Beaten and unforgiving

in OCD5 years ago


Beaten and unforgiving


Drawing to a close with the end in sight
and the chance to be free and live the dream.
Balancing on the edge of hope and look to sky
only to slide and bite the hardened ground.
To live the life and fly to greatest heights
requires to learn to take off from a run.
To fall on face is part of the learning game
to get up and take another step the skill.
Bloodied and beaten by challenge accepted
but a hardened smile upon the face still.


Today, my daughter fell hard onto the frozen ground at daycare and split her lip on her teeth badly. While they couldn't put stitches in and she is feeling a fair bit of pain, she will recover just fine in time. She has been through a lot in her nearly four years and has had more needles and tests than most will have in a lifetime and no matter how scared she is at the doctor's office and while she has her moments at home, she is one of those kids that takes the stiff upper lip approach and digs herself in.

I have always been in awe of how she faces some of these things that adults seem to struggle with. When she was born and spent the first couple weeks in intensive care, she had to have a lot of tests performed and while she cried like any newborn, I have always wondered if that kind of start to life would have an effect on her later in life and whether she would be stronger for it, or weaker because of it. The answer is impossible to know, but I am guessing that all life experiences have an effect on all future experiences, whether we remember them happening or not.

I often think about the effects I have on my daughter and whether I do her harm or help her be more capable of living a good life. What is a good life? Well, I think that is part of the journey of life itself - the quest to discover what a good life actually is. I think a lot of people outsource this journey to the crowd or a doctrine in a book so they don't actually have to walk the path themselves.

I believe that while the path of discovery is filled with experiences, relationships and people of all kind, ultimately it is a path walked alone. The idea of "we all die alone" hints at this, but what many deny is that we also all live alone. We live in our own constructs that we have created based on what we learn and what we believe and to each, this universe is unique, a sliver of perspective that none other can truly see, as none other can stand in our shoes, let alone walk in them.

The idea that we can take someone else's perspective is folly, but many seem to think it is possible without recognizing the potentially large degrees of error, even though the feeling of accuracy is absolute. "I know how you feel" is a senseless thing to say, even when it comes from the heart with the best of intentions - as is "I can see it from your perspective".

Yet, it is the attempt to understand the position of others that helps to build the social glue in a community and the sense that there is overlap in who we are as people. Perhaps it is something like universes colliding to create a massive series of reactions and combinations of events that will forever change the patterns of each. I figure that this is why relationships are so important, and why healthy relationships lead to paths of strength and development, and unhealthy lead to weakness and decay.

I think that many of the negatives in life are unavoidable, but it is how we as individuals face them and understand them that makes the difference. Two people facing similar events can be polar opposites in reaction, one harmed, the other empowered by the experience. What I find online is that many engineer their experience to avoid what they believe harms them, without recognizing that it might be the very thing they need to be their best.

We love comfort the comfort zones of our own universe, but spend too long standing still and eventually they become black holes that suck in potential experiences and take the light out of living. Many wonder what comes after death, without questioning if they are living a life.

Taraz
[ a Steem original ]

Onboarding

Sort:  

A lot of life lesson to be learnt from this micro poem and your daughter's challenges. Thanks for sharing.

Lessons everywhere, if we choose to learn :)

"I know how you feel" is a senseless thing to say, even when it comes from the heart with the best of intentions - as is "I can see it from your perspective".
Completely agree @tarazkp. You can never tell how other people deal with a situation even if the same thing has happened to us.

I wish your daughter a fast and painless recovery!

Of course, we can try, but we have to understand our own limitations. Have a good weekend mate.

!ENGAGE 30



@knowhow92 you have received 30 ENGAGE from @tarazkp!
View and trade the tokens on Steem Engine.


This tip bot is powered by witness untersatz!

@tarazkp

Thoughtful post. Your last two posts are filled with so much pain. It hurts my heart.
May your well of strength never run dry.

I can’t say I know how you feel, but I hope you get through it and my heart goes out to you in hope that my words of emotional support bring some comfort.

These little ones are tougher then us, because I think they draw some strength from our love. I don’t understand it. I just feel it.

I hope you have a good weekend and that your daughter gets better.

@shortsegments

May your well of strength never run dry.

I think this is something that everyone should consider. Stay strong, regardless.

These little ones are tougher then us, because I think they draw some strength from our love. I don’t understand it. I just feel it.

I think so too. She hasn't really been whiny afterward, just wanting to be close. And then after a while, forgets that she is sore and plays, until it hurts again :)

Smile
👨‍👩‍👧

!ENGAGE 25



@shortsegments you have received 25 ENGAGE from @tarazkp!
View and trade the tokens on Steem Engine.


This tip bot is powered by witness untersatz!

Great piece. Loved it and hope your daughter recovers okay

Thanks and I am sure she will. Her face is pretty swollen though.

!ENGAGE 25



@robertandrew you have received 25 ENGAGE from @tarazkp!
View and trade the tokens on Steem Engine.


This tip bot is powered by witness untersatz!

I have been reminded what it is like to have a young one around again. My grandson spends more time with me as I am the chosen one and hate it when he bashes himself. Nothing we can really do as they do repair quickly lol. Hope your treatment went well today and you aren't too knackered.

They are light and close to the ground, so they can't do too much damage.

Pretty knackered, but no as much as Smallsteps' face - she'll heal alright though.

!ENGAGE 25



@cryptoandcoffee you have received 25 ENGAGE from @tarazkp!
View and trade the tokens on Steem Engine.


This tip bot is powered by witness untersatz!

Ack poor little small, least the split lip will be a relatively quick recovery compared to some things :S

Hospitals may be scary but she's been in and out of them since she was ever so very small so it's just life, so she'll cope with that better than most adults who only have to go in for unexpected srs bsns. Unless you're talking about other things that I've lost track of :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 55255.10
ETH 2314.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33