You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The return of "locked" stake and passive earning?

in OCD5 years ago (edited)

These look like some good ideas. I've proposed similar ideas which I called "investor class" SP.

I'm not sure if 25% passive rewards would actually be enough, it may need to be a touch higher to compete with delegating to bots (even now) but it is probably in the ballpark.

The cold storage 'savings' idea is okay, but I believe there are plans for light wallets that don't have a whole account associated with it, and are free or at least very cheap and easy to create (doesn't require signing up with email, etc.). Since the sort of investment you describe is non-voting, it doesn't need an account and would probably be a good fit for those instead.

Sort:  

it doesn't need an account and would probably be a good fit for those instead.

Actually, having a quick think about it, indeed this would be a better option for an investor. Not only is there privacy, but they do not have to get involved in anyway with the social aspects of the platform - and perhaps that separation allows for more speculative behavior minus any emotional attachment. I know that for me, one of the aspects that changes my behavior with Steem is that I am public and looking long, trading Steem is different to trading any other coin I hold. Not great for a trading frame perhaps...

I'm not sure if 25% passive rewards would actually be enough, it may need to be a touch higher to compete with delegating to bots (even now) but it is probably in the ballpark.

Yeah, I would assume the same but figured for ease of visualization, a 50/50 would do for now.

I know that there are plans for light wallets those, but wondering if having an inbuilt option to replicate them might be good for onchain users. The off UI light wallets would be great for having a little account privacy though.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60690.86
ETH 2905.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39