Sort:  

Hah! I have not cooked a turkey in a while. Perhaps I should cook one. Not one of these wild birds, however. I will get a plump domestic turkey from the grocery store, or perhaps buy a nice one from the Hutterite community. They are a group of German/eastern European Christians that migrated around Europe until they were expelled from Russia in the late 1800s. Interestingly, they live communally--more or less as communists (with a small c). After leaving Russia, they migrated to Canada to farm the prairies--and are still here--living in their communes.

We don't have turkeys in the wild. This is a bird of the American continent.
In our region, turkeys are also rarely seen in households. 15 years ago I wanted to start breeding this bird, but I was offered a new job and I realized that I would not be able to devote much time to birds. This is a very troublesome business when the turkeys are still small.

But I always have thoughts about raising poultry in my head. Maybe life circumstances and the situation in the country, in the World, will force me to make them a reality.

Hobby farming can be a lot of work. Still, keeping small flocks of poultry or a few other animals can be a good idea. Chickens are always useful, but I like goats as well. They are satisfied with eating weeds, and they produce milk and meat.

Goats and sheep are also my favorite topic. But there is a problem - harvesting hay to feed them in winter. And yet - you need to graze them in the meadow. There used to be a common village herd, now there is no such thing. I don't want animals roaming around the village.

Is hay expensive there? can you grow it yourself?

I make hay myself. But for this I took a vacation at work. You need to catch at least 4 sunny days to mow, dry and collect hay. But there is Murphy's law - I mowed the grass, so it will rain tomorrow.

Ah yes. It is either too much rain or not enough. All farmers have stomach ulcers from the stress.

😂😂😂