Talk about abuse

in Project HOPE4 years ago

My fellow community members, blockchain users, investors, community police, fellow readers and friends. I would like to take this opportunity to make this post, and to show you what is my take in regards of "abuse". This is a direct reply to @steemitblog on the recent topic of What is abuse.

First of all, I would like to emphasize, I'm not talking about qualification or justification. I'm merely a blockchain user, just like any other tom, dick and harry here. Good thing for me is, I don't practice much social blogging previously, so there's not much cross posting crime I have commited. I do have a few dead blogs here and there, at one point I love to blog about cars, so I had a few entries and slowly I got bored, sold the car and the blog remain untouched for a decade.

Other than that, I also have a blog about writing scripts for automation in trading CFD, but that doesn't last because there's virtually no engagement, I'm the only idiot contributing a line of text to the blog post. For the record, I've signed up with Google Ads, and you wanna guess how much do I earn over the past 20 years?

image.png

At this stage, we haven't even begin our discussion on the topic. Reason being, I'm trying to tell you there's so many different type of people around here in the community. Different background, different intentions. Part of these people are here for a social purpose(including social engineering which we will cover later in this post), investment(including scam,cheat,con,self monetizing which we will cover later in this post), and a portion of them(us I mean) are here for a little bit of both at the same time getting monetized by cryto reward. So, how do we define abuse? Now, on your knees!

image.png
Here's an example of what cross chain post looks like. Can we say this is abuse? I beg to differ. There is no rules in blockchain. Everybody has a freewill do to whatever they want. However, both of these blockchains are monetized, and users are getting reward via upvote from other users/community. You can agree to reward, you can choose to take away their reward by downvoting them, so the reward be return to the reward pool. It's always a choice. However, human's greed is ugly and selfish. What happened before the hard fork was, a bunch of selfish self nominated community police, that flags abuse, at the same time they commit the abuse. This is what we call, 賊喊抓賊 - Hypocrite!

image.png

Ahem... so, who is the real thief? Are we supposed to return the reward to the reward pool because of the abuse? And the police picked up the confiscated reward and put it into their own pocket? I'm not against them seriously. I'm sure they will come back with a bunch of "reasons"(or excuse) for running such a security project isn't easy and needed that reward to pay for their "volunteer"(or selected) committee on their expenses so they can stay afloat. I even reported a few abuse which I really think they're overboard. This is what we really needed, a real 3rd party service that help to police the community, that their reward is disregarded from the community reward pool.

How about upvotes

Here, off topic for awhile, enjoy some nice music. I'm not too worry about community education. You and me, Peter, Paul and Mary we all know cross posting same monetized content and collect double reward is wrong, but we still do it and we have bunch of reasons(excuses) to support the fact that it's our own intellectual property, there's no term for self plagiarism. Why can't we cross post it and get double reward? Admittedly, after stayed away from both #steem and #hive for a week, I finally decided I will do the right thing. I will be turning OFF my reward beneficiaries for cross post material. My take is, cross post is fine, because in the end there's more than one platform we can earn. But when it's monetized, be extremely careful. Not only the person who post should know their reward are bound to be forfeited. Try to do this to YouTube if you are monetized YouTuber, and you'll be seriously screwed. Other than that, I would also like to highlight this to the counter party, which is the upvoter. By committing an upvote, which means you have agreed to the material you read and support. It's your responsibility to do the due diligence before committing that upvote. You can choose to NOT upvote if you foresee the material is going to get punish, rather than try your luck, put in your upvote and later it got flagged, and you're shouting loss of curator reward. Curator is supposed to check on the material, not blindly upvote. This also include some user who like to dig their old post and do a recycle production. Again, is this wrong? I guess having something like a @cheetah bot is a good thing to remind other users that it found a similar content. Take note that I'm not encouraging plagiarism. Merely stating the fact that, reuse or recycle material of the right of use from the same author is not wrong. But whether to qualify for monetization is another issue here. Please flag if you find plagiarizing material. No question ask.

