The fisherman - Original Short Story

in OCD4 years ago (edited)

View this post on Hive: The fisherman - Original Short Story


Find this post on Hive commmunity run blockchain.

Sort:  

I've not heard the term a baytin for many many moons. I thought this was inspired by the story in the guardian as I was reading and was pleased to see that it was.

I don't believe he has lost the keys, not for one minute!

I've not heard the term a baytin for many many moons.

Ha ha, its a classic. I used to have a mate from Ireland, so when I started researching the slang to make this story more authentic, I recognized some of the terms, but others I'd never heard of like 'Acting The Maggot' or 'ask me bollocks'. One thing is for sure, this story and the level of swearing in it is sure to scare away the bible bashers who've been commenting on my posts 😂

I don't believe he has lost the keys, not for one minute!

Yeah, I don't either to be honest.

I thought it would be much more interesting to make my fictitious version a tale of a clever woman and her partner figuring out how to get the better of a bit of a gobshite... who said crime doesn't pay 😉

Glad you enjoyed this story boomy.

Crime pays big time!!

I am always quite amazed that the patter from Ireland is always very similar to the patter in Scotland. It entertains me no end.

You do write a good one dude! You are a master of the nib!

And the mad Bible bashers, Sheesh. How annoying!

Thanks for the compliments. I'm blushing like a nun who just got some.

Ha ha, the bible bashers are back anyway. Maybe I should comment on their comment for the first time in the hopes they actually read this post and then decide to burn me at the stake for profound profanity 😂

Blushing like a nun on the game! :0)

I wish they would read some answers instead of mindlessly setting up a bot and running away!!

Well, I've just sent them this message in the spirit of christian fellowship...

Away wit ya snake. Stop acting the maggot or I'll gae ya a baytin!
Cop On ya gammy bugger. Ask me bollocks!

Hahaha, I wonder what Google translate so make of that when they put it in!!

I am always quite amazed that the patter from Ireland is always very similar to the patter in Scotland. It entertains me no end.

yeah man. I love taking up the challenge of writing in dialect. One of my fav writers is Irvine Welsh and I remember reading Glue back in the day and training myself to read it in a Glaswegian accent so that it started to flow naturally. It only took about a chapter for me to go full schemie :)

I wrote a story in past in London slang which turned out pretty good. Maybe I should do one in scouse next... but I don't think anyone would understand it lol

I actually love that myself!! I suspect if you have an accent your can do other accents well. Or that's my theory at least!

I think you're right.

I read all of the dialogue parts of this short story out to myself in an Irish accent as part of the editing process for this story to check that it flowed.

It's something I learned to do with poetry, but it works just as well for dialogue. Also, it's kinda fun to just go mental in your living room speaking like the Hardy Boyes.

Shared on twitter tagging the guardian newspaper in as the inspiration for this story came from an article I read.

https://twitter.com/rowanj808/status/1231291403940044805?s=20

wow, what a strong and interesting story, I am very intrigued. of the events that happened in it.

Thanks. Yeah, I loved the idea I read in the report of the drug dealing Irish bitcoin millionaire who lost it all ;-)

So I thought I'd write a fiction based on it :)

Please join the fiction and poetry community. hive-121077 your presence will be greatly appreciated.

Hi @bigbear

I'm so sorry I didn't respond sooner. I was actually in the middle of doing a load of design work for my own creative writing community called The Ink Well when I got this message and between my daily writing, other deadlines and the design work for The Ink Well my head was frazzled.

I remember thinking at the time that you might not appreciate another similar community popping up. Anyway, that shows you what stress will do to someone's thinking lol.

I shall check out your hive community some point in the next few days and I'm sure we can be mutually supportive in how we serve the great poets and story writers of steem.

All the best :)

LOL! - "There's about ten grand in the kitchen taped under the sink." On TV, that's the first place anyone looks for stashed cash, it seems. This is rich:

You'll never find my money shit for brains. Unless you know what a private key is? Ever heard of Bitcoin..?

Raj, you lied to me - said this one isn't as grisly - yet he ground his heel into his knuckles, shuddering at the seaweed crackle of breaking bones. Eeep!!!
But then you surprise us after the fighting and bone-breaking with lines like this: This was the illusion of life, a reflection half glimpsed of something deeper. Something just beyond the edge of perception. Pointless to let anything worry you when you realize this underlying fallacy of the ghost in the machine.
I love the ending!!!

Hi @carolkean

I wanted to let you know that I have just made a creative writing community called 'The Ink Well' which is supported by curie.

The community introduction post is live now and I'm really happy with it, all I need to do now is share it around a bit :-)

I'd love for you to join.

https://steempeak.com/hive-170798/@raj808/introducing-the-ink-well-a-curie-curated-creative-writing-community

Thanks for the invite! I'd love to join!

Great story! Can't believe you got that all done in one day. Excellent work, thank you so much for the entertainment.

Thanks @owasco

By the way, I wanted to let you know that I have just made a creative writing community called 'The Ink Well' which is supported by curie.

The community introduction post is live now and I'm really happy with it, all I need to do now is share it around a bit :-)

I'd love for you to join.

https://steempeak.com/hive-170798/@raj808/introducing-the-ink-well-a-curie-curated-creative-writing-community

Oh my goodness thank you for the invite! I will check it out. Choosing among the communities is so hard.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 55089.06
ETH 2939.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.09