Give up on something to go higher!

I recently read a book written by John Maxwell about personal growth. It was quite interesting, and I read a chapter in which he said that you need to give up things to get further. It was so strange, and I didn't feel as if it spoke to me at all. He told about people giving up positions as managers and leaders, only to take on normal jobs as employees in other industries and businesses. It might have felt like a drawback for them, but in reality, it was a way to progress and to grow!

Once again, I didn't really like the chapter, and I didn't feel as if it spoke to me at all.

give up on something to go higher.png

Then I suddenly realized something...

That is when I suddenly realized something. It was strange. Recently, I have been working hard to develop my skills in graphics, animations, and video editing. I haven't had much time, and in fact, it has made me have less time for writing articles here on the platform, and also on other blogs and websites that I work with. I was thinking about this, when I suddenly understood that I am currently in the business of doing exactly what John Maxwell was writing about.

I have to cut down on something in order to grow into something new!

I don't like the fact that I don't have as much time to work with blogging as I normally had, but I have understood that it is a sacrifice that I need to make in order to grow, and maybe do my work even more efficiently.

Maybe I will loose out on income for a couple of months or years by making changes, but in the end, I will be more happy as I grow, and hopefully, it will also generate a higher income and more blessings in the future.

Once again,
it was such a strange thing to suddenly discover that the chapter I didn't relate to and didn't like, actually described a process that I was in the middle of. Cool!

You do not make such changes every day, nor do you do them every month. But, there are times in which you need to make bigger changes and maybe stop doing something you have done for a long time (and that feels safe) in order to do something new that will make you grow. It will for sure feel like a risk, but it is a way to grow and progress!

Thank you for reading everyone. If you have thoughts or comments, please let me know!

plagiarism free.png
This is an original article written by me for Project Hope!

Sort:  

Hello friend, it is a good reflection that you share with us, you are right sometimes we need to take care of things that allow us to grow, to improve our work, likewise happens to me and I think we are strengthening to share new experiences.
I hope you continue to be successful in what you do, have an excellent weekend 🤝

Hello, the writer is correct we need to learn how to make desired sacrifices if we want to grow and for this to happen we need to look beyond the current status of convenience and look higher.

Certainly to achieve success we often have to leave behind things from the past that can tie us to failure if we do not leave them behind. Greetings and thanks for sharing.

Hello @unbiasedwriter
You are a great reader, as far as I can see, you must surely be a person with good conversation skills.

You are also self-analytical, because reading and realizing that something you don't like, in a certain way is because you feel identified, is a good job of observation.

Thanks for your comment. To be honest, I kind of like seeing my weaknesses and my strengths. Knowing that you are weak, just makes you stronger, and knowing your strengths, make you able to take advantage of them. :)

Unfortunately, there are times when I don't read at all, but currently, I am in a very good flow reading a lot, and enjoying it :)

Of course, there are moments when it does not provoke reading, but the moments when we can do it, and we also feel like it, we have to take advantage of it.
It is true, knowing our weaknesses allows us to work on them, to overcome them and strengthen them.
And our strengths, to maintain them, to take them further.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64513.75
ETH 3146.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95