You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: VERY CONCERNING NEWS: What does new BAN ON CRYPTO means for Nigerian users?

in Project HOPE4 years ago (edited)

I think the whole issue was exaggerated alittle by the press. I believe that no reasonable government will place a ban on something without explaining why they are taking that strict action. There is also a popular video going around that was released by the press when they interview one of the CBN official that said that the press misunderstood them on the issue. I believe that time will tell but I also strongly believe that this cannot affect crypto industry in Nigeria like the way they paint it in some publications on the internet.

In the next few days the whole issue will be clear to everyone but I still maintain my stand that CBN can not block the account of people involved in Cryptocurrency because majority of Nigeria youth are in one way or the other involved in Cryptocurrency.

Sort:  
 4 years ago 

Dear @great-a

Thanks for sharing your thoughts with me.

I think the whole issue was exaggerated alittle by the press.

Perhaps you're right. However, right now I already know few Nigerians that cannot access their funds.

One of them wrote to me today that he used to exchange funds at roqqu.com and it's not possible any more

I believe that no reasonable government will place a ban on something without explaining why they are taking that strict action.

I'm not very familiar with authorities in Nigeria, however based on all informations I have - I would never expect them to be "reasonable". And this seem to be one of those goverments, which doesn't really care much about their citizens and do not care about communicating with them.
At least that's my impression so far.

let's hope that indeed this issue will become clearer within next few days.

Have a great sunday,
Yours, Piotr

Yes I really hope that the whole issue will be clarified very soon.

Thanks

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 60256.67
ETH 2327.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46