How not to launch a project? Look at Blurt & Zapata :)steemCreated with Sketch.

in Project HOPE4 years ago (edited)

A few days ago, the airdrop for the new platforms Blurt and Zapata took place... at least, it was supposed to take place. Few times have I seen such a messy launch and lack of information. So, let us take a look at some of the mistakes I would emphasize on based on what I have seen so far. The problems are all based on marketing and information.

What is Blurt and Zapata?

We have recently seen a major airdrop as Steem was divided into Hive and Steem. We all knew what the airdrop was about, we understood why it happened, and everyone had an opinion about what was going on. It was impossible to be active on Steem without joining the debate or having an opinion.

zapata.jpg
Who cares? Looks like a project from a kids room somewhere in the world!

And now... here we have the Blurt and Zapata airdrop of which I heard for the first time on July 5th (one day before the airdrop). I read about it in an article posted in Project Hope, and I was quite amazed to read about it. How was it possible that such a big airdrop could pass by without me knowing about it? Maybe I am living in a cave somewhere? I would be amazed about it, but still... I wanted to give it a chance.

But, there is simply no information available about Blurt & Zapata. They have official Twitter channels, but those contain little information (I would really say nothing). Who cares about the Zapata logo if they don't have any information?

Even worse... where are the websites? Before the Hive launch, we knew the site on which the platform would launch, it had an official countdown clock, and it was up and working very quickly after the airdrop. Well, with the Blurt platform and the Zapata platform, everything is different.

It had the potential, it was even highlighted on Coinmarketcal.com as a promising and interesting project that could cause some fuzz and interest last week... but, what happened? No information, no fuzz, no nothing!

Instagram for Nigeria?

I have read something about Zapata turning into the new Instagram in Nigeria or something like that? But, where are the official sources? Where are the official websites? What's up?

What has happened since the airdrop?

I simply don't get it... what has happened since the so-called airdrop? There is no information on the official Twitter channels, and they are not posting and flooding Steem and Hive with information about the projects. It is so strange. Where are the how-to guides with the information we need?

I feel as if I could have created more fuzz on Steem and Hive with 30 minutes of work than these projects have done in total. It is impossible to take two projects seriously that simply don't do anything.

Wasted potential...

When people hear about airdrops, they turn bullish about projects. Of course, the airdrop was supposed to happen based on the amount of Steem people had in May, meaning that it wouldn't have caused a price increase at all. But, with so many eyes looking towards Steem/Hive and also Blurt and Zapata, why didn't they use the chance to feed information to those hungry for that?

When a store is opening, they often come up with big discounts, just to bring the customer to the store, and hopefully, make it a habit for them to return to the store in the future. Blurt and Zapata didn't do a thing. People came to find information and to visit the store, but all they met were closed doors. Not only are the doors closed, but they don't really seem to open.

If they ever decide to open the doors, it will take much longer time to get that "boost" that they would have received, if they would have opened the doors at once.

What to do now?

Was there even an airdrop? Blurt is supposed to be trading on Ionomy, but where are the tokens? How can you trade them? Can you start using the platform? This is simply just a mess!

blurt twitter.jpg

Blurt and Zapata - I hope you have learned the lesson!

Without information and marketing, you might have the best or the worst project in the world... but, it will all be a waste! I am not judging the actual potential of Blurt and/or Zapata, but, I am just saying that everything has happened in the wrong way.

I remember seeing a link to the Zapata (or was it Blurt) temporary website or something, but now I am unable to find the link. As a result, if I wanted to use the platforms, I wouldn't know how to do so. Do they even exist? Has the airdrop happened?

This is just a mess and a terrible example of how not to do a thing.

I am not really that critical kind of guy, but this is just painful to watch! I hope that we all learn a lesson from this and that we will be starter when it comes to our own projects and other projects that we mentor and help in some kind of way.

plagiarism free.png
This is an original article written by me for Project Hope!

Sort:  

And now... here we have the Blurt and Zapata airdrop of which I heard for the first time on July 5th (one day before the airdrop).

The snapshot for airdrop was taken on the 20th of May.

It had the potential, it was even highlighted on Coinmarketcal.com as a promising and interesting project that could cause some fuzz and interest last week... but, what happened? No information, no fuzz, no nothing!

I don't think anyone talked about the promise of the project on coinmarketcal. That event was posted by me on coinmarketcal.

To be honest, I don't have any expectations with these chains but the people behind it are working hard on it.

