You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The fisherman - Original Short Story

in OCD5 years ago

I've not heard the term a baytin for many many moons.

Ha ha, its a classic. I used to have a mate from Ireland, so when I started researching the slang to make this story more authentic, I recognized some of the terms, but others I'd never heard of like 'Acting The Maggot' or 'ask me bollocks'. One thing is for sure, this story and the level of swearing in it is sure to scare away the bible bashers who've been commenting on my posts 😂

I don't believe he has lost the keys, not for one minute!

Yeah, I don't either to be honest.

I thought it would be much more interesting to make my fictitious version a tale of a clever woman and her partner figuring out how to get the better of a bit of a gobshite... who said crime doesn't pay 😉

Glad you enjoyed this story boomy.

Sort:  

Crime pays big time!!

I am always quite amazed that the patter from Ireland is always very similar to the patter in Scotland. It entertains me no end.

You do write a good one dude! You are a master of the nib!

And the mad Bible bashers, Sheesh. How annoying!

Thanks for the compliments. I'm blushing like a nun who just got some.

Ha ha, the bible bashers are back anyway. Maybe I should comment on their comment for the first time in the hopes they actually read this post and then decide to burn me at the stake for profound profanity 😂

Blushing like a nun on the game! :0)

I wish they would read some answers instead of mindlessly setting up a bot and running away!!

Well, I've just sent them this message in the spirit of christian fellowship...

Away wit ya snake. Stop acting the maggot or I'll gae ya a baytin!
Cop On ya gammy bugger. Ask me bollocks!

Hahaha, I wonder what Google translate so make of that when they put it in!!

I am always quite amazed that the patter from Ireland is always very similar to the patter in Scotland. It entertains me no end.

yeah man. I love taking up the challenge of writing in dialect. One of my fav writers is Irvine Welsh and I remember reading Glue back in the day and training myself to read it in a Glaswegian accent so that it started to flow naturally. It only took about a chapter for me to go full schemie :)

I wrote a story in past in London slang which turned out pretty good. Maybe I should do one in scouse next... but I don't think anyone would understand it lol

I actually love that myself!! I suspect if you have an accent your can do other accents well. Or that's my theory at least!

I think you're right.

I read all of the dialogue parts of this short story out to myself in an Irish accent as part of the editing process for this story to check that it flowed.

It's something I learned to do with poetry, but it works just as well for dialogue. Also, it's kinda fun to just go mental in your living room speaking like the Hardy Boyes.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 59117.01
ETH 2525.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48