Photos of feathered friends--Some Turkeys #club100steemCreated with Sketch.

Hello Everyone! I am participating in @strawberry's #featheredfriends contest. You can participate here: https://steemit.com/hive-176147/@strawberrry/club75-sontest-photos-of-feathered-friends-week-28

I was visiting Hells Gate State Park in Idaho when these turkeys visited my campsite.

20220905_183710.jpg

Cute, aren't they? I had no idea that wild turkeys lives this far west, but apparently they do. These are females, of course. I did not see any sign of a tom turkey anywhere. Good thing too because male turkeys are not known to be very nice. They refuse to take care of their chicks!

Overall, they were quite timid, but also inquisitive. I had the distinct feeling that these turkeys wanted to make friends with me.

20220905_183805.jpg

One of them dropped a feather. When I picked it up, the boss lady turkey stared and stared at me like she would come and get it. I would have given it back if she came to get it. Sadly, she didn't work up the nerve.

20220905_183725.jpg

Isn't Boss Lady cute the way she stretches out her neck at me? Maybe she thought I was a turkey too as I was holding a big turkey feather.

20220905_183639.jpg

Eventually, my new friends wandered away. They had places to go, I guess.

20220906_071720.jpg

I like to believe they nested down for the night in view of this lovely cliff. Or perhaps, my feathered friends were sheltered inside this juniper shrub.

20220906_072913.jpg

Overall, I was pleased with my wild turkey experience. Sometimes turkeys are aggressive and absolutely no one wants to be victim of their sharp little beak.

This is a 100% POWER UP! post for #club100

Sort:  

Hi, @brittilicious,

Thank you for your contribution to the Steem ecosystem.

Your post was picked for curation by @strawberrry.


Please consider voting for our witness, setting us as a proxy,
or delegate to @ecosynthesizer to earn 100% of the curation rewards!
3000SP | 4000SP | 5000SP | 10000SP | 100000SP

Are you looking for a turkey on your Thanksgiving table? ;)

Hah! I have not cooked a turkey in a while. Perhaps I should cook one. Not one of these wild birds, however. I will get a plump domestic turkey from the grocery store, or perhaps buy a nice one from the Hutterite community. They are a group of German/eastern European Christians that migrated around Europe until they were expelled from Russia in the late 1800s. Interestingly, they live communally--more or less as communists (with a small c). After leaving Russia, they migrated to Canada to farm the prairies--and are still here--living in their communes.

We don't have turkeys in the wild. This is a bird of the American continent.
In our region, turkeys are also rarely seen in households. 15 years ago I wanted to start breeding this bird, but I was offered a new job and I realized that I would not be able to devote much time to birds. This is a very troublesome business when the turkeys are still small.

But I always have thoughts about raising poultry in my head. Maybe life circumstances and the situation in the country, in the World, will force me to make them a reality.

Hobby farming can be a lot of work. Still, keeping small flocks of poultry or a few other animals can be a good idea. Chickens are always useful, but I like goats as well. They are satisfied with eating weeds, and they produce milk and meat.

Goats and sheep are also my favorite topic. But there is a problem - harvesting hay to feed them in winter. And yet - you need to graze them in the meadow. There used to be a common village herd, now there is no such thing. I don't want animals roaming around the village.

Is hay expensive there? can you grow it yourself?

I make hay myself. But for this I took a vacation at work. You need to catch at least 4 sunny days to mow, dry and collect hay. But there is Murphy's law - I mowed the grass, so it will rain tomorrow.

Ah yes. It is either too much rain or not enough. All farmers have stomach ulcers from the stress.

 2 years ago 

Какие они милые! Спасибо за участие!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 57483.44
ETH 2574.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48