What about downvote

Since we cover upvote portion, we should also know that the recent hardfork has split into separated upvote mana and downvote mana to a different mechanism. What does this mean? It means, you can freely use the power of rewarding, and also the other way round, to remove reward from a post without worrying the consumption of rewarding power. You see, here's the problem. By nature, it's good thing to have yin and yang(陰陽), in the "body". However, it's bad when you have 2 different body, which one can consume all his/her Yin without hurting theyr Yang. Let us quickly run a recap on what HF22 does back in August 2019. The VOTING POWER which supposed to be the "choice" of user to use it to UP vote or DOWN vote. It's all about a sound decision. However, during the fork of HF22, a new DOWNVOTE POWER being given for free. Which means, now one have a rights to flag for FREE. Further detail can be found here. In my opinion, downvote is required, but not on a seperate power. It should weight exactly the same as upvote power. If you spent this much of downvote, you're going to lose that much of upvote power. Simple and efficient.

Community police

I am not going to cover a big portion on the policing industry. Apparently, blockchain security can be extreme, it's unbreakable if the chain remain intact, and it's unsound if the chain is broken. Imagine a combination of 52 characters alphanumeric key is virtually unbreakable. But still, it can be extremely vulnerable in terms of human factor. Social engineering is one of the way to scam a person to handout their keys. I don't know what happened to the world, and I'm not a psychologist, all I know is people are getting really vulnerable and very trusting to the internet. There's a recent case saying a lady sent thousands of dollars to a man she hasn't seen before, and believing he is going to need some money to visit her so they can be together. Phishing is another. Imagine when I put up a link here with a proper https infront, and hiding the hyperlink with a phishing website to something like steemlogin/steemconnect, can you imagine how many users fall for that? It's already been widely discussed, but I think the community police should strongly look after this kind of cyber security rather than catching self upvoter, and create awareness to users more than often. Also, I would like to highlight this to @steemitblog that a community police can have a huge delegated SP, but bear in mind these delegated SP are NOT supposed to use for reward. At any given time the policing community should be given a delegated account with a special set of settings that DO NOT receive upvote/downvote from anyone including self. The account should NOT able to upvote, and only allowed to downvote with the delegated SP. This will protect the special policing account from being downvote/mute by power users. But ofcourse, you'll have to find a way to reward the police. Imagine if you don't pay enough to a person whom call themselves a police, and they have the gun, can you imagine what kind of crime they'd be committing?

Summary

I guess, that will be all from me. Thank you @crypto.piotr for invitating me on this discussion. I know there's a wide range of discussion on cross posting and quality of content. Seriously, I don't think there's an answer to all that, but some of the listed detail as above are essentially what I've experienced over the past 3 years(going to be 3 in few months). I'm just going to list down their typical behavior and there's no way we can fix a rule to that category. It's all up to the police judgement.

  1. A typical investor will load up the account, delegate to voting bot and collect a premium APR from the vote sales and curation reward.
  2. A typical spammer will load up the account, make 10 post a day and self upvote. Or better yet, make a comment bot to put generic reply to any new post by 5 minutes and did the same self upvote.
  3. Majority of the "steemitants" whom went through March,20 with a STEEM ID has the idea of make a post at the sister(enemy?) chain, and cross post it back here in STEEM so they(we, proven guilty) can earn more. It's up to the community to decide whether it's worthy to reward them both side.

This post will not be cross post to the other chain

Source from Pixabay

Sort:  

@davidke20.....I must say you've really explained the concept behind abuse and it was really nice learning from your past experiences and I also love your explanation about the concept of Upvoting and downvoting people's posts on the blockchain.

Reason being, I'm trying to tell you there's so many different type of people around here in the community. Different background, different intentions.

I strongly corroborate with you. The fact is that different users have different intention when utilizing the platform but I think the aim of 90% of users is really to make more profit or earn cool rewards for their activities on the platform.

Thanks for sharing this great post with love from @hardaeborla and I hope you have a great day ahead

Thank you for your comment. Looking forward on an effective community police in #steem to help to put things in order.

