You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Cross-addressing cross-posting

in OCD4 years ago

I didn't really understand that this feature created a new post until this evening when I used it for the first time. I thought that it simply allowed you to share one post to multiple communities, and so cross posted my short story to creativecoin community as fiction is very much relevant to what they are about.

I can see the benefits of people using the function as a curation machanism, but I think that there needs to be some way to post to more than one community without replicating a post developed in the future.

I'm not going to be cross posting my own content again after learning how it works, but there are many types of content that legitimately belong in more than one category. Also, some of the long standing steem communities that are none genre specific, like powerhouse creatives or OCD for that matter, are good examples of communities that someone might want to post in while also posting in a genre specific community.

While this new feature really is a great leap forward I think some things need ironing out.

Sort:  

I didn't really understand that this feature created a new post until this evening when I used it for the first time. I thought that it simply allowed you to share one post to multiple communities

It has been a common error, and unless called out, one might not realize at first what has happened.

but I think that there needs to be some way to post to more than one community without replicating a post developed in the future.

I think so too, and I think that it will happen. This feature is a bit different as it allows you for example to crosspost the work of a poet you find into a poetry community they didn't know existed - and reward them. It is pretty powerful.

This feature is a bit different as it allows you for example to crosspost the work of a poet you find into a poetry community they didn't know existed - and reward them. It is pretty powerful.

I agree, and I can see how it can be used altruistically to boost a little known, or new, steemian's content to get more eyes on. Also, to reward them more with any autovotes you may have o your account.

As you've pointed out concisely in this post, it is a double edged sword as to people using it to abuse the rewards system... but I guess that's what free downvotes are for ;-)

Things are very interesting on steem at the moment, and I'm sure the peeps like @jarvie at @steempeak will figure out how to allow for posts to be submitted to more than one community soon.

I'm currently in the planning stages of possibly setting up a community myself.

we already did ... cross-posts

Otherwise you can always try posting your post in multiple places. I can't say how that will be recieved but I haven't seen many people trying that out. Just copy past the content and post it again to a new community.

Cross-posts allows you to post someone elses content and obviously just copy-pasting their content is a big no-no.

Hi @jarvie

we already did ... cross-posts

No, I'm talking about a mechanism that doesn't repeat a post if you want to share your own post to more than one community. Cross posting replicates your post, meaning that there is two instances of it that any autovotes you have on your account will vote twice.

Otherwise you can always try posting your post in multiple places. I can't say how that will be recieved but I haven't seen many people trying that out.

This would mean the same problem, two identical posts.

What I would like to see made possible is a way to post one post, at time of publishing, to two or more communities. In many instances this would be appropriate, as with a niche subjects that has a niche community, but the post is well written so you want to see if OCD will vote it for example.

Imagine a travel writer has a fantastic post, and they are a loyal patron of travelfeed, and also a member of one of the long standing communities like powerhousecreatives, plus they want to try it in OCD as it might attract a curators eye. They are stuck with the quandary of choosing one place to publish the post, when it is entirely appropriate for them to post to all three communities. There only other choice is to use cross post and then feel guilty for replicating their post, and maybe being viewed as a reward abuser. This happened to me yesterday, as I hadn't quite grasped how the cross posting feature works. But I stand by why I wanted the short story shared in both OCD and Creativecoin communities. It was right for both of them!

Of course a facility to post to two or more communities could be abused, but everything that is built on steem has the potential to be gamed to be honest. It's up to us all to weed out the abusers.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62121.36
ETH 3004.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71