dad was the striker. He missed half the shots so I was in 50-50 club. Thanks for accepting and reading my humble effort.👍You're truly good and best.

 2 years ago 

You shared a cluster of games which filled our childhood days very happy and entertaining. Unforgettable golden days in childhood memories.

 2 years ago 

So glad I reminded you about your childhood memories. But I am sure you did not face those naughty things that I did and faced the cane 😄😁😂

Thank you, friend!
I'm @steem.history, who is steem witness.
Thank you for witnessvoting for me.
image.png
please click it!
image.png
(Go to https://steemit.com/~witnesses and type fbslo at the bottom of the page)

The weight is reduced because of the lack of Voting Power. If you vote for me as a witness, you can get my little vote.

 2 years ago 

Thank you!

 2 years ago 
CategoryRemarkScore
#Club751/1
Verified User1/1
#steemexlusive1/1
Plagiarism Free1/1
Bot Free1/1
Voting CSI > 51/1
Markdown Style1/1
Quality Content2.5/3
Total9.5/10
Feedback / Note
  • Thanks for participate in steemit engagement challenge. I seen your content which is containing childhood games. Kabaddi is femous game in childhood and in our past time we played that without any rule or limit.
  • Thanks for participate with hind whale community.
 2 years ago 

Thank you for validation and your remarks 👍

 2 years ago 

Greetings, you have been supported by @hindwhale account for your post. To know more about our community, you can visit our introduction post here. To contact us directly, please visit our discord channel.


Moderator/Curator : @pathanapsana

Support Our Witness

@hindwhale

Hind Whale Comment GIF.gif

Subscribe & Join Our Community
Telegram ----- Discord

 2 years ago 

Thanks for support!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62227.11
ETH 2400.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50