Visiting a Japanese Supermarket in Japan with Travelgirl

in OCD4 years ago (edited)

Hi Everyone,

When I go on holiday, the first two things I tend to do when I settle down is to find the closest transport and supermarket. The supermarket is a wonderful place to find out what is in season, what locals like to eat if there are festivals on and particular food are selling due to these special days can all be seen at a supermarket. Not only that, but it is also the place to buy fresh milk, fruit, and nappies for my kids.

japanese supermarket.jpg

As I am alone with mum this time in Japan, my target items are not milk and nappies but adult food I don’t have much time to have with them. Let me show you what I normally look for when I visit a Japanese supermarket. I miss Japanese fresh produce. When I go to Japan, I do look out for their big juicy grape, they are expensive but are super juicy for some reason. 90% of the time I buy them taste as good as the last time. I also love their apples as they seemed to look so perfect unlike the ones back home. Not to say they are also nice and juicy.

The next thing to look for is sashimi. I love sashimi so anything I can’t get in Sydney or too expensive in particular Toro (fatty tuna) is my first choice of fish. Next would be ikura which is big salmon roe. We don’t have fresh ones in Sydney so this is a must-have when I come to Japan. Look out for the specials after work as many supermarkets will reduce the prices for their sashimi/sushi boxes so everything could be sold off before closing. Sometimes you get great discounts!

IMG_0239.JPG

IMG_3299.JPG

Next would have to be the cup noodle section. Australian cup noodles aren’t great and Asian cup noodles which I tend to buy in particular Japanese ones are so expensive and limited in variety. Here I see a whole line of them, a huge variety of flavour and with great prices. It sounds a bit sad but I do buy a few extras to take home.

IMG_9520 (1).JPG

IMG_8884.JPG

The next section will have to be snacks and drinks. There are so many great snacks and drinks in Japan I just want to take everything home. Since having the kids, I tend to buy snacks that come in small individual packets so we can portion them equally with the two little ones. It also limits them on how much they could eat each time.

IMG_3461 (1).JPG

Finally, before I leave, I normally get ice cream or dessert of some sort. Not sure why but I find the ice cream in Japan generally are a bit creamier and less sweet. In the end, we bought what we needed for two days and we will be back for more as we stay int the city.

IMG_3541.JPG

IMG_3542.JPG

IMG_1298 (2).JPG

IMG_9148.JPG

happywalk02.gif

animation by @catwomanteresa

Travelgirl pic.jpeg


Thanks for reading. If you like my post, please follow, comment and upvote me. There will be more exciting posts & destinations to come.

謝謝你們收看。 請你們繼續跟隨,留言和投我一票 . 我會分享更多遊記和其他有趣的 blog.

All photos & videos are taken by me & co in all my blogs/stories unless quoted. 每張相片和視頻都是我們自己拍的

Sort:  

Taking cup noodles home with you isn't weird at all. At ¥119 per? That's definitely worth taking a few bowls home with you!

oh yah at that price, I wanted to take more hope!! And i'm glad you don't think its weird to take cup noodles home :)

!engage 20



@ddrfr33k you have received 20 ENGAGE from @travelgirl!
View and trade the tokens on Steem Engine.


This tip bot is powered by witness untersatz!

You and I should go on a trip one day.
We both love supermarkets and shopping for food stuff and nicely packed ready to eat food too :)

oh yah I think we should do it next time - maybe next steemfest!! Happy CNY!!!

!engage 20



@ireenchew you have received 20 ENGAGE from @travelgirl!
View and trade the tokens on Steem Engine.


This tip bot is powered by witness untersatz!

Hi @travelgirl!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 5.590 which ranks you at #541 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 117 contributions, your post is ranked at #12.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 63096.57
ETH 2954.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55