Team Uganda Contest|| How the Second Uganda Lockdown Affected My Life by @Iraguha

in Team Uganda3 years ago (edited)

Hello Team Ugands, Hope your all doing well and keeping safe. First I want to thank @yohan2on for creating for us this contest.

Today I write about how this second lockdown has affected my daily routines. Hope you will enjoy reading my post.

HOW THE SECOND LOCKDOWN HAS AFFECTED MY LIFE.

Today marks 6/29/2021 makes it day 11 of the 42 days of lockdown directed by HE. Kaguta Museveni the president of the republic of Uganda. This was a measure that was decided on after the rapid increase in the covid-19 cases both reported and non-reported in the country. the President's full Speech

“To achieve the above two strategic objectives and augmenting my observations above, starting at 2200HRS today 18th June 2021, I am revising and updating ALL the directives I issued on the 6th June 2021….”

This is the second time Uganda is going into a total lockdown.

The first was on Monday March 31 2020 though this lockdown had many extensions that we spent the whole of 2020 in lockdown. As we were slowly recovering from the effects on the first lockdown, the country is once again placed into another 42 days of lockdown.

To be honest, this was a good decision by the government to order a nationwide lockdown because the situation was worsening with lots of friends and family testing positive to Covid-19 and everyday someone in our contacts or friend to a friend was losing a loved one to the variant.

Though this whole phenomenon has had a great deal of impact on the country at large. Personally I’d say it’s a hard time we are in right now. A lot has been affected on my personally routines.

My work place is a sports and recreation centre. Being an establishment that has gatherings and contact during sports, the President’s directive affected us and had us being closed for 42 days and this meant I can no longer work. We are not sure how long this will go or if I will still have a job.

With the suspension of public transport and Boda boda transport being limited to only doing delivery service, this has made it had to visit family. I miss visiting my nephew and niece. Being with these little ones always feels my heart with joy. Source
unnamed.jpg
[Boda Boda and Taxis transport around kampala]

I also used this change to concentrate and give time to my YouTube channel. Creating content and publishing it. The channel is still young but am sure by the end of the 42 days, I should be able to have done something. Link to my YouTube Channel

Being the lockdown I was taking part in several co-curricular activities to keep fight and mind health. I always played soccer with the guys, went on road trips with friends and did work outs. This second lockdown has denied us these activities because the places we played from are closed and this phase of the covid-19 variant has been really harsh on people that now everyone is worried about contracting the various. Thus we can only do individual work outs.

I miss my friends. With this lockdown, we nolonger hangout as fiends because everything has changed. This the suspension of transport, movement is hard, we are all worried about the covid-19 various and trying to make sure we don’t bring back the various to our families.
WhatsApp Image 2021-05-31 at 22.27.40.jpeg [K.O.T Team]

Financially the second lockdown has really done more harm than good to us all. Without working, it means you are only spending and not earning and we all know this is not is good especially when food prices are shooting up day by day.

Of Couse we can’t say that this second lockdown has come with only the bad. I must say it has had some pretty good outcomes for me.

Staying at home has given me time to read, study and understand steemit more and be more active. I have also been reading more about crypto currencies and how the behave during trading highs and lows. And how I can actually put this information into my activities on steemit.

I have managed to get enough time to spend with my dog ‘snow’. He is a happy soul and loves all the attention. So these passed for days have been good for us. We take walks every morning and evening, I get to bath him groom him. I couple of weeks back I was diagnosed with covid-19 and the whole time I was home, he had a way of cheering me up.
WhatsApp Image 2021-06-27 at 16.53.59.jpeg
He is such a keeper.

WhatsApp Image 2021-06-25 at 20.00.11.jpeg [Grooming Time]

During this second lockdown, am doing a lot of the things I wasn’t doing before. I cook, clean, do laundry once in a while, get to seat home and relax and am doing a lot of reflection which I think is good for personal development.
I also started movie recommendations to my whatsapp contacts through my whatsapp statuses called 42 Movies With Iraguha. The hashtag is ‘#42MoviesWithIraguha’.

WhatsApp Image 2021-06-12 at 19.35.03.jpeg [Official Poster]

How it works; the recommendations started on the 19th of June 2021 after the President’s directive to lock us up. Being a movie love and knew guy are going to be home, I decided to recommend a movie for everyday of the 42 days of lockdown. As we speak, am on #Day18 of the 42 days.
WhatsApp Image 2021-06-28 at 21.42.31.jpeg
[Poster ready for posting on my whatsapp status]

I love the feedback I get from people. It encourages me to keep recommending. Along the recommendations, I get a partner LONGIDO. Design + Screenprinting who loved my innovation and decided to be part of us. He Sponsors my artwork to make the images look neat.

WhatsApp Image 2021-06-12 at 19.34.05.jpeg

Conclusion
This pandemic has caused a lot of changes in our lives and the world at large. We have lost loved ones, jobs, relationships and business. But with all this, we have to adjust to the new normal and know that somewhere somehow, we shall always find ourselves in a lockdown. How you go through it is what matters. And we always have to learn to be diverse in terms of our capabilities. Learn new things, get creative and pray more for Life.
Thank You for reading my post.

Be Safe
Iraguha Herbert

Sort:  
 3 years ago (edited)

Hi @iraguha

Regardless of the negative side of the lockdown situation in the country, I like the fact that many Ugandans are learning to adapt to the new normal by going creative, venturing into other valuable things online as they seek to earn a living and sustain their lives.

I like your dog "Chloe" His indeed a very cheerful soul that likes playing around all the time. It was nice seeing you grooming him. Your passion for dogs is exceptional and admirable. Hope in future you will venture into dog breeding as you earlier shared with me.

Thanks for participating in the contest. I wish you all the best.

Thank you so much @yohan2on. This contest was definitely a great experience for me.

Hi @iraguha,i am already in love woth snow.his so adorable...i am a dog lover myself.
Ilike your movie recommendations becouse i am a movie lover for sure thats a great thing to do during this lockdown.

As for me i havent really found anything positive about the lockdown.it has affected me in so many bad ways financially and emotionally but this too shall end.
Stay safe

Hi @mariez, hope you are well and keeping safe. Snow is a happy dog ha ha. Am happy that your a movie lover. They sure help refresh the mind. Right now things my not be going well, but I want you to keep an open mind and keep strong. Something good will turn up for you

You have been curated by @yohan2on, a country representative (Uganda). We are curating using the steemcurator04 curator account to support steemians in Africa.

Keep creating good content on Steemit.

Always follow @ steemitblog for updates on steemit

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60249.86
ETH 2347.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52