To access blurt, head over to https://blurt.world
To access your wallet, go to blurtwallet.com

You can trade blurt on ionomy but the price is just around 2 cents.

Thanks for the reply... are you part of the team? By the way, I know the event was on Coinmarketcal, but the Coinmarketcal team featured the event and posted about it in their daily newsletter and so... that is what I referred to :)

I know the snapshot was in May, that is why it wouldn't have caused any bullish tendencies to the Steem token no matter what.

The funny thing is... why don't they post the Blurt link on their twitter profile? Why isn't it any official information available anywhere? Even those who want to use it, can't really find a way to use it and anything else. That was the main point of the post... It might be a great project and that the team is working better, but they would definitely need some work on spreading information and marketing if they want this to go somewhere good!

No, I am not a part of the team.
Coinmarketcal featured it in their daily newsletter because it got around 1100 votes and if you browse coinmarketcal, no other project is even halfway of 1100. I don't know who voted but it did get votes. I told the team after it had already got over 1050 votes.

I don't know if it a good project or not. I don't know if it was wise to create a new chain but without proper marketing, even the best of the projects won't get off the ground. They can still make a good project out of it if they promote it heavily.

Yeah, it can turn good... but they have done lots of mistakes in the start that will make it way harder! Thanks for your feedback!

 4 years ago 

Dear @unbiasedwriter

I had similar impression, that from marketing point of view Blurt and Zapata failed tremendously. Communication-wise it seem that TheCryptoDrive is putting only reall effort.

I feel as if I could have created more fuzz on Steem and Hive with 30 minutes of work than these projects have done in total. It is impossible to take two projects seriously that simply don't do anything.

You nailed it.

Im seriously not even sure if I feel comfortable using my Steem keys to sign in. I'm not sure how secure or unsecure should I feel about it.

When people hear about airdrops, they turn bullish about projects.

I disagree with you. Smart money and investors with little financial knowledge will be very bearish. Only those who would see tokens as "free money" could possibly be bullish.
I think that airdrops are the reason why investors do not want to get involved.

Enjoy your weekend,
Yours, Piotr

I have been asking myself the same question when it comes to using my keys for logging in... Well, I guess I will wait and then time will show!

Airdrops don't make me bullish about a coin itself (I might have written in an unclear way), but an airdrop might give the coin a bullish short-term perspective, considering how people pump and dump coins because of the same (just see the Nuls chart for the last weeks, as they have an airdrop coming up in about 12 hours).

Don't spend much time in untrusted project, it could be whaleshare who fail at all

Might be good reasoning... they haven't given us much reason to trust them yet at least...

I think the team involved are really doing a great job in making most of the acquisition you laid against them possible. Remember it just a new platform and there are really phases of development involved. You can't just expect everything to be ready just like that, it really takes time and effort for this to happen and they are really working on it.

Also, I heard they just got listed at @ionomy exchange and this shows that the team are really working very hard to make this happen, we just need to be patient and give them more time since Rome was never created in a single day.

Thanks for sharing this great post with love from @hardaeborla and I hope you have a great day ahead
💕❤️💖💕❤️💖💕❤️💖💕❤️💖💕❤️

Glad to read your comment and that you feel as if the team is doing a great job. To be honest, I have no clue about who the team even are. They might be working hard, but looking at Blurt, I am not impressed by the website either (just a copy of old Steemit with nothing changed (except for the logo). If things aren't ready, why launch and do the fork? It might be great, but it just isn't the way things should have been done!

An ionomy listing is great, but where are the articles and official information about this (besides linking to the ionomy article?) Why aren't there any real official information from the teams given about anything at all?

I haven't seen the link to zapata website leading to the blockchain but the truth is the two blockchains didn’t have good PR. All they needed was a hype like hive and they would have been good.

I can't really see a future in the both chain but if any would survive, maybe blurt would.

Well, anything can happen - but, I am not to positive seeing how it has all started!

it is clear that they made big mistakes and I don't think that have a lot of future, honestly I think it is what happens when you don't have a good planning in the projects, it's a shame because they look promising and ambitious

i will not be powering down soon but rather, i will start growing on the platform::::: did i just say that, well i might powerdown and i might just let my tokens grow, it is dependent on the project.. for now, investing in hive engine tokens looks more profitable but the future could change things

It is so sad to watch this happen, I had liked their zeal to push even when almost everyone was against the project but certainly some of us can learn from their errors.

Yeah, I am cheering for all projects with good intentions and a potential, including Zapata and Blurt... Let's hope they will get back on track quickly!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 55117.74
ETH 2310.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31