You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What should I do with my painful feelings? Should I give them space, or do something else?

in Project HOPE3 years ago

Life is not easy, and we were never promised that it would be easy.

I, too, watched the Denmark-Finland match... and I observed later that I stopped caring what the score was.

My wife and I have both been in/around the mental health field for many many years, and one of the common pieces of wisdom is experience your feelings. We humans are very good at deflecting difficult feelings by "getting busy" and such... but those feelings are real and honest. What happens if we shove them in the background is that we end up with something known as "unexperienced emotions." And they can become like ticking time bombs in our hearts and souls... until one day something else happens and we suddenly have an uncomfortably large reaction to a relatively small event, and we don't understand why... and people look at us and say "what's WRONG with you???"

It's much easier to permit yourself an afternoon or a day to be sad and reflective than to suppress it and suddenly need actual therapy in five years' time!

Sort:  

Thank you for the comment and for your advice! I guess that is what I know deep down inside is the best thing to do, but it doesn't feel easy:)

I greatly appreciate your comment, your thoughts, and the experience (from your work) that you shared!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63464.16
ETH 3111.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98