I think, this is a blockchain based platform and we should not limit the user son basis of total posts in a day or what content they should be sharing. If I own a content then I should have free right to share it anywhere as long as its my own. Making a rule like one post can be shared on one platform only is not right as per my opinion. This is not decentralisation. Its simple that if you dont like the content, then dont support it..

That's exactly what I have referred to in the article. But the author can't complain if they don't get reward for recycled content.

Thank you for your explanation. @davidke20
♥Interesting this point
In my opinion, downvote is required, but not on a seperate power. It should weight exactly the same as upvote power. If you spent this much of downvote, you're going to lose that much of upvote power. Simple and efficient.

♥Excuse me, @davidke20, I don't understand this part well, maybe because my English is not good, could we explain it again?

I would like to highlight this to @steemitblog that a community police can have a huge delegated SP, but bear in mind these delegated SP are NOT supposed to use for reward. At any given time the policing community should be given a delegated account with a special set of settings that DO NOT receive upvote/downvote from anyone including self. The account should NOT able to upvote, and only allowed to downvote with the delegated SP. This will protect the special policing account from being downvote/mute by power users

If you're an appointed police, you should be given:

  1. mllg should be given 1,000,000sp delegation
  2. mllg is now set to power user of steem blockchain, given full rights to flag unwanted post
  3. Now imagine, when mllg start flagging people, what does mllg get? Retaliation! So, steemit should set mllg account to NOT receive flag.
  4. Since mllg have a big SP, mllg can flag as much as she can, mllg may also receive unwanted upvote, we call it "bribe". Steemit should set mllg account to NOT receive upvote as well.
  5. The delegated SP, is supposed to use to remove abusive reward and put them back to the reward pool, therefore UPVOTE function for mllg should also be disabled.
  6. mllg does not work for free. But, taking pay from reward pool is just outright dangerous! Because conflict of interest. It's like the boss give you a pie, and a gun. Your job is to make sure nobody is taking too much of that pie. Guess what will happen? You're pointing that gun to anyone who came close to the pie, so you can have a bigger piece of that pie. Unless, mllg is being paid separately, with a fixed amount on a monthly basis, and not living depending on the reward pool, then only the judgement of mllg be fair to other.

I'm just giving an example by using your name. I hope this explain how the community police SHOULD shaped like.

Thank you, @dividke20 to help me to understand that.
That looks like a complex mechanism to protect the pool

I think that is not good for users, who like me are only dedicated to producing quality work and fraternizing with the beautiful people on the platform

If we comment like in the picture "People or groups consider us spam, why if those who do so no one considers it spam?"
Is it because they are stronger than us?
image.png
Examples of old users or steem thief groups.

Spot on buddy! The "police" is still here :)

!shop
聚贤阁群友互动,您中奖了! 聚贤阁小乐透传送门

謝謝老闆

A nice and decent explaination regarding this topic even i have somewhat same view as the content is ours so we should be allowed to post of both the platform but i do agree that not all contents should be cross posted some should be done based on our personal discretion.

Exactly. But the responsibilities are for the both party. If someone decided to abuse of cross posting, then the responsibilities of rewarding fall to the person who conduct upvote. They have to choice to upvote, downvote or not do anything. I think from now on, I will leave a comment on the cross posted material, particularly a link to the original content for others to be aware off.

@davidke20 wow , first of all very nice article and perfectly explained the theory. but as per my thinking we cannot stop this as it will be going to happen in both the platform.

I know we can't stop them(me, you, us), but we have a choice to not do it, or not rewarding a cross posted content.

Just one thing to notice: There is a big difference between the author posting his own work on multiple platforms and non-authors profiting from copying another person work.

I noted that in the article saying, there's not self plagiarism. And also noted again on not encouraging plagiarism.

Thank you for your support. Here's a !shop as token of appreciation.

Resteemed already. Upvote on the way :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59987.83
ETH 2418.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41