You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The STEEM is dead, long live the STEEM!

in Project HOPE4 years ago

Dear @phgnomo

I wonder what's your view on this issue 3 days after you posted your article. I'm amazed that Steemit managed to push with communities and released them faster than I expected. It's a good sign. Apparently Justin is pressuring current team to deliver all promisses.

Part of my real-life job is to try to figure out the most probable scenarios that can happen based on the information that is available

Are you an AI? :)

You made a great point saying that Steem and steemit - both are intertwined. We can try to separate it, but it's just not fully possible.

A token swap is part of the plan

I'm seriously worried about it - mostly because it would mean that everyone need to downvote in the first place. So all projects and communities relying on delegations, curation trail, auto-upvotes - it would all collapse.

ps.
I've already read tons of comments and it's clear to me, that steem community is breaking into few different groups. It's surely very worrying time for many users. Personally I decided to be optimistic.

Also one thing that people seem to forget is the fact, that Steemit Inc. has been dumping large amount of steem on the market on montly basis (any idea how much did they sell every month?). This created enormous selling pressure. I don't think Justin will follow this strategy.

Many things surely will change and some users will be gone. I expect that mostly whales and witnesses will have a very challenging time adapting. Wouldn't you agree?

ps.
I also just wrote more about my own approach to this issue. (link here). Check it out and drop some comment :)

Upvote on the way :)
Cheers, Piotr

Sort:  

I'm amazed that Steemit managed to push with communities and released them faster than I expected. It's a good sign. Apparently Justin is pressuring current team to deliver all promisses.

I woulnd't say so. Looks mostly like a marketing move to show "things are being done", than actually moving forward. Kind of smoke and mirrors to reduce the pressure on them.

Are you an AI? :)

Not really. Just a Civil Engineer and Project Manager. I learned to be ready for when shit might hit the fan.

The problem so far is that we, as the users and stakeholders, are left in the dark wondering what the future might be.

So far, it all looked like a shallow market move to make some noise, but no real plan on how to proceed.

I would be more cautious than optimistic.

For the brand Steemit/Steem, it might turn out well with a big company backing it up, but what worries me is what will happen to the blockchain.

And everyone that could have some information about it seems very dodgy to answering this question.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 64117.78
ETH 3112.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.23