Many iPhone user accuses Apple of $600K Bitcoin theft via fake app

in Project HOPE3 years ago (edited)

iphone.jpg
Source
Apple removed the fake Trezor app numerous times, but it kept appearing on the App Store days later.

This scam cryptocurrency app on Apple’s app distribution service App Store has reportedly stolen $600,000 Bitcoin from one iOS user.

Crypto holder Phillipe Christodoulou befell victim to a scam app on the App Store, losing almost all his life savings to a fake cryptocurrency wallet application, The Washington Post publishes Tuesday.

Christodoulou went on the App Store last month to seek a mobile Trezor app to check his Bitcoin balance via phone. Unknowing that Trezor does not currently provide an iOS app, Christodoulou downloaded a doppelgänger Trezor application that claimed close to five stars, giving the impression that it was indeed an official app. After he entered his seed phrase, Christodoulou said that his savings of 17.1 BTC were stolen.

Christodoulou said that Apple, which gets 15% to 30% commissions on sales, should be held accountable for this situation. “They betrayed the trust that I had in them. Apple does not deserve to get away with this,” he stated. According to the Washington Post, Christodoulou filed a report with the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI).

Following a warning from Trezor, Apple removed the fake Trezor app numerous times, but it kept appearing on the App Store days later.
The cryptocurrency community is slightly divided on whether Apple should be blamed for the accident. “This is a f*cking nightmare. Scammed by a fake Trezor app in the ‘curated and safe’ Apple App Store,” cryptocurrency investor Scott Melker said on Twitter.
Jameson Lopp who is the co-founder of cryptocurrency custody platform Casa said, “Stop entering seed phrases into the software. Simply enter seeds into dedicated Bitcoin hardware devices.”

Fake crypto wallets and also trading apps have appeared on the App Store before. The United Kingdom-based cryptocurrency intelligence company Coinfirm said that five people have reported having their cryptocurrency stolen by a fake Trezor app on iOS, with total losses estimated at $1.6 million.
Source

Trezor has also cautioned users about fraudulent doppelgänger apps on the Google Play Store.
What should all of us do, if we don't want to fall into this trap?
I will love to hear your comments

Written by @cryptocheta

#Bitcoin #Cryptocurrencies #Apple #AppStore #Fraud #Business #Security
#Wallet #Trezor #BitcoinScams #Applications

Sort:  

My post is older from were you said I copied it, check the dates before you start writing.
@chesatochi, @crypto.piotr, @glastar, @trydice check the dates on those site he posted. How can I steal from someone I made a post before. So they are the ones who stole from me.

Thank you for the advice, I shall check dates more carefully in future.

BBC Gossip published their article at 9:18am.

You published yours at 11:33am.

It might be unlucky that you've used PLR content, not realising it's already been used. It might be that I'm wrong. It might be that your other article where you only copied 11 out of the 23 astounding facts demonstrates your true behaviour. It might be that they stole your article too and added another 12 astounding facts (on the 11th May 2017). It might be that I'm trying to be popular. It might be that people have plagiarised my content and the act of plagiarism bothers me. Either way, you know people like me well which should fare you in good stead.

I can see you have done your best, you will never be popular with this character. There is a saying "it is better to make friends than enemies". And keep watching me as I invest in steem and grow, you will regret what you did.

I can see you have done your best, you will never be popular with this character. There is a saying "it is better to make friends than enemies". And keep watching me as I invest in steem and grow, you will regret what you did.

How about a new saying (copyright the-gorilla 2021):

"it is better to make money honestly than to steal from others."

I have taken the time to read your profile (Nigeria's not in Europe by the way) and can see why you would be upset. You have plagiarised consistently since joining and are worried that this is now coming to an end. It is entirely your choice how this ends and I suggest you take the time to look at my profile and who is supporting me in this initiative before threatening me.

Plagiarism is not welcome here. Which at the moment, means you are not welcome here. Especially with that attitude.

I though that having come across people like me before, you would have known better than to threaten me.

😂😂😂

@cryptocheta

This content was originally from Coin Telegraph...

Taking a wild guess it is very unlikely that Coin Telegraph came looking for your article to copy.

PLAGIARISM IS NOT TOLERATED ON STEEMIT


Thank you @the-gorilla for bringing this to our attention.

cc @focusnow @crypto.piotr @cryptokannon @kiwi-crypto
@gbenga @sapwood @besticofinder @stream4u @yohan2on

Yes, it is plagiarized content. It's very weird when the OP says Coin Telegraph has stolen the content from him.

Better to accept the mistake and correct the course, that would be the ideal practice to restore to the path of authorship purely guided by original content.

Thank you.

 3 years ago 

Dear @steemcurator01

Thank you for bringing it into my attention. I will discuss this topic with @gbenga and @juanmolina (our PH "plagiarism department").

Regards,
Piotr

I also confirm that it was plagiarized after scanning his article using the smallseotools plagiarism checker.

Plagiarism is indeed NOT tolerated on steemit

Plagiarized content. We are having this big issue too in fur-friends community and has already designed a concrete plan to tackle it. Plagiarism is simply forbidden on Steemit and shouldnt be allowed.

I will try to reach out to the user in question. This is creating a bad image for African content creators. @steemcurator01

One of the first rules is to never enter your seed blindly! I think in that case Apple is not faulty, this is my opinion.

One of the first rules is to never enter your seed blindly! I think in that case Apple is not faulty, this is my opinion.

I like your reply @chesatochi, I can say partly too Apple should be blamed. Because I feel that Apple did not sound enough warning to there users about this app, and beside it has happened before. Thanks again for reading and commenting.

Very true, I agree with you on that

This post has been posted on several other platforms. It is completely plagiarized and we are currently in a fight against plagiarism as it affects Steemit SEO score.

Being polite is one way to go along with people on a social media platform like Steemit. You do not need to make threats to any user or be abusive. If you find a comment unpleasant to you, it is advisable that you leave your screen to catch a breath and get yourself before replying.

You need to apologize to @the-gorilla.

Thanks

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 62893.52
ETH 3354